|
Edwub Wanderer
Joined: 21 Nov 2002 Posts: 85 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sun Jan 12, 2003 6:26 am
database importing |
Have a question...I have a list of rooms such as:
RoomName Description
A Back Alley There are 7 of those in Thalos.
A barely lit corridor There are 3 of those in the Ruined temple on Iaitanto.
A barn That's in the Shire.
A Battered Hallway There are 2 of those in Northeastern Skavenblight.
thats what someone sent me saying its thier database...
Is there anyway i can import a list like that into a DB?
Clicking and entering the Database field is giving me all kinds of errors I dont understand..such as List out of Bounds when i try to make a new database called 'Rooms'
Edwub the Mage
edit: Now when i click new it gives me the error cant open file char.dbs.
then it says new screen..so i enter rooms as db name, and i get List out of bounds (-1) |
|
|
|
Kjata GURU
Joined: 10 Oct 2000 Posts: 4379 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sun Jan 12, 2003 12:21 pm |
You DB may not contain fields of type Room or Zone.
Kjata |
|
|
|
Edwub Wanderer
Joined: 21 Nov 2002 Posts: 85 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sun Jan 12, 2003 1:51 pm |
hmm, i have a rooms.txt file they sent me saying its in thier database.
they have it hooked up to a triggerset to find a room from the list...
how can i do that?
I'm guessing i then put the .txt file in the directory, and not sure how to make a trigger or alias to search it and display the line
Edwub the Mage |
|
|
|
Kjata GURU
Joined: 10 Oct 2000 Posts: 4379 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sun Jan 12, 2003 3:19 pm |
I don't understand what you are saying. My reply was because you said you were getting an error. The error occurs if there are fields of type Room or Zone in your database.
Kjata |
|
|
|
Edwub Wanderer
Joined: 21 Nov 2002 Posts: 85 Location: USA
|
Posted: Mon Jan 13, 2003 1:39 am |
I'm afraid i'm useless in describing.
This guy sent me a set of triggers for 6.16 that automatically searches his "database" for rooms and displays it.
This is one of the triggers:
trig: at a place called (*){ .|.}
#echo %clip( %trim( "%1"))
find %trim( "%1")
He sent me the list of rooms i mentioned above claiming its his database.
Heres what he sent me as the triggers:
#CLASS {Quest}
#ALIAS rq {#math QuestRC 0;receive quest;receive xpquest;#tele 8 temp;#Class Autotype 1;#math questtype;#math questitem;#math questanswer;#math badmob;#math goodmob;#math givemob}
#VAR QuestItem {}
#VAR BadMob {}
#VAR GoodMob {}
#VAR QuestType {}
#VAR Questanswer {}
#VAR givemob {}
#TRIGGER {at a place called (*){ .|.}} {#echo %clip( %trim( "%1"));find %trim( "%1")}
#TRIGGER {The place is called (*).} {#echo %clip( %trim( "%1"));find %trim( "%1")}
#TRIGGER {at a place called: (*){ .|.}} {#echo %clip( %trim( "%1"));find %trim( "%1")}
#TRIGGER {Find the place called (*).} {#echo %clip( %trim( "%1"));find %trim( "%1")}
#TRIGGER {Please deliver this to (%w)} {#math GiveMob %1;#echo @givemob}
#TRIGGER {GRATS!!! You solved your} {#math questtype;#math questitem;#math questanswer;#math badmob;#math goodmob;#math givemob;#math QuestRC 1}
#TRIGGER {You need to find a place called (*).} {#echo %clip( %trim( "%1"));find %trim( "%1")}
#TRIGGER {You need to guide %w to a place called (*).} {#echo %clip( %trim( "%1"));find %trim( "%1")}
#TRIGGER {You have to escort * to a place called (*) -} {#echo %clip( %trim( "%1"));find %trim( "%1")}
#CLASS 0
And he said the list thats in this form:
A Back Alley There are 7 of those in Thalos.
A barely lit corridor There are 3 of those in the Ruined temple on Iaitanto.
A barn That's in the Shire.
A Battered Hallway There are 2 of those in Northeastern Skavenblight.
should be put into the database, and that it automatically searches the list for it.
So if i get a quest now, the mob says 'take me to A Battered Hallway'
it automatically echos:
A Battered Hallway
nope
and the nope is whats echoed when it cant find the room on the "database".
What i'm asking is how to somehow put that text file into something that will work for his search?
i dont know if that helped or not, I'm sorry =(
Edwub the Mage |
|
|
|
Edwub Wanderer
Joined: 21 Nov 2002 Posts: 85 Location: USA
|
Posted: Mon Jan 13, 2003 6:51 am |
Ok, i spoke to the guy who sent them
Dolan rumbles, 'open the DB window'
Dolan rumbles, 'make a new DB called rooms.db'
Dolan rumbles, 'make a field called RoomName of type text'
Dolan rumbles, 'make another called Description also of type text'
Dolan rumbles, 'then go to view - import and look for the file'
Dolan rumbles, 'then it should be just the defaults to import it'
so i guess i do that to the list he sent me, and then the triggers work for searching it.
I know i've been confusing as hell, but i at least understand basic concepts of triggers, databases are something entirely new to me.
Sorry =)
Edwub the Mage |
|
|
|
Edwub Wanderer
Joined: 21 Nov 2002 Posts: 85 Location: USA
|
Posted: Mon Jan 13, 2003 9:39 am |
wow, i had to delete and re-install zmud due to DB errors...
But afterwords it worked like a charm.
2 catagories, and theres an option to make the top line the desc
since the file started
Have a question...I have a list of rooms such as:
RoomName Description
A Back Alley There are 7 of those in Thalos.
I have 2 columns.
it works excellent *hop*
Edwub the Mage |
|
|
|
|
|