Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion
Vitae
Enchanter


Joined: 17 Jun 2005
Posts: 673
Location: New York

PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:57 am   

Questions on DDE
 
Went thru the help files for #DDE and %ddeopen()
Quote:
If you open a DDE connection with the %ddeopen(server,topic) function, then you do not need to specify the server and topic in the other functions.


I set an alias to:
#ALIAS OpenDDE {%ddeopen( Firefox, WWW_OpenURL)}
and then I've set another to :
#ALIAS DoDDE {#DDE http://www.google.com}

So, i type OpenDDE, wait a little bit, then type DoDDE and nothing happens.
But yet
#ALIAS DoDDE2 {#DDE Firefox WWW_OpenURL http://www.google.com}
works perfectly fine.

#DDE {http://www.google.com} displays a syntax error because it's expecting the server topic part before it

#show %ddeopen() displays nothing, so I don't even know if it's open or not.
I've tried prefacing it with #noop and #execute and it don't work

Took a look at the %ddemacro
%ddemacro(server,topic,macro) does the same as this #DDE command and sends a DDE macro to the server.

Aliased
%ddemacro( Firefox, WWW_OpenURL, http://www.google.com)
displays a syntax error
%ddemacro( Firefox, WWW_OpenURL, http~:~/~/www.google.com)
doesn't do a dang thing

Aliased
%dde( Firefox, WWW_OpenURL, http~:~/~/www.google.com)
and it too does nothing

is #DDE Firefox WWW_OpenURL SITEHERE the only thing in the dde that works for sites? and if so, does the ddeopen not work with it for sites?
Reply with quote
calesta
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 102
Location: New Hampshire, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 4:46 am   
 
#DDE is a command not a function, so my guess is that calling the %ddeopen function is probably not intended to make those arguments optional for the command since the doc only says it makes the parameters optional for the other dde functions.

The %ddeopen and %ddemacro functions work fine for me when I do the following:
Code:
#call %ddeopen(Firefox,WWW_OpenURL)
#call %ddemacro(http://www.google.com)

This also worked for me:
Code:
#call %ddemacro(Firefox,WWW_OpenURL,http://www.google.com)

Not sure exactly how to retrieve data using %dde, so didn't test that one.


Last edited by calesta on Sat Jan 10, 2009 6:28 am; edited 1 time in total
Reply with quote
Vitae
Enchanter


Joined: 17 Jun 2005
Posts: 673
Location: New York

PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 6:08 am   
 
meh
#ALIAS OpenDDE {#call %ddeopen(Firefox,WWW_OpenURL)}
#ALIAS DoDDE {#call %ddemacro(www.google.com)}

type opendde then dodde and a new firefox browser opens rather than tabs and it's not google, it's msn.com my homepage.
Reply with quote
calesta
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 102
Location: New Hampshire, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 6:31 am   
 
Sorry, edited my original post... I forgot to include the http:// when I transferred from zMUD to the forum. Without the http:// I get the behavior you describe where it opens a new firefox window and just goes to my homepage. With it, it is opening a new tab in my currently open instance of firefox and going to whatever URL I supply.
Reply with quote
Vitae
Enchanter


Joined: 17 Jun 2005
Posts: 673
Location: New York

PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 4:17 pm   
 
ah, works perfect with the http:// i hadn't thought of that :-)
#DDE does the same thing, but i just like to have as compact of a script as possible without having extra words over and over
thanks!
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net