|
Kjata GURU
Joined: 10 Oct 2000 Posts: 4379 Location: USA
|
Posted: Thu Jan 02, 2003 12:50 pm
Spell Checking |
#ALIAS scheck {#VAR wordApp %comcreate( "Word.Application");#VAR doc {@wordApp.Documents.Add()};#VAR wordApp.Selection.Text "%-1";#VAR dialog @wordApp.Dialogs(828);#CALL @dialog.Show();#IF (%len(@wordApp.Selection.Text) <> 1) {#EXEC {@wordApp.Selection.Text}} {#EXEC {"%-1"}};#VAR dialog %null;#CALL @doc.Close(0);#CALL @wordApp.Quit();#VAR wordApp %null}
Requires:
Microsoft Word installed
Usage:
scheck textToSend
textToSend is what would normally be typed if spell checking were not to occur. The script spell checks everything that comes after the name of the alias and then sends it to the MUD.
Example:
scheck chat Hello everybody!
If there are no erros in the text passed to the alias the text is sent to the MUD.
If there are errors, the standard Spelling and Grammar dialog box is shown. Clicking on Cancel will send the text to the MUD with no changes to it. Otherwise, you can change each word to one of the suggested words or ignore it. Once the changes are done the corrected text is sent to the MUD.
Notes:
Change the spell checking preferences by cliking on Options when the dialog box shows up.
If a box with some statistics keeps showing up after the corrections are made, disable the Show readability statistics option.
The first time the alias is used, it may take some time because Word needs to be loaded. Afterwards, it should be faster.
Kjata |
|
|
|
Edwub Wanderer
Joined: 21 Nov 2002 Posts: 85 Location: USA
|
Posted: Fri Jan 03, 2003 10:53 pm |
I'm having syntax problems with this alias.
#VAR doc {@wordApp.Documents.Add()}
^ syntax error
Edwub the Mage |
|
|
|
IceChild Magician
Joined: 11 Oct 2000 Posts: 419 Location: Post Falls, ID, USA
|
Posted: Fri Jan 03, 2003 11:15 pm |
As Kjata mentioned in the Beta forum when it was originally posted, the syntax checker doesn't like COM, just ignore the error, and it should still work fine.
Icechild
mv -f message.text /dev/null |
|
|
|
Edwub Wanderer
Joined: 21 Nov 2002 Posts: 85 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sat Jan 04, 2003 1:09 am |
Is it perhaps version specific?
I have 6.16 and it does the lag thing as mentioned, but no pop ups come if i typo.
scheck say testnfhfhfhf
| 1038H 1017M 1019V > say testnfhfhfhf
You say, 'testnfhfhfhf'
Edwub the Mage |
|
|
|
Kjata GURU
Joined: 10 Oct 2000 Posts: 4379 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sat Jan 04, 2003 12:42 pm |
Do you have Microsoft Word installed?
The script was made a long time ago, so it should definitely work in 6.16. You should try upgrading to 6.40, anyway. It is a lot better and free.
Kjata |
|
|
|
Evangelist Adept
Joined: 10 Oct 2000 Posts: 224 Location: USA
|
|
|
|
|
|