|
MisterDwooD Novice
Joined: 04 Feb 2014 Posts: 42
|
Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 6:41 am
Using a Multi Word - String List variable Trigger |
I have a variable that contains a few things:
Code: |
#CLASS {SubsnColors}
#VAR rankgear {a jeweled wristcuff |a pair of steel-plated greaves |a heron marked blade }
#TRIGGER {{@rankgear}} {#CW darkmagenta}
#CLASS 0 |
I can't get the rankgear to expand to be any one of the stringlist. Can I can get some help with this?
I just want it to try for anytime i see, someone wearing, or on the ground one of those 3 items, to color the text darkmagenta.
Thanks![/code] |
|
Last edited by MisterDwooD on Sat Feb 20, 2016 6:21 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
|
|
shalimar GURU
Joined: 04 Aug 2002 Posts: 4692 Location: Pensacola, FL, USA
|
Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 2:45 pm |
Looks like you padded every value with a space for some reason.
Removing the trailing space should fix things. |
|
_________________ Discord: Shalimarwildcat |
|
|
|
Vijilante SubAdmin
Joined: 18 Nov 2001 Posts: 5182
|
Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 3:43 pm |
zMud won't expand the list in the pattern automatically. That feature exists in CMud. To do it in zMud you must enter the list directly into the pattern.
|
|
_________________ The only good questions are the ones we have never answered before.
Search the Forums |
|
|
|
MisterDwooD Novice
Joined: 04 Feb 2014 Posts: 42
|
Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 7:54 pm |
Yeah. I test it pretty fully. It seems like it'll trigger on a single word, or multiple single words. But, if the string list contains values that are multiple words, then it doesn't expand it.
So what you're saying is that I need to have the trigger like:
#TRIGGER {{a jeweled wristcuff|a pair of steel-plated greaves|a heron marked blade}} {#CW darkmagenta}
I was just hoping to avoid using the list like that, and just use a variable and then add to the list of the variable.
So that's the only way? No way to trigger off @whatever and have it be full lists of gear?
Thanks! |
|
|
|
shalimar GURU
Joined: 04 Aug 2002 Posts: 4692 Location: Pensacola, FL, USA
|
Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 8:15 pm |
I thought it used to work... bad memory I suppose.
You could upgrade to CMUD, cheaper than a new console game. |
|
_________________ Discord: Shalimarwildcat |
|
|
|
MisterDwooD Novice
Joined: 04 Feb 2014 Posts: 42
|
Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 4:34 am |
Actually, I already bought CMUD. I'm a supporter for sure! I love the Z/C Mud :)
But.. In Cmud, i can't "semi-colon space" and have it go through. That was a mistake in zmud, Mr. Zugg already told me that. So, I'd have to redo my habits, who wants to do that!
And... I've tried converting everything... It was a no go. Now, if you want to try and convert my mud file to CMUD. :) I might take you up on it! But, No way i'm fixing the thousands of lines that need help.
Anyways.
Thanks for your help! Always great hearing from yall grand masters! |
|
|
|
shalimar GURU
Joined: 04 Aug 2002 Posts: 4692 Location: Pensacola, FL, USA
|
Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 6:49 am |
Think of it like this....
Imagine how much more efficient your settings would be knowing what you know now.
Either way, feel free to continue asking question, we can likely help you through all of your growing pains. |
|
_________________ Discord: Shalimarwildcat |
|
|
|
Medakan Novice
Joined: 15 Dec 2015 Posts: 41 Location: Seattle
|
Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 10:24 pm |
MisterDwooD,
That equipment looks like gear from WoTmud...
Might have an idea for a work around, will check something tonight after work |
|
|
|
Edogg Beginner
Joined: 27 Feb 2011 Posts: 17
|
Posted: Sat Feb 20, 2016 4:52 pm |
change your trigger to a regular expression
#CLASS {SubsnColors}
#VAR rankgear {a jeweled wristcuff|a pair of steel-plated greaves|a heron marked blade}
#REGEX {@rankgear} {#CW darkmagenta}
#CLASS 0 |
|
|
|
shalimar GURU
Joined: 04 Aug 2002 Posts: 4692 Location: Pensacola, FL, USA
|
Posted: Sat Feb 20, 2016 5:59 pm |
What is the purpose of sending a semicolon space?
|
|
_________________ Discord: Shalimarwildcat |
|
|
|
MisterDwooD Novice
Joined: 04 Feb 2014 Posts: 42
|
Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2016 4:15 pm |
When i'm entering commands in the command bar is when it mattered to me. Not while writing scripts. For example:
st; not; mw; charge bob
that is not the same as:
st;not;mw;chargebob
One of those does not work, either it requires spaces, or it does not like spaces in cMUD. I addressed Zugg about the issue and he said that it actually an issue in zMUD that let it work both ways.
That's what I meant by what I said. |
|
|
|
shalimar GURU
Joined: 04 Aug 2002 Posts: 4692 Location: Pensacola, FL, USA
|
Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2016 3:56 am |
It works as intended for command separation when no spaces are used.
I believe the other formats were kludged to not be command separation, not sure why, likely because so many games used the semicolon for other purposes and people were resistant to just escaping out the semicolon with a tilde: ~; |
|
_________________ Discord: Shalimarwildcat |
|
|
|
Einder Novice
Joined: 03 Jan 2008 Posts: 48
|
Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 7:06 am |
try
I use a lot of different string lists through variables in my zMud coding, simply because it's easier to add or delete without changing an entire trigger.
Sorry I wasn't able to give you a response sooner, I know this is months later, but sometimes it's better late than never right? |
|
|
|
|
|