|
dragonheart Beginner
Joined: 09 Jun 2002 Posts: 15 Location: Norway
|
Posted: Sun Jun 09, 2002 8:13 pm
Getting characters from a variable |
I've run into an issue where I've got problems, and I've read the helpfile, but still can't figure this one out:
I've got the following variables.
Status
Statequilibrium
Statbalance
The Status variables keeps getting characters in it, but never more than one occurance of each (from a to z only). They aren't necessary in alphabetical order.
What I would like to to is to trigger if I find a certain character in the variable, but I can't figure out how to see if that character is there.
This is what I've tried:
Trigger: (%a)h, (%a)m (%a)
Value: health=%1
mana=%2
status=%3
#IF {@status="?e",@statequilibrium=1,@statequilibrium=0}
#IF {@status="*d",@statdiffusion=1,@statdiffusion=0}
The status variable can for an example have "dey" in it, where "e" is equilibrium. I don't want anything to happen while e is not there...
Can you help me please?
Many thanks
Best regards,
Dragonheart |
|
|
|
TonDiening GURU
Joined: 26 Jul 2001 Posts: 1958 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Sun Jun 09, 2002 9:03 pm |
#IF {@status="?e",@statequilibrium=1,@statequilibrium=0}
#IF {@status="*d",@statdiffusion=1,@statdiffusion=0}
Is kinda in the %if the function syntax.
How about something like:
#IF (%pos("e",@Status) > 0) {@statequilibrium=1} {@statequilibrium=0}
#IF (%pos("d",@Status) > 0) {@statdiffusion=1} {@statdiffusion=0}
TonDiening
Beta Upgrading to 6.26
Fixed 12 minutes later to make me look smarter. Corrected my #IF () {} {} as dacheeba's
message |
|
|
|
dacheeba Adept
Joined: 29 Oct 2001 Posts: 250
|
Posted: Sun Jun 09, 2002 9:04 pm |
kind of confusing,because the syntax you use for #IF is really the syntax for %if, but whatever. :)
Trigger:
(%a)h, (%a)m (%a)
Value:
health=%1
mana=%2
status=%3
#IF (%pos(e,@status)) {statequilibrium=1} {statequilibrium=0}
#IF (%pos(d,@status)) {statdiffusion=1} {statdiffusion=0}
That will do it |
|
|
|
dacheeba Adept
Joined: 29 Oct 2001 Posts: 250
|
Posted: Sun Jun 09, 2002 9:06 pm |
Curse you TonDiening!50 seconds to slow :(
Heh, just goes to show great minds think alike(some faster than others however :P) |
|
|
|
LightBulb MASTER
Joined: 28 Nov 2000 Posts: 4817 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sun Jun 09, 2002 9:06 pm |
You can use the %pos function for this, either directly or as a comparison.
Also, it's important to use the correct syntax for the #IF command, it's not identical to the %if function.
I've always preferred to test parameters from aliases and triggers directly, rather than store them to a variable and then test the variable.
#IF (%pos(e,@status) > 0) {statequilibrium=1} {statequilibrium=0}
#IF (%pos(d,%3)) {statdiffusion=1} {statdiffusion=0}
LightBulb
Vague questions get vague answers
Heh, we all seem agreed that %pos is the answer |
|
|
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|