Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion
Scirkhan
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2007
Posts: 167
Location: aztx

PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2008 1:25 am   

zmud won't start
 
LicCtrl isn't in Services. can anyone help me with that?
thanks.


Last edited by Scirkhan on Fri Dec 12, 2008 1:44 am; edited 1 time in total
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23377
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2008 1:38 am   
 
zMUD no longer uses LicCtrl. That was part of the old eLicense system. We got rid of that over 3 years ago. Make sure you are using zMUD v7.21 which doesn't use eLicense.
Reply with quote
Scirkhan
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2007
Posts: 167
Location: aztx

PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2008 1:44 am   
 
Hmm okay that is not it then.

When I click on zmud it does not start. anybody have an idea?

I am using 721
thanks.
Reply with quote
MattLofton
GURU


Joined: 23 Dec 2000
Posts: 4834
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2008 3:39 am   
 
Have you successfully opened 7.21 or another post-eLicense version at all before?

ZMud uses two processes, the main one that is the actual application and a small one that does a quick zuggsoft.com server lookup to make sure you have a valid license (there might also be some security wrapper stuff as well that allows you to run ZMud). Every once in a while, this second process does not unload from memory. Since there is specific code to prevent more than one instance of ZMud running at a time, it's probably this artifact that is causing you hassle. Simple fix is to terminate the process from the Processes List and simply running ZMud again like normal.

If the above is not the issue, there's probably something conflicting with the Armadillo wrapper preventing it from operating. Assuming no problems with installation, this might be your AV or other security software.
_________________
EDIT: I didn't like my old signature
Reply with quote
Scirkhan
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2007
Posts: 167
Location: aztx

PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2008 3:44 am   
 
Well. I have used zmud since i purchased it, 2004 or 5.
But, it has never done this. i don't recall doing anything to suddenly make it do this.
nope only one zmud running at once.
When i click on it, it doesn't even bring it into the process list.. im assuming it wants to give me an error.
it gives the hourglass for about half a second.

Oh i think this problem started about a month ago. I just haven't used it since then.
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23377
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2008 8:07 pm   
 
Quote:
and a small one that does a quick zuggsoft.com server lookup to make sure you have a valid license

No, that is wrong. zMUD does *not* perform any remote server lookup to validate your license. Only eLicense did that. The second small process is part of the Armadillo copy protection system which is responsible for decrypting the zMUD.EXE file and loading it into memory.

Anyway, back to the problem. What version of Windows are you using? Make sure you have run Windows Update to install any latest updates. Have you tried installing zMUD to a completely different directory on your computer in case one of your existing files is corrupted somehow?

You should also check the DEP settings in Windows to make sure DEP is not enabled for zMUD. I've seen some Microsoft updates that turn on the DEP settings. Here is a Microsoft link explaining how to check your DEP settings: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc700810.aspx
Reply with quote
ralgith
Sorcerer


Joined: 13 Jan 2006
Posts: 715

PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2008 3:07 am   
 
@Scirkhan

He means process, NOT "Running Applications".
Do ctrl-shift-esc (or ctrl-alt-del to those less savvy... though in Vista THAT works differently, while the previous works the same) to bring up the task manager.
Now click the processes tab.
Now click the "name" panel to sort by process name.
Scroll to the bottom, zMUD should be there, dead last, and have 2 processes. One taking very little memory and no CPU (the Armadillo decryptor), and one that takes a much larger amount of memory and some CPU usage.

If you do NOT see these, then I would suggest reinstalling, as well as checking DEP as Zugg mentioned.
_________________
CrossOver: Windows Compatibility on Mac and Linux CMUD Advocate
Reply with quote
Scirkhan
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2007
Posts: 167
Location: aztx

PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2008 6:31 pm   PROCESS
 
I know he means process.
I had a DEP problem and have a virus. I am currently fixing this, as DEP was part of problem.
Once my virus is gone it should work, I will let you know.
dude if it doesn't start, its process isn't even running.
Reply with quote
ralgith
Sorcerer


Joined: 13 Jan 2006
Posts: 715

PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2008 3:23 am   
 
Ok, just making sure ;)

You wouldn't believe how many people don't understand the difference :)

Sorry about the virus, they suck.
_________________
CrossOver: Windows Compatibility on Mac and Linux CMUD Advocate
Reply with quote
krhlaw5@yahoo.com
Newbie


Joined: 09 Feb 2020
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Feb 09, 2020 4:05 am   I have the same problem
 
I just bought zmud - paid the $, have a licence key etc.

Installed 7.21. but it doesn't run.

Can you give me some help?
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 4067
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 10, 2020 4:24 am   
 
You may need to run as admin, or simply reboot your system.
_________________
Discord: Shalimar#3679
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net