Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD Beta Forum
complex
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 134
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 2:34 am   

[V3.30] #Step/#Slow Issues
 
I am working on a new script that hinges around stepping through a path in a controlled manner. Looking at the documentation I see that

#STEP n2es
sets "n2es" as the current path, then sends the North command to the MUD as the first step. The next #STEP command would send "east", and so on.

However when I test with #STEP n2es the whole path is spit out at one time. No steps required. The same is true when I #SLOW .n2es. Is there an easy way to queue a path and step though it? Or am I doing something wrong here?
_________________
<Clever text here>

Last edited by complex on Thu Oct 07, 2010 3:44 pm; edited 1 time in total
Reply with quote
complex
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 134
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 2:55 pm   
 
This is a little frustrating, I have tried the following combinations, in all three map settings, fast, safe, slow.

#STEP s2w3e;#PAUSE //takes a step, pauses for a moment, then spits out the rest of the path
#STEP s2w3e;#STOP //takes a step south, but the direction s is spit out again before the path is aborted.
#STEP .s2w3e;#PAUSE //takes a step, pauses for a moment, then spits out the rest of the path
#STEP .s2w3e;#STOP //ttakes a step south, but the direction s is spit out again before the path is aborted.
#SLOW s2w3e;#PAUSE //takes a step, pauses for a moment, then spits out the rest of the path
#SLOW s2w3e;#STOP //takes a step south, but the direction s is spit out again before the path is aborted.
#SLOW .s2w3e;#PAUSE //takes a step, pauses for a moment, then spits out the rest of the path
#SLOW .s2w3e;#STOP //takes a step south, but the direction s is spit out again before the path is aborted.
_________________
<Clever text here>
Reply with quote
Tech
GURU


Joined: 18 Oct 2000
Posts: 2733
Location: Atlanta, USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 3:14 pm   
 
What map mode are you in and what version of CMUD are you using?
_________________
Asati di tempari!
Reply with quote
complex
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 134
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 3:28 pm   
 
I am in follow mode, and have tested fast, safe, slow, and toggle the map on and off. Currently I am using 3.30; should this be taken over to the beta forums. I did not think there was a bug, just that I was encountering an ID10T error =)
_________________
<Clever text here>
Reply with quote
Tech
GURU


Joined: 18 Oct 2000
Posts: 2733
Location: Atlanta, USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 3:38 pm   
 
I am seeing the same behavior in CMUD 3.30 as well and I believe it is a bug.

Yes it should be posted in the Beta forum. Rule of thumb, if you are using the Beta, you should post in the Beta (even if it seems to be a general question.)
_________________
Asati di tempari!
Reply with quote
complex
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 134
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 3:43 pm   
 
Got it.
_________________
<Clever text here>
Reply with quote
complex
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 134
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2010 2:17 pm   
 
After a lot of testing I have made a little progress.

In the mapper if "disable automatic confirmation" radio is selected, the mapper is set on fast walk mode, the path is sent in as #STEP n2e5w, and is coupled with a #PAUSE, the rate at which the path is sent to the mud is controlled most of the time. However for some reason in a seemingly random way the path can be spit out all at once before the #PAUSE takes effect, even though the alias I am using is

#STEP
#PAUSE

I have tried to #STEP, #STOP method but this does not work since the same direction is sent over and over again.
_________________
<Clever text here>
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 3738
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2010 8:39 pm   
 
Without automatic confirmations... are you supplying #OK as a manual confirmation?
_________________
Windows 10 Home Premium 64-bit
AMD Phenom II x6 1055T 2.8GHz 16GB
CMUD Pro v3.34
Reply with quote
complex
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 134
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2010 9:29 pm   
 
No I have not had to.
_________________
<Clever text here>
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD Beta Forum All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net