|
Articnal Apprentice
Joined: 19 Jan 2002 Posts: 107
|
Posted: Fri Dec 05, 2003 9:52 pm
Alarms not working... |
Hi,i got next problem:
if I use next alarm,it wont work:
#alarm goon {+1} {onroomenter}
onroomenter is an 'alias'
But if i use:
#alarm goon {+1} {#say yes}
It will echo Yes,why doesnt it does the onroomenter?? [xx(]
(when i write onroomenter it does work and start its comands)
Thanks for any help [^] |
|
|
|
Toetag Magician
Joined: 10 Oct 2000 Posts: 356 Location: USA
|
Posted: Fri Dec 05, 2003 11:19 pm |
The following worked for me:
#ALARM +1 {onroommeter}
Alias: onroommeeter
#SHOW hello there!
I don't user the #ALARM much but looking at the help files the syntax is:
Syntax: #ALA [id] pattern [commands] [class]
not sure what goon is in your example. you created an alarm with the ID of "goon"?
I set a trigger to detect "goon" with the above #ALARM command and it worked. |
|
|
|
Talahaski Enchanter
Joined: 10 Oct 2000 Posts: 656 Location: USA
|
Posted: Fri Dec 05, 2003 11:29 pm |
Articnal, it appears that your alarm is correct.
Your problem may have something to do with the fact that I believe onroomenter is a special alias that is executed each time you walk into a new room when using the mapper.
If this is not your intent, you may want to try naming your alias something different.
...Unless the problem is the brackets in {+1}.
Try #alarm goon +1 {onroomenter} |
|
|
|
Articnal Apprentice
Joined: 19 Jan 2002 Posts: 107
|
Posted: Fri Dec 05, 2003 11:56 pm |
1st of all,thanks for your help.
I think ill go crazy with this... i had already searched on help,and yes,onroomenter is the alias i want to use.
What i meaned,and what is happening to me,is that orders for zmud work fine on alarms,but aliases doesnt,as i earlyer explained.
In order to test if there was any more strange isuues,i did next:
#ala goon {+4} {#say executethis onroomenter}
#trigger {executethis %1} {%1}
and nothing happened,although executethis onroomenter appeared on the screen
AND if i use onroomenter directly,it does work!! im gona go crazy!
Thanks for help =| |
|
|
|
Articnal Apprentice
Joined: 19 Jan 2002 Posts: 107
|
Posted: Sat Dec 06, 2003 12:03 am |
That seems to be my problem,it does never execute onroomenter if i didnt write it... =(
|
|
|
|
LightBulb MASTER
Joined: 28 Nov 2000 Posts: 4817 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sat Dec 06, 2003 5:29 am |
It appears that the problem is in your alias, not the trigger or alarms.
|
|
|
|
Articnal Apprentice
Joined: 19 Jan 2002 Posts: 107
|
Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2003 11:06 pm |
Mhm... although it sounds really strange even for me...
if i do:
#ala {+4} {onroomenter} questhacer
it will work.
if i do:
#alarm seguir {+4} {onroomenter} questhacer
It wont. I discovered a class named onroomenter wichi was created by last ussage of the alarm.
What can be happening? =| |
|
|
|
Articnal Apprentice
Joined: 19 Jan 2002 Posts: 107
|
Posted: Fri Dec 12, 2003 12:41 am |
After researching on it,that seems an alarm named SEGUIR,for example,wont be able to trigger an alias which contains another order for building another alarm with same name.
I allways use an alarm named SEGUIR which contains the orders for next step,and in case another order is given after it,it will be overwritted by later order,so it will work,but now,with this bug,i cant go any more,any ideas?
What i think im asking for is any other way to identify alarms different than name so i can still use them as i need to do it but without naming an alarm same as the alarm it will build.
Thank you for your time |
|
|
|
Toetag Magician
Joined: 10 Oct 2000 Posts: 356 Location: USA
|
Posted: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:21 am |
wont be able to test this until tomorrow but can you put a variable at the end of the alarmID?
Trigger off something:
#ALARM SEGUIR@alarmcount +30:00 {cast shield} classAlarm
#MATH alarmcount @alarmcount+1
Make @alarmcount default value of 0 so each time you login you can start fresh with alarm counts.
If i remember right the Plus symbol in front of the 30:00 in my example will make the alarm delete itself, so you aren't left with 1,000 alarms after a week of play. |
|
|
|
LightBulb MASTER
Joined: 28 Nov 2000 Posts: 4817 Location: USA
|
Posted: Fri Dec 12, 2003 5:03 am |
A one-time alarm has to finish processing its commands in order to delete itself. Those commands include all the commands in any alias it calls.
What happens when you have a one-time alarm named SEGUIR which calls an alias which makes another alarm named SEGUIR? When the alarm goes off, it calls the alias. The alias makes the new alarm and completes its other commands. As soon as the ALIAS is finished, the ALARM is also finished, so it deletes the alarm named SEGUIR (which is the new one you just made). And now, there is no longer any alarm named SEGUIR.
This isn't a bug. It's the way things are supposed to work.
I think a solution to your problem will probably require more details. You are correct that you can rewrite an alarm if you know its ID, and that you need to assign the ID yourself in order to know what the ID is. It's just not possible for a temporary alarm (or trigger) to rewrite itself, even through an alias. It might be possible to do with a trigger as long as the trigger delayed the new alarm creation until after the original alarm had deleted itself. |
|
|
|
Articnal Apprentice
Joined: 19 Jan 2002 Posts: 107
|
Posted: Fri Dec 12, 2003 10:57 am |
Thankyou,what i did to solve this was to create another alias,this way:
#alias onroomentersafe {#alarm {+1} {onroomenter}}
this way,whenever i want to order onroomenter in an alarm called seguir,I use onroomentersafe so when the alarm seguir must be erased,it is not in use. |
|
|
|
Articnal Apprentice
Joined: 19 Jan 2002 Posts: 107
|
Posted: Fri Dec 12, 2003 11:20 am |
Sorry for the flood but it didnt work... =(
I think it would be really usefull to know a way to delete the alarm called SEGUIR anywhere it is,so i can build a new one,and without any conflict?
I think the problem must be something like this... Some alias build an alarm on different clases where they are,and then disable its own class,there must be something with that,because otherway,the way of solving that i posted before should work!
Thanks for any help |
|
|
|
|
|