|
oldguy2 Wizard
Joined: 17 Jun 2006 Posts: 1201
|
Posted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 6:54 am
Question concerning blank line |
Why is it when I run a script from a macro or alias it causes a blank line on the screen? It's not sending anything to the mud. The only think it might do is print something to the screen, but that still isn't sending anything.
Example:
Some line here.
1234h, 1234m ex-macro or alias pushed
Another line here.
1234h, 1234m ex- |
|
|
|
Fang Xianfu GURU
Joined: 26 Jan 2004 Posts: 5155 Location: United Kingdom
|
Posted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 10:57 am |
Which CMUD version? Aliases and macros shouldn't do this (do #alias something {#var hello 1} and then #say lol;something;#say lol in the untitled session to see that) - my suspicion is that something you're doing is causing a blank string (or a string containing a few spaces) to be left on the stack or otherwise sent to the MUD, which is causing a blank line to show. Give us the XML of an alias that does this and we'll be able to try it out.
|
|
|
|
oldguy2 Wizard
Joined: 17 Jun 2006 Posts: 1201
|
Posted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 11:05 am |
Version 2.37. Well I have an attack macro I push. I have some checks to see if I have balance and so on and if not it does this...
Code: |
#if (@balance && @blah) {attack} {
attackPending=1
#T+ onPendingAttack
#print {<strong><color orange> Wait to attack! </color></strong>}
}
|
That is it. Every single time Wait to attack! will print at the end of the prompt and a blank line will follow it. |
|
|
|
Fang Xianfu GURU
Joined: 26 Jan 2004 Posts: 5155 Location: United Kingdom
|
Posted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 11:15 am |
I'm not seeing this in the untitled session using #sayp lololol;#print hax;#say lol but I definitely do see this while connected. Seems like a bug to me, I guess it's specific to lines terminating in IAC EOR.
|
|
|
|
oldguy2 Wizard
Joined: 17 Jun 2006 Posts: 1201
|
Posted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 11:31 am |
Well it makes it seem like I am sending something to the MUD when I am not. Every time I send a command it puts a blank line too, unless I use #sendraw then it does not.
|
|
|
|
Zugg MASTER
Joined: 25 Sep 2000 Posts: 23379 Location: Colorado, USA
|
Posted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 6:14 pm |
I think Fang is correct that it's an issue with the IAC EOR codes being used by the MUD to terminate a line. The #PRINT command (and maybe other commands such as #SAY, etc) doesn't seem to be resetting the flag within CMUD telling it whether or not a real newline has been received. I'll add this to the bug list.
|
|
|
|
Fang Xianfu GURU
Joined: 26 Jan 2004 Posts: 5155 Location: United Kingdom
|
Posted: Tue Jan 13, 2009 3:19 am |
It's also doing this when you type commands onto the prompt after the IAC EOR.
|
|
|
|
|
|