Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD Beta Forum
adamwalker
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Mar 2005
Posts: 195

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:16 am   

not even an alias will run?
 
made an alias. i called it 'sketch'

Code:
~sketch all
#if (!@mist) {throw @dagger at @Tar}
@ritualsketch = di|ci|pe|st|ma|tr|cr|su


firstly the @variable = syntax no longer works for me. any ideas?? so i made a change...

Code:
~sketch all
#if (!@mist) {throw @dagger at @Tar}
#var ritualsketch di|ci|pe|st|ma|tr|cr|su


now if i run "sketch" From the prompt the trigger doesnt fire. its enabled and everything

thanks
Reply with quote
edb6377
Magician


Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Posts: 482

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:28 am   
 
alias? this is what first comes to mind.

Code:

#ALIAS Sketch {#IF (!@mist) {throw @dagger at @tar};#VAR Ritualsketch {di|ci|pe|st|ma|tr|cr|su}}


Last edited by edb6377 on Tue Jun 13, 2006 6:26 am; edited 1 time in total
Reply with quote
Rainchild
Wizard


Joined: 10 Oct 2000
Posts: 1551
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 6:22 am   
 
It seems the @xxx = y syntax for global variables is broken, which is odd because the $xxx = y syntax works for local variables.

So I would say that @xxy = y syntax will be fixed, but temporarily do what edb suggests.

One final thing to note is string lists must be enclosed in curly braces now - so the proper syntax (when fixed) should be @ritualsketch = {di|ci|pe|st|ma|tr|cr|su}
Reply with quote
Taz
GURU


Joined: 28 Sep 2000
Posts: 1395
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 9:50 am   
 
I can't imagine @xxx = y working as expected. Surely that will expand xxx and then set the expanded contents to y so for instance if xxx contains zzz then @xxx = y will actually set zzz to y.
_________________
Taz :)
Reply with quote
slicertool
Magician


Joined: 09 Oct 2003
Posts: 459
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 2:19 pm   
 
I'm having the problem where I cannot send a period through an alias. so, totally unrelated.
_________________
Ichthus on SWmud: http://www.swmud.org/
Reply with quote
edb6377
Magician


Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Posts: 482

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 2:52 pm   
 
CMUD hates periods now LOL.
_________________
Confucious say "Bugs in Programs need Hammer"
Reply with quote
Vijilante
SubAdmin


Joined: 18 Nov 2001
Posts: 5182

PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 1:24 am   
 
It will be a little while before I get to testing on this. Perhaps another Guru can test all the different ways in which a period is used in scripts and add something to the Known Issues threads.
_________________
The only good questions are the ones we have never answered before.
Search the Forums
Reply with quote
edb6377
Magician


Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Posts: 482

PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 1:38 am   
 
Well its more of a point of the Syntax checker hates them and will bomb a script that has it. Much like now <SEND>blah blah</send> is now ~<Send~>blah blah ~</send~> or the syntax checker wont let it slide. Specifically in the editor window.

In other situations it works fine like
%i.ID etc.
_________________
Confucious say "Bugs in Programs need Hammer"
Reply with quote
Rainchild
Wizard


Joined: 10 Oct 2000
Posts: 1551
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 1:56 am   
 
I think the theory is you need to enclose stuff like <send>blah blah</send> in double-quotes to say it's a string... probably the same deal with the period?
Reply with quote
edb6377
Magician


Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Posts: 482

PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 2:05 am   
 
if you enclose <SEND> in quotes you get <SEND> instead of the mxp version of it. Its part of this new dont expand within quotes thing or whatever. I am still getting used to some of the newer syntaxs
_________________
Confucious say "Bugs in Programs need Hammer"
Reply with quote
Rainchild
Wizard


Joined: 10 Oct 2000
Posts: 1551
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 2:13 am   
 
Try using { } then ... "" is copy text as is, and I think { } is copy text expanded.
Reply with quote
edb6377
Magician


Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Posts: 482

PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 2:22 am   
 
It was supposed to be.. Im working it out now its part of the same script so you will see but its a "WEIRD" issue to say the least. ~. doesnt escape it. and ~<SEND> used to be the normal but now it requires the > to have one too. Really Strange. Its ok doesnt bother me it works both ways but the EDITOR syntax checker wont let it pass.
_________________
Confucious say "Bugs in Programs need Hammer"
Reply with quote
Daganev
Beginner


Joined: 11 Jun 2006
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 5:09 am   
 
I am confused here...

Normaly you want to do

stringlist = {a|b|c|d|}

NOT

@stringlist = {a|b|c|d}

@variable is only used when you want the variable to expand, not when you are creating it....

Why is nobody catching this? Edit: wait thats what Taz said... ignor me.
Reply with quote
Rainchild
Wizard


Joined: 10 Oct 2000
Posts: 1551
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 5:20 am   
 
Ok, sorry I confused you, I never use the xxx = y syntax so naturally guessed that @xxx = y would be the correct syntax.

So, ritualsketch = {di|ci|pe|st|ma|tr|cr|su} is the correct syntax then.
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD Beta Forum All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net