Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion
darmir
Sorcerer


Joined: 10 Oct 2000
Posts: 706
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 22, 2004 7:17 pm   

Mapping Question
 
I was looking at the help file about mapping zones and it talks about represting a zone on on you main map as one room. How do you do that?
I didn't see anyway to do it?

Second question: Need to change rooom color while mapping using onroomcreate. But I need to trigger on part of the room description.

Example: Before a Stone Bation on a Dirt Road.
Need to trigger on "dirt road" and color room brown.
Reply with quote
AaroN RelentlesS
Newbie


Joined: 21 Jun 2004
Posts: 5
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 7:13 pm   
 
cant help you on the second part, but as for the one room zone, check it out.....

while youre mapping, and at an entrance to a zone, hit the zone button, then click on "new zone". name the zone, then, hit ok. now, move in the direction that the zone is. that will create a link to a room on your zone that says "to New Zone". and when you go that way, that zone will load, and your old one will appear on the OTHER end of the link, saying "to Old Zone". of course, "new zone" and "old zone" are jus' what the zones are named. but it's that easy. good luck, hope this helped. =)
Reply with quote
darmir
Sorcerer


Joined: 10 Oct 2000
Posts: 706
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 25, 2004 4:31 pm   
 
Anybody else?
Reply with quote
Vijilante
SubAdmin


Joined: 18 Nov 2001
Posts: 5182

PostPosted: Fri Jun 25, 2004 10:46 pm   
 
Something like this should work for you. I am pretty sure about the walk conditions, but am not testing them right now. The #IF is just there to eliminate false positives so if it is wrong and you don't mind a false positive here or there simply get rid of it.

#CLASS Automapper
#VAR RoomColoring {default} {default}
#TR {dirt road} {#IF ((%inwalk=1)&(%walkconfirm=0)) {RoomColoring="brown"})
#AL onroomcreate {#NOOP %roomcol(,@RoomColoring);RoomColoring="default"}
#CLASS 0
Reply with quote
LightBulb
MASTER


Joined: 28 Nov 2000
Posts: 4817
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 25, 2004 11:42 pm   
 
I should know better than to comment on a mapping question, but couldn't you just do something similar to:
#AL onroomcreate {#IF ("%roomname()" =~ "dirt road") {#CALL %roomcol( , brown)}}
Reply with quote
darmir
Sorcerer


Joined: 10 Oct 2000
Posts: 706
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 7:23 pm   
 
How can you update the map with roomcol using triggers. I am in mapping mode again and walking the same routes. I just want to update the map with the colors.
Reply with quote
LightBulb
MASTER


Joined: 28 Nov 2000
Posts: 4817
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 6:21 am   
 
If my onroomcreate worked then this should work also.
#TR {dirt road} {#IF ("%roomname()" =~ "dirt road") {#CALL %roomcol( , brown)}}
Reply with quote
darmir
Sorcerer


Joined: 10 Oct 2000
Posts: 706
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 7:08 pm   
 
I am trying to figure out how to do the following. This is stated in the "Using Zones" section of the help file. See below:
On the map of your town, you'd like the mansion represented by a single room. Then, when you enter that room, you "zoom in" to see all of the rooms in the mansion. By putting the mansion into a new zone, the rooms of the mansion do not get overlayed with the rooms of the town, reducing the clutter in the town map.
I want to be able to represent it by a single room on one area.
Anybody?
Reply with quote
Danlo
Magician


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 313
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 12:37 pm   
 
My helpfile gives the following information on representing a zone as a single room:

"To create a new zone, select the room or rooms that you want to make into a zone, and select "Move Rooms to Zone" from the Edit menu. First you will get a list of all current zones in the MUD map. To move the selected rooms to an existing zone, just select the zone from the list and click OK. To move the selected rooms to a new zone, click the New Zone button. You will then be prompted for the name of the Zone. Click OK when done and you will see the selected rooms in a new zone, linked back to the previous zone."

So select the rooms you want to represent as a single room on your map, click on the edit menu, and select: Move rooms to zone. Enter the name of a new or existing zone, and it will move the rooms to that zone. The rooms will be represented by a single room on your original map.
Reply with quote
mr_kent
Enchanter


Joined: 10 Oct 2000
Posts: 698

PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 2:26 pm   
 
You could always put a #TELEPORT in the room script to open up the sub map.
Reply with quote
darmir
Sorcerer


Joined: 10 Oct 2000
Posts: 706
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 3:46 pm   
 
Danlo, That is how I do it, but when I do the above steps it shows it only as a link.
Go look at the screen shot here.
http://members.cox.net/smsulliva/map.jpg
See the map! It shows them a links not a room. :(
Reply with quote
darmir
Sorcerer


Joined: 10 Oct 2000
Posts: 706
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 4:39 am   
 
** bump ***
Anybody?
Reply with quote
LightBulb
MASTER


Joined: 28 Nov 2000
Posts: 4817
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 5:45 am   
 
Nope, nobody is going to give you an answer. If anybody had an answer, you wouldn't still be waiting after 2 1/2 weeks.

This paragraph has been in the helpfile at least since version 5.55. The mapper has gone through an almost total rewrite since then. It's probably no longer accurate.

Satisfied? Can we drop it now?
Reply with quote
mr_kent
Enchanter


Joined: 10 Oct 2000
Posts: 698

PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:56 pm   
 
quote:
Originally posted by mr_kent

You could always put a #TELEPORT in the room script to open up the sub map.



What's wrong with my suggestion? If L is a room in the overview map zone and it connects to B1, B1 will represent the secondary map zone on the main map. Under B1's room options tab, name the room "B1".

Recreate the room on the zone map and name it B2.

Under B1's roomscript, put '#TELEPORT X1'.
Under B2's roomscript, put '#TELEPORT L'.

Code:

L-B1      X-X
  **     /|
  B2-X1-X-X
        |/
        X


Then you can add a text box/alter the color or whatever you want to show that the room is actually another zone.

Doesn't this accomplish what you want? Did I need to include ascii art, to show what I meant?

Later.

Edit: I created a loop by accident. Changes made above..
Reply with quote
Theragil
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Feb 2004
Posts: 157
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 4:03 pm   
 
He doesn't want to see a *link* to the other zone, he wants to see a *box* representing it. What you suggest is functionally what he wants, it does the job, it just doesn't look the way he wants it to.
Reply with quote
darmir
Sorcerer


Joined: 10 Oct 2000
Posts: 706
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 6:47 pm   
 
Thank you everyone for the replys. You have been very helpful on the room reprensentatino.

Vigilante, I used your room color trigger which works great. I was wondering if you can help me change them to color already existing rooms. I tried to use ad the IF statement that Lightbulb had but it didn't work :(
Reply with quote
Vijilante
SubAdmin


Joined: 18 Nov 2001
Posts: 5182

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 1:18 am   
 
I would suggest a using a one-shot loop to color all existing rooms.
#NOOP %maplocked(0);#VAR SavedMode {%roommode);#NOOP %roommode(1);#FORALL %mapquery("name LIKE 'dirt road'") {#NOOP %roomcol(%i,"brown")};#NOOP %roommode(@SavedMode);#UNVAR SavedMode

Should be right. You might want to test it some first by doing
#ECHO %mapquery("name LIKE 'dirt road'")
Make sure it is in a format such as "1|7|34|801" and the numbers correlate to the right rooms.
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net