|
Evangelist Adept
Joined: 10 Oct 2000 Posts: 224 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sat Jul 13, 2002 12:35 pm
Trigger with double space |
Sorry if this question seems like a no brainer, but here goes.
My database is up and running pretty well, one snag though.
This is what comes out on mud.
Damage is 9d7 (average 32).
The trigger I have is
Damage is &{Item.Damage} (average &Itemm.AvgDam})
The only thing i can think of is that because there is a double space on the mud output on the average 22 or whatnot, is there a way to fix that? Everything else in db works fine, but nothing else has a double space, thanks.
I have just noticed it doesnt appear i can double space on the post, but still, there is a double space on the mud.
I appreciate any help I can, and the help I have received in the past is of tremendous assistance.
Evangelist
www.phidar.com |
|
|
|
Evangelist Adept
Joined: 10 Oct 2000 Posts: 224 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sat Jul 13, 2002 12:57 pm |
Update: I also seem to be having this problem with staffs.
Staff/Wand:
Has 5(4) charges of level 25 'roomshield'.
Trigger:
Has &{Item.Charges)(*) charges of level &{Item.SpLvl} '&{Item.Spell}'. Once again, just catching the items name. I also tried
Has &{Item.Charges}(*) charges of level &{Item.SpLvl} '~&{Item.Spell}'. Which didn't work either.
The SpLvl is general numbers, charges is general numbers, and spell is text. I have no clue why it could not be working, but once again, any help is appreciated.
Evangelist
www.phidar.com |
|
|
|
TonDiening GURU
Joined: 26 Jul 2001 Posts: 1958 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Sat Jul 13, 2002 3:54 pm |
Damage is &{Item.Damage} ~(average &{Itemm.AvgDam}~)
So if I understand properly, you are picking
up a space in your AvgDam causing it
to be a string and not a number? I also
notice that you do not ~ the brackets and
are missing the other {.
How about %trim() the value? I assume that
you have declared AvgDam as a number in the
database.
Ton Diening
Providing untested answers that tend to be
more complicated than others. |
|
|
|
Evangelist Adept
Joined: 10 Oct 2000 Posts: 224 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sat Jul 13, 2002 7:01 pm |
%trim the value?
That didn't work by the way. Wheny ou mentioned I didn't have the other }, I actually did but I didnt cut and paste the pattern :) I Retyped it and made a booboo
Evangelist
www.phidar.com |
|
|
|
decantor Apprentice
Joined: 14 Nov 2001 Posts: 100
|
Posted: Sat Jul 13, 2002 7:29 pm |
quote:
This is what comes out on mud.
Damage is 9d7 (average 32).
The trigger I have is
Damage is &{Item.Damage} (average &Itemm.AvgDam})
^Damage is &{Item.Damage} ~(average &{Item.AvgDam}~)
If there are spaces before the 'Damage is...' insert the appropriate number of spaces between damage and the anchor point(^).
If there is a double space between average and the number, just use that number of spaces in your trigger pattern.
Also, I'm not sure if you want the avgdam field to be called by Itemm.AvgDam or Item.AvgDam or if that was just a typo...
Is it just the AvgDam field that doesnt update, or the Damage field too? |
|
|
|
Evangelist Adept
Joined: 10 Oct 2000 Posts: 224 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sat Jul 13, 2002 10:24 pm |
it was a typo :)
Neither one of the fields were capturing, im about to start zmud though so I will let you know if it works
Evangelist
www.phidar.com |
|
|
|
Evangelist Adept
Joined: 10 Oct 2000 Posts: 224 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sat Jul 13, 2002 10:34 pm |
OK, I tried it, and it is still not working. I know it can be done because I have seen it before, I just can't get it to work.
Appreciate the help though, hehe, I'll ask around some more.
Evangelist
www.phidar.com |
|
|
|
Evangelist Adept
Joined: 10 Oct 2000 Posts: 224 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sat Jul 13, 2002 10:59 pm |
FIXED!!!!!!
Here is what I used
^Damage is (*) ~(average (%d)~).$
That was the pattern of course.
#addkey Item {DamageStyle="Old"|WeapDice=%1|WeapAvg=%2}
That was the value :)
Alrighty, I also fixed the spells thing, here is how
Pattern:
Has &{Item.Charges} charges of level &{Item.SpLvl} ~'&{Item.Spell}~'.
Thanks all for your help, I really appreciate it.
Now I need to figure out how to report how many items are in the database, lol, thanks again.
Evangelist
www.phidar.com |
|
|
|
LightBulb MASTER
Joined: 28 Nov 2000 Posts: 4817 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sun Jul 14, 2002 4:49 pm |
Pick a field that is used in every record. As an example, I'll use "Name".
#SAY {%count(Name)}
LightBulb
Senior Member |
|
|
|
|
|