|
bstripp Newbie
Joined: 12 Nov 2018 Posts: 9
|
Posted: Mon Nov 12, 2018 6:28 pm
Trying to get mapper to read output |
I am trying to get the automapper to work better with a moo that I play. Here is what the output looks like. What settings should I try?
=========================================================
[Input Direction] s
[Input response] You head south down the street.
[Location Name] North Street
[Location Description] There's a lot of people on the street. They are looking confused. There is a building to the west that looks boarded up and abandoned. You don't think it's a good idea to go there. The skyscrapers downtown dominate the skyline to the east.[Weather] It's really raining a lot! You are wet!
[People or things noticed] You see a lone figure to the north.
[Exits] The street continues south and north. There is a building to the west.
=========================================================
So I'm trying to get the following
1) Keep the name as is
2) Strip out the weather from the Description, potentially strip out vehicle information as they move around
3) Get exit information from the last line. There's no keyword that I think I can reliably use.
Any ideas on how to make this happen? |
|
|
|
shalimar GURU
Joined: 04 Aug 2002 Posts: 4691 Location: Pensacola, FL, USA
|
Posted: Tue Nov 13, 2018 4:54 am |
Assuming all those labels are literally there, it should be quite easy:
Code: |
#TRIGGER {~[Location Name~] (*)} {#TAG Name %1}
#TRIGGER {~[Exits~]} {#TAG Exit}
#TRIGGER {~[Location Description~] (*)} {
$desc=%replace(%1, "[Weather]", "|")
#TAG Desc %item($desc, 1)
}
#TRIGGER {~[{People or things noticed|Input Direction|Input response}~]} {#NOMAP}
|
Enter on the command line and then reconfigure the mapper. |
|
_________________ Discord: Shalimarwildcat |
|
|
|
bstripp Newbie
Joined: 12 Nov 2018 Posts: 9
|
Posted: Tue Nov 13, 2018 5:13 am |
Yeah, if the labels had been there, I agree. They are my notes as to what content is on what line. Imagine anything in the []'s does not exist. Sorry, I could have been more clear in the original post.
|
|
|
|
shalimar GURU
Joined: 04 Aug 2002 Posts: 4691 Location: Pensacola, FL, USA
|
Posted: Tue Nov 13, 2018 6:23 am |
#TR {^You head (%w) down the street.} {#NOMAP}
You may have to make several variants of this trigger to cover variations in the message.
The same goes for people and things really.
Once you can get it to properly ignore the surplus, it should autodetect the rest automatically when you reconfigure.
As for the Weather message... The easy option is just to check the 'room descriptions change' box within the mapper configuration.
The long method would require you to compile all the different weather messages manually into a list, from there we can edit the room descriptions.
Code: |
#EVENT onRoomEnter {
#FORALL @weatherMessages {
#IF (%match(%roomdesc, %i)) {
#CALL %maplocked(0)
#CALL %roomdesc(,%trim(%replace(%roomdesc, %i)))
#CALL %maplocked(1)
}}} |
Something like that could be used to strip weather messages out of preexisting room descriptions, if you walk around slow enough.
I would make sure to disable it when not needed though, the mapper flipping in and out of locked mode like that could lead to unwanted room creation.
You can turn off the command echo in preferences, but I think the mapper should ignore those. |
|
_________________ Discord: Shalimarwildcat |
|
|
|
bstripp Newbie
Joined: 12 Nov 2018 Posts: 9
|
Posted: Tue Nov 13, 2018 2:29 pm |
Okay, I think I see where that can work.
So... is there a screen that shows me what I am getting each time that I zone to a new location. When I did the config originally, there was a really helpful screen that showed what output it collected and what it was going to display. I'd kill for that :)
Also, is there a link to tell me what the mapper options do? Under Map Preferences -> Configuration, there's a lot of stuff... and I'd love to read what it all does. |
|
|
|
shalimar GURU
Joined: 04 Aug 2002 Posts: 4691 Location: Pensacola, FL, USA
|
Posted: Tue Nov 13, 2018 2:37 pm |
The reconfigure option will pop up the configuration wizard window.
That configuration window is where the checkbox I mentioned is, on the descriptions tab of the configuration tab.
A lot of those settings are somewhat esoteric, if you don't know what it is, I suggest not touching it.
Others are rather self-explanatory.
All the instructions can be found within the help manual that comes with CMUD (accessed from the help menu).
Check out the configuring the mapper option listed under the map's help menu. |
|
_________________ Discord: Shalimarwildcat |
|
|
|
|
|