Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion
bstripp
Newbie


Joined: 12 Nov 2018
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2018 6:28 pm   

Trying to get mapper to read output
 
I am trying to get the automapper to work better with a moo that I play. Here is what the output looks like. What settings should I try?

=========================================================
[Input Direction] s
[Input response] You head south down the street.
[Location Name] North Street
[Location Description] There's a lot of people on the street. They are looking confused. There is a building to the west that looks boarded up and abandoned. You don't think it's a good idea to go there. The skyscrapers downtown dominate the skyline to the east.[Weather] It's really raining a lot! You are wet!

[People or things noticed] You see a lone figure to the north.
[Exits] The street continues south and north. There is a building to the west.

=========================================================

So I'm trying to get the following
1) Keep the name as is
2) Strip out the weather from the Description, potentially strip out vehicle information as they move around
3) Get exit information from the last line. There's no keyword that I think I can reliably use.

Any ideas on how to make this happen?
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 3836
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2018 4:54 am   
 
Assuming all those labels are literally there, it should be quite easy:
Code:

#TRIGGER {~[Location Name~] (*)} {#TAG Name %1}
#TRIGGER {~[Exits~]} {#TAG Exit}
#TRIGGER {~[Location Description~] (*)} {
  $desc=%replace(%1, "[Weather]", "|")
  #TAG Desc %item($desc, 1)
  }
#TRIGGER {~[{People or things noticed|Input Direction|Input response}~]} {#NOMAP}

Enter on the command line and then reconfigure the mapper.
_________________
Windows 10 Home Premium 64-bit
AMD Phenom II x6 1055T 2.8GHz 16GB
CMUD Pro v3.34
Reply with quote
bstripp
Newbie


Joined: 12 Nov 2018
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2018 5:13 am   
 
Yeah, if the labels had been there, I agree. They are my notes as to what content is on what line. Imagine anything in the []'s does not exist. Sorry, I could have been more clear in the original post.
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 3836
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2018 6:23 am   
 
#TR {^You head (%w) down the street.} {#NOMAP}

You may have to make several variants of this trigger to cover variations in the message.
The same goes for people and things really.
Once you can get it to properly ignore the surplus, it should autodetect the rest automatically when you reconfigure.

As for the Weather message... The easy option is just to check the 'room descriptions change' box within the mapper configuration.
The long method would require you to compile all the different weather messages manually into a list, from there we can edit the room descriptions.

Code:
#EVENT onRoomEnter {
  #FORALL @weatherMessages {
    #IF (%match(%roomdesc, %i)) {
      #CALL %maplocked(0)
      #CALL %roomdesc(,%trim(%replace(%roomdesc, %i)))
      #CALL %maplocked(1)
      }}}

Something like that could be used to strip weather messages out of preexisting room descriptions, if you walk around slow enough.
I would make sure to disable it when not needed though, the mapper flipping in and out of locked mode like that could lead to unwanted room creation.

You can turn off the command echo in preferences, but I think the mapper should ignore those.
_________________
Windows 10 Home Premium 64-bit
AMD Phenom II x6 1055T 2.8GHz 16GB
CMUD Pro v3.34
Reply with quote
bstripp
Newbie


Joined: 12 Nov 2018
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2018 2:29 pm   
 
Okay, I think I see where that can work.

So... is there a screen that shows me what I am getting each time that I zone to a new location. When I did the config originally, there was a really helpful screen that showed what output it collected and what it was going to display. I'd kill for that :)

Also, is there a link to tell me what the mapper options do? Under Map Preferences -> Configuration, there's a lot of stuff... and I'd love to read what it all does.
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 3836
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2018 2:37 pm   
 
The reconfigure option will pop up the configuration wizard window.

That configuration window is where the checkbox I mentioned is, on the descriptions tab of the configuration tab.
A lot of those settings are somewhat esoteric, if you don't know what it is, I suggest not touching it.
Others are rather self-explanatory.

All the instructions can be found within the help manual that comes with CMUD (accessed from the help menu).
Check out the configuring the mapper option listed under the map's help menu.
_________________
Windows 10 Home Premium 64-bit
AMD Phenom II x6 1055T 2.8GHz 16GB
CMUD Pro v3.34
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net