Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion
oldguy2
Wizard


Joined: 17 Jun 2006
Posts: 1201

PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 6:54 am   

Question concerning blank line
 
Why is it when I run a script from a macro or alias it causes a blank line on the screen? It's not sending anything to the mud. The only think it might do is print something to the screen, but that still isn't sending anything.

Example:

Some line here.
1234h, 1234m ex-macro or alias pushed

Another line here.
1234h, 1234m ex-
Reply with quote
Fang Xianfu
GURU


Joined: 26 Jan 2004
Posts: 5155
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 10:57 am   
 
Which CMUD version? Aliases and macros shouldn't do this (do #alias something {#var hello 1} and then #say lol;something;#say lol in the untitled session to see that) - my suspicion is that something you're doing is causing a blank string (or a string containing a few spaces) to be left on the stack or otherwise sent to the MUD, which is causing a blank line to show. Give us the XML of an alias that does this and we'll be able to try it out.
_________________
Rorso's syntax colouriser.

- Happy bunny is happy! (1/25)
Reply with quote
oldguy2
Wizard


Joined: 17 Jun 2006
Posts: 1201

PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 11:05 am   
 
Version 2.37. Well I have an attack macro I push. I have some checks to see if I have balance and so on and if not it does this...

Code:

#if (@balance && @blah) {attack} {
  attackPending=1
  #T+ onPendingAttack
  #print {<strong><color orange> Wait to attack! </color></strong>}
  }


That is it. Every single time Wait to attack! will print at the end of the prompt and a blank line will follow it.
Reply with quote
Fang Xianfu
GURU


Joined: 26 Jan 2004
Posts: 5155
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 11:15 am   
 
I'm not seeing this in the untitled session using #sayp lololol;#print hax;#say lol but I definitely do see this while connected. Seems like a bug to me, I guess it's specific to lines terminating in IAC EOR.
_________________
Rorso's syntax colouriser.

- Happy bunny is happy! (1/25)
Reply with quote
oldguy2
Wizard


Joined: 17 Jun 2006
Posts: 1201

PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 11:31 am   
 
Well it makes it seem like I am sending something to the MUD when I am not. Every time I send a command it puts a blank line too, unless I use #sendraw then it does not.
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23379
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 6:14 pm   
 
I think Fang is correct that it's an issue with the IAC EOR codes being used by the MUD to terminate a line. The #PRINT command (and maybe other commands such as #SAY, etc) doesn't seem to be resetting the flag within CMUD telling it whether or not a real newline has been received. I'll add this to the bug list.
Reply with quote
Fang Xianfu
GURU


Joined: 26 Jan 2004
Posts: 5155
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2009 3:19 am   
 
It's also doing this when you type commands onto the prompt after the IAC EOR.
_________________
Rorso's syntax colouriser.

- Happy bunny is happy! (1/25)
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net