|
Arminas Wizard
Joined: 11 Jul 2002 Posts: 1265 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sun Oct 29, 2006 11:58 pm
[1.12] Button issues |
1. First let’s make a new button.
a. Open cMud and hit escape.
b. Open package editor and select new button.
c. Put in a name for the button.
d. Click save, nothing happens.
e. Hit enter and you get a blank button. You could also add a value and hit save.
f. Look in the button options and notice all the unset values.
g. Good luck getting the button label to appear. It can be done but shouldn’t be a problem... Just change the button type from push to any other type.
h. Look in the button options. Setting the button to be in any Toolbar number that is not in the range of 1-4 inclusive makes the button disappear. Blank seams to work however...
2. Add any Options values you want to the button and make a new state.
a. Make both states toggle.
b. Place #show State one in the value of the first button state.
c. Place #show State two in the value of the second state.
d. Toggle the button to your hearts content, and notice that you see state 1 every time.
3. Make a new class folder. Name it whatever you like.
a. First right click the button and select move to the new class. It won’t work.
b. Now try copy to. This also won’t work. But you get a new button by the same name and only the top state in the root.
c. Finally cut and paste the button into the new class. The button moves, but you only get the top state.
This isn't an exaustive list. There are more items. But buttons have MANY possible settings and I haven't been able to reproduce some of them in a blank session. I'm hoping that fixing these issues will help witih the ones I can't reproduce. |
|
_________________ Arminas, The Invisible horseman
Windows 7 Pro 32 bit
AMD 64 X2 2.51 Dual Core, 2 GB of Ram |
|
|
|
Arminas Wizard
Joined: 11 Jul 2002 Posts: 1265 Location: USA
|
Posted: Mon Oct 30, 2006 1:46 am |
Some of the errors that I reported above do not apply to buttons that were imported from a mud file. That being the case I was unable to narrow this one down to something easier to reproduce.
Ok, time for one I can't reproduce. But it has also been around for a long time.
I have a lot of toggle buttons on my mud window.
Zugg, I sent you my mud file today. From mage.ramoth@gmail.com. Named Ramoth.mud.
If you load it up and take a look...
Before doing anything else you need to fix two aliases.
classon and classoff
Classoff needs the value of
#if ((%1!=%null)and(%class( %1)!=-1)) {#t- %-1}
Classon needs the value of
#if ((%1!=%null)and(%class( %1)!=-1)) {#t+ %-1}
Now that they have been fixed...
You will notice that clicking on some of the buttons across the top of the window refresh and change color when you click them and some of them do not. If you click one of them that does NOT refresh then press one that does. The one that did not will now show the proper state. The button on the top left hand side of the window is labeled Garden. It is one that DOES refresh. If all buttons show as grey when you load up the session click it. Any that did not refresh are now refreshed.
With a little tinkering I discovered that the ones that DO refresh have an alias in them that turn on or off classes. Working from there I created a new alias and a new class in the classesoff class.
The new class is named rfs.
#alias rfbs {#t+ rfs;#alarm +.5 {#t- rfs}}
I haven't checked if just typing that into the command line, and thus creating the rfbs alias and rfs class in the root, works.
Now place rfbs into both states of one of the buttons that doesn't refresh its state properly. The button labeled Autolose is one such.
Now it refreshes properly. And any other buttons that were not showing the proper state now are.
For the time being I have added that alias to all of my multistate buttons and they are refreshing properly. |
|
_________________ Arminas, The Invisible horseman
Windows 7 Pro 32 bit
AMD 64 X2 2.51 Dual Core, 2 GB of Ram |
|
|
|
Zugg MASTER
Joined: 25 Sep 2000 Posts: 23379 Location: Colorado, USA
|
Posted: Mon Oct 30, 2006 5:18 pm |
Thanks for sending the settings file. I'll try to use it to fix these problems.
But I mentioned in my Blog entry for 1.12 that I'm aware of many problems with buttons in v1.12. I released 1.12 anyway, even with these problems, so that people could look for any major crashes in the new settings editor. I hope to have buttons working better soon.
I think one of the major confusing issues that I need to fix in the User Interface is that button states really don't support all of the available options that you can edit. For example, the button "Type" really only applies to the main button. It isn't used for anything with each button state. So I need to fix the UI so that the button type field isn't displayed when editing a button state. Same thing for the size, position, and many of the appearance options.
The only options a button state really supports is having a different caption and a different color (and a different command of course). I want to support having a different icon, but the rest of the options need to be hidden when editing a button state.
And yes, there seems to be many problems relating to refreshing the buttons. In any case, it's near the top of my list to work on for the next version. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|