Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion
oxseyn
Wanderer


Joined: 26 Nov 2011
Posts: 71
Location: Colorado Springs

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2012 1:41 am   

Speedwalking is buggy
 
My assumption is that regardless of zones I should simply be able to speedwalk from any room in any zone to any other room in any other zone either by using the vNum or the shortname of the room.

This appears to work for me most of the time when I'm not trying to speedwalk into a room in another zone. However, when I'm trying to speedwalk into a room in another zone it consistently breaks. Sometimes i can walk to a room, but then not back. It just doesn't seem to make any sense and the documentation does not explain to me what I'm experiencing at all.

Help?
Reply with quote
oxseyn
Wanderer


Joined: 26 Nov 2011
Posts: 71
Location: Colorado Springs

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2012 1:50 am   
 
I lied, doesn't even work most of the time in the same zone. From some rooms it does, from other rooms it does not. No idea wtf is happening.
Reply with quote
oxseyn
Wanderer


Joined: 26 Nov 2011
Posts: 71
Location: Colorado Springs

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2012 2:02 am   
 
It seems to work correctly all the time (to rooms in the same zone only) if I right click on another room and select speedwalk to room. I'm not a mouse user though and hate speedwalking this way.
If I select another zone, then right click a room in that other zone and select speedwalk to room it completely bugs out.
Reply with quote
oxseyn
Wanderer


Joined: 26 Nov 2011
Posts: 71
Location: Colorado Springs

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2012 2:20 am   
 
The main room is "the green" and has a short title of "green". If I'm only one room away and type #walk green, it'll move me to the room correctly. However, if I'm more than two room away from the green - it always just sends a single "s" to the mud.
Reply with quote
oxseyn
Wanderer


Joined: 26 Nov 2011
Posts: 71
Location: Colorado Springs

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2012 3:58 am   
 
I created a brand new map and it resolved all the problems. Not sure what happened to my map ... but that sucks, seems like I have to start from scratch now. :/
Reply with quote
bothkill
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Mar 2005
Posts: 125
Location: Bucharest

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2012 5:33 am   
 
My guess is there are duplicate exits and the mapper cannot deal with that case. (i.e. two south exits, one leading to a room, and the other leading to another room or to nowhere.)

I would identify the two rooms (start and destination rooms) where the speedwalk doesn't work, and then check the exits of all the rooms along the path.


Last edited by bothkill on Mon Apr 09, 2012 5:50 pm; edited 1 time in total
Reply with quote
oxseyn
Wanderer


Joined: 26 Nov 2011
Posts: 71
Location: Colorado Springs

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2012 1:16 pm   
 
bothkill wrote:
My guess is there are dupicate exits and the mapper cannot deal with that case. (i.e. two south exits, one leading to a room, and the other leading to another room or to nowhere.)

I would identify the two rooms (start and destination rooms) where the speedwalk doesn't work, and then check the exits of all the rooms along the path.


Thanks. I would try that except I already started rebuilting my map from scratch. I discovered that you can hide all the superfluous zone labels which makes it so I don't have to mangle my grid quite so badly, which is a really nice thing.
If only there was some more fine-grained control over labels built into the client ....
Reply with quote
Rahab
Wizard


Joined: 22 Mar 2007
Posts: 2307

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2012 5:40 pm   
 
I believe that fine-grain control was a part of Zmapper, and would be included in Cmapper once it is made. The client was never intended to have full control of the map details.
Reply with quote
MattLofton
GURU


Joined: 23 Dec 2000
Posts: 4834
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2012 9:02 pm   
 
Your mapfile is corrupted. It very likely can be fixed easily via the repair option in MapConvert, assuming you still have the original mapfile.
_________________
EDIT: I didn't like my old signature
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net