|
rpcervi Beginner
Joined: 04 Nov 2004 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 4:40 am
Zmud Pretty Print.. |
I seem to be having alot of problems in the one game I use. We are able to do multiple line descriptions such as for different things. When I leave extra spaces in the description to make space for centering or such, I can't seem to keep the extra spaces, zmud removes them on me, so I end up screwing it all up. Is there a way to remove this, so I can keep the spaces, or a certain command I need to know about?
Thanks,
Rich |
|
|
|
megamog75 Enchanter
Joined: 20 Nov 2002 Posts: 627 Location: USA
|
Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 1:29 pm |
A #Alias will do it automatically but in a #trigger you have to put the {} around what you want to show.
Examples:
#trigger {you see a (*)} {#show It's a %1}
--You see a bug
YOU GET
--It's a bug
BUT IF YOU DO IT LIKE THIS:
#trigger {you see a (*)} {#show {It's a %1}}
YOU WILL GET
--It's a bug |
|
_________________ megamog75
I will do this.Nothing in my life matters except this.No moment in my life exists except this moment.I am born in this moment, and if I fail, I will die in this moment. Raistlin Majere |
|
|
|
Larkin Wizard
Joined: 25 Mar 2003 Posts: 1113 Location: USA
|
Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 2:18 pm |
Using double quotes will preserve your spaces. Simple parameters (%1..%99) are still expanded inside of the quotes, and you can put other functions outside of the quotes but still inline.
Code: |
#ALIAS test1 {#show "1 2"}
#ALIAS test2 {#show "%1 %2"}
#ALIAS test3 {#show "%1 "%eval(%1 * 100)} |
All of those should preserve spaces in the output. |
|
|
|
rpcervi Beginner
Joined: 04 Nov 2004 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 3:24 pm |
Both of these are parts I know of. What I'm talking about is in the command prompt. In the game I use, we use alot of alignment and spacing to make designs via text such as something like this:
~o~ ~o~ ~o~ ~o~
~o~ text ~o~
~o~ ~o~ ~o~ ~o~
After the word text, when I hit enter, it makes it look like this instead of spaced out:
~o~ text ~o~
It wants to remove the spaces, This is what I was wondering on how to remove. Only because, the descriptions in this game can make you money, or break your bank easily. It's something I searched for, for awhile and still haven't figured it out. |
|
|
|
rpcervi Beginner
Joined: 04 Nov 2004 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 3:25 pm |
And with that last post, it removed the extra spaces also... Dang it. Its all suppose to be aligned with the "~O~" making an aligned box around the word "text"....
|
|
|
|
Vitae Enchanter
Joined: 17 Jun 2005 Posts: 673 Location: New York
|
Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 6:38 pm |
rpcervi, rather than #show use #send
Code: |
#send "say this is the song that never ends."
You say 'this is the song that never ends.' |
That was entered at the command line |
|
|
|
megamog75 Enchanter
Joined: 20 Nov 2002 Posts: 627 Location: USA
|
Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 8:15 pm |
You could also use the %char for space and it will not get removed.
Use this #aliias to get a list of %char:
#alias char {#loop 1,300 {#show %repeatnum = %char(%repeatnum)}} |
|
_________________ megamog75
I will do this.Nothing in my life matters except this.No moment in my life exists except this moment.I am born in this moment, and if I fail, I will die in this moment. Raistlin Majere |
|
|
|
rpcervi Beginner
Joined: 04 Nov 2004 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 12:01 am |
For some reason, when I use #send all I get is nothing, as its not even sending it to the game.. I don't know why :(
|
|
|
|
Vitae Enchanter
Joined: 17 Jun 2005 Posts: 673 Location: New York
|
Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 4:08 pm |
so something like #send "say this is a test" will result in totally nothing being sent to the mud?
umm..then SOMETHING is totally off with your settings.
Tried a reinstall? *shrug* |
|
|
|
rpcervi Beginner
Joined: 04 Nov 2004 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 5:12 pm |
I'll try that out, maybe I screwed up something
|
|
|
|
TonDiening GURU
Joined: 26 Jul 2001 Posts: 1958 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Fri Feb 17, 2006 6:16 am |
You can also turn off the parsing (Red X the computer next to the trigger(gun) on the lower right hand side) for your thing with spaces.
For many muds and their notes I use an alias like:
#IG
message text here
blah
blah
blah blah blah
**save method for notes here
#IG |
|
|
|
Vijilante SubAdmin
Joined: 18 Nov 2001 Posts: 5182
|
Posted: Sat Feb 18, 2006 6:17 am |
Short an simple. In the command line, start any text you want spacing, or anything else preserved, with a double-quote.
The command line is subject to the full parsing, expansion, and evaluation rules the same as any script. This allows scripts to be published and imported simply by pasting them in the command line. Nearly all scripts you see here are written such that they will work in that fashion. You can disable the parsing in the command line at any point with a ". By placing one at the beginning of the line and never including a closing quote the whole becomes immune to the parsing rules, and because that is the entire extent of the input the parser sees the quotes are effectively closed anyway. |
|
_________________ The only good questions are the ones we have never answered before.
Search the Forums |
|
|
|
|
|