|
Larkin |
Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 6:06 pm
"Sticky" prompt? |
|
shalimar GURU
Joined: 04 Aug 2002 Posts: 4691 Location: Pensacola, FL, USA
|
Posted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 11:47 pm |
Ive found that my prompt often still exists at the bottom of the screen until i get more mud output.
In your example i see the prompt, yet in the scrollback buffer its gone.
A bit annoying, but it is getting gagged once it gets past the cursor point. |
|
_________________ Discord: Shalimarwildcat |
|
|
|
Taz GURU
Joined: 28 Sep 2000 Posts: 1395 Location: United Kingdom
|
Posted: Sun Apr 30, 2006 12:00 am |
Are you talking about my video? I didn't do a scrollback and you can see the prompt updating while new mud output is arriving. Watch it nearer the end during the fight sequence. The smallish window at the top is just my chats being redirected.
|
|
_________________ Taz :) |
|
|
|
Vijilante SubAdmin
Joined: 18 Nov 2001 Posts: 5182
|
Posted: Sun Apr 30, 2006 3:06 am |
It is actually very easy to do a sticky prompt with existing triggers.
Step 1 the full gag of the prompt.
#TRIGGER {^prompt text stuff$} {#GAG} "" {notrig|case}
Note the options selected the prompt is only gagged if it is on a completed line.
Step 2 the completion of the prompt line before sending a command.
#ONINPUT {*} {#SHOW {}}
That pretty much does the whole of it. It ensures that there is no text tacked on at the end of the prompt prior to gagging it, and puts command text on a seperate line allowing the prompt to be gagged. Slightly more sophisticated methods could be used to seperate out text from prompts, and to insure that sent commands only happen when not in the midst of receiving bunches of stuff, but there isn't that much more that is needed to sticky down the prompt. |
|
_________________ The only good questions are the ones we have never answered before.
Search the Forums |
|
|
|
adamwalker Apprentice
Joined: 12 Mar 2005 Posts: 195
|
Posted: Tue May 02, 2006 5:35 pm |
Code: |
Hmm, I'll look into this. It's possible that over the years something happened to cause the screen refresh to happen before the triggers instead of after. And I'll have to check on "prompt" triggers since I know that zMUD tends to refresh the screen at the end of a prompt and that might be happening before the trigger has a chance to perform the gag. |
zugg, any news on this refresh issue? i'd be very excited to see the refresh happening AFTER the triggers.
Thanks |
|
|
|
Zugg MASTER
Joined: 25 Sep 2000 Posts: 23379 Location: Colorado, USA
|
Posted: Tue May 02, 2006 7:25 pm |
This is not going to happen in the first beta, sorry. I've got my hands full with too many other more critical issues. I won't even have a chance to look at this until after the first beta release. It involves too much stuff that could cause a chain-reaction of side effects and I *really* need to focus on the most critical stuff to get the first release out.
|
|
|
|
adamwalker Apprentice
Joined: 12 Mar 2005 Posts: 195
|
Posted: Tue May 02, 2006 8:42 pm |
chears pal. definately, gettin the first release out comes first! now that i know its for a future consideration im more then happy.
|
|
|
|
edb6377 Magician
Joined: 29 Nov 2005 Posts: 482
|
Posted: Thu May 04, 2006 4:20 am |
focus zugg focus.....eyes...b.l.u.r.r.y........ <<<<>>>> Must Finish Beta........
:) roflmao. J/K
so much to do so little time.. :P |
|
_________________ Confucious say "Bugs in Programs need Hammer" |
|
|
|
edb6377 Magician
Joined: 29 Nov 2005 Posts: 482
|
Posted: Thu May 04, 2006 4:41 am |
#CLASS {StickyPrompt} {enable}
#TRIGGER "eprompt" {~<(%n)hp (%n)sp (%n)st~>} {
#GAG
#ONINPUT {*} {
#SHOW {}
#GAG
}
} "" {case|notrig}
#CLASS 0
Is my sticky prompt btw just so you know |
|
_________________ Confucious say "Bugs in Programs need Hammer" |
|
|
|
Taz GURU
Joined: 28 Sep 2000 Posts: 1395 Location: United Kingdom
|
Posted: Thu May 04, 2006 10:28 am |
Don't these require for you to input something before seeing the latest prompt update? In that video you'll see that I didn't have to input anything to see the latest prompt at the bottom of the screen.
|
|
_________________ Taz :) |
|
|
|
MattLofton GURU
Joined: 23 Dec 2000 Posts: 4834 Location: USA
|
Posted: Thu May 04, 2006 10:21 pm |
This could just be taking advantage of how Zugg is detecting a simutronics prompt, but all I have to do is this:
#trigger {^prompt pattern(*)} {#sub {%1}}
There seems to be a nastily obscure bug regarding sent commands sometimes generating a "huh?" type of response from the game, but thus far I've no idea where it's located. |
|
_________________ EDIT: I didn't like my old signature |
|
|
|
edb6377 Magician
Joined: 29 Nov 2005 Posts: 482
|
Posted: Fri May 05, 2006 2:38 am |
the one i did updates on anything done in game including input recieved from the mud. It updates anytime it sees the prompt. Not sure.. works fine for me
|
|
_________________ Confucious say "Bugs in Programs need Hammer" |
|
|
|
|
|