Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion
alenor
Newbie


Joined: 20 Jul 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 9:36 am   

Windows 8 (x64)
 
Has anyone gotten CMUD to run in Windows 8 (x64) at all?

I can't get it past the /REGSERVER part of the installer and it actually locks up Windows 8.
Reply with quote
jotun2011
Beginner


Joined: 06 Apr 2012
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2012 4:06 pm   
 
I have also met with the same problem, even with Zmud or Cmud it just stops and freezez my computer at /regserver.
Reply with quote
alenor
Newbie


Joined: 20 Jul 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2012 4:11 pm   
 
i just ended up using a different client since Zugg isn't going to support Windows 8

*grumble*
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 4554
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2012 4:15 pm   
 
you could use teamviewer or some other remote access program to get into the machine running CMUD
_________________
Discord: Shalimar#3679
Reply with quote
jotun2011
Beginner


Joined: 06 Apr 2012
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2012 4:15 pm   
 
Yeah, I did same, it is sad as I been using zmud/cmud since my early days of mudding in 1995
Reply with quote
alenor
Newbie


Joined: 20 Jul 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2012 4:29 pm   
 
its fine. would be easier and faster to just install a vm with windows xp or something on it.
thanks for the reply tho!
Reply with quote
jysmystry
Beginner


Joined: 28 Nov 2012
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 10:31 am   
 
I have been looking into this actually. Cmud will not run on windows 8 with any compatability settings that I have discovered. I am experimenting using windows 8's Hyper-V and if that doesn't work I'll try vmware free or virtual box.

I do not want to move to any other mud client as cmud is the only mud client with any half decent mapping system and of course i have 4000 rooms mapped in my current mus which i clearly do not want to lose.
Reply with quote
charneus
Wizard


Joined: 19 Jun 2005
Posts: 1876
Location: California

PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 10:36 am   
 
I've been running CMUD on Windows 8 Pro with absolutely no issues. Maybe there's a difference between Windows 8 and Windows 8 Pro that's causing a problem? I don't know. All I can say is that CMUD has been running for two weeks straight without any problems. Even on Windows 7, it'd shut down on me every once in a while.

If you're able to get Pro, I suggest doing so. If not, well, I'm at a loss then.
Reply with quote
Daern
Sorcerer


Joined: 15 Apr 2011
Posts: 809

PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 2:58 pm   
 
I forgot about this thread. I'm also running CMUD on Windows 8 Pro with no trouble, but I had installed CMUD years ago, when I was still running Windows 7. It seems like all the Windows 8 problems are with installing CMUD, which I haven't done in Windows 8. I'll try a fresh install when I get a chance.
Reply with quote
charneus
Wizard


Joined: 19 Jun 2005
Posts: 1876
Location: California

PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 7:37 pm   
 
Mine was a fresh install. I have two partitions, one is Windows 7, one is Windows 8. I haven't switched back to Windows 7 at all.
Reply with quote
jysmystry
Beginner


Joined: 28 Nov 2012
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:03 pm   
 
wierd as i'm on windows 8 pro and it always stops about 3 quarters of the way through installation when it tries to register. Did you guys have it installed already and you upgraded your windows 7 to 8 pro rather than apply a clean install and try to install cmud afterwards?
Reply with quote
jysmystry
Beginner


Joined: 28 Nov 2012
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 12:30 am   
 
oh coolio, it works!!

So if you try to install cmud from a clean install it doest work for me but i install windows 7 then install and license cmud then upgrade (rather than clean install) windows 8 cmud works perfectly

woohoo :)))))))
Reply with quote
charneus
Wizard


Joined: 19 Jun 2005
Posts: 1876
Location: California

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 1:00 am   
 
Glad you got it to work for you. That wasn't the route I took, however. I freshly installed Windows 8 Pro, then freshly installed CMUD, and had absolutely no issues whatsoever. But again, glad you got yours to work.
Reply with quote
jotun2011
Beginner


Joined: 06 Apr 2012
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 8:32 pm   
 
I have tried it with windows 8 pro, after the initial updates and found it works when I install CMUD 3 pro
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net