|
tekky Beginner
Joined: 08 Feb 2006 Posts: 25
|
Posted: Sat Jun 04, 2011 4:31 am
View filter option? |
Is the view filter option (not mentioned in the #view command documentation that I found) actually designed to filter data?
I have a DB that has the following columns
who
skill
count
last
and 2 entries
pet1|training|1|1
pet2|training|1|1
if I create 2 views set to Filter on who EQUALS "<petname"> both views show both pets data....
What is missing here? |
|
_________________ -Karl |
|
|
|
Rahab Wizard
Joined: 22 Mar 2007 Posts: 2320
|
Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 3:55 pm |
It filters the _columns_ that are viewed, but not which rows are viewed.
|
|
|
|
tekky Beginner
Joined: 08 Feb 2006 Posts: 25
|
Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:17 am |
Hmm guess my reply didnt get submitted....
Is there a way of filtering rows? Filtering columns seems a bit pointless :( |
|
_________________ -Karl |
|
|
|
shalimar GURU
Joined: 04 Aug 2002 Posts: 4715 Location: Pensacola, FL, USA
|
Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:43 am |
#FORALL @dbVar {#IF (%match(%i, "some pattern")) {#SAY {%i is @dbVar.%i}}}
|
|
_________________ Discord: Shalimarwildcat |
|
|
|
Rahab Wizard
Joined: 22 Mar 2007 Posts: 2320
|
Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 1:16 pm |
He's dealing with the internal database, not database variables. Tekky, you want the %query() function or #QUERY command. Note that both of these apply to a view; that's why defining views is useful. By combining queries with views, you can present any set of rows and columns you want.
|
|
|
|
tekky Beginner
Joined: 08 Feb 2006 Posts: 25
|
Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 3:43 pm |
Rahab,
I'll take a look at that, I think ultimately I'm going to investigate SQLite/Postgres support I saw last night, -- I believe I did play around with %query but could never get the results I expected from it.... Since none of my db's care about different columns, its always large subsets of data based on 1 particular row value in which case views apparently do not provide any added benefit there :( |
|
_________________ -Karl |
|
|
|
Rahab Wizard
Joined: 22 Mar 2007 Posts: 2320
|
Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:29 pm |
Yeah, you'd be using the default view--all columns. But the old database system is definitely clunky, and you'll get a lot more flexibility with SQLite or even Cmud database variables, now that they use json.
|
|
|
|
tekky Beginner
Joined: 08 Feb 2006 Posts: 25
|
Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 8:30 pm |
Rahab wrote: |
Yeah, you'd be using the default view--all columns. But the old database system is definitely clunky, and you'll get a lot more flexibility with SQLite or even Cmud database variables, now that they use json. |
I thought about using DB Vars.... however what I am trying to track has lots of redundancy skills for example, your player learns skills (its useful track progress as you learn) -- you can purcahse pets and train them in some skills... (also useful to know for effective training) so.... my skills var would end up being smoething like
Code: |
@skills
player
skill1
count
lasttime
skill2
count
lastime
pet1
skill1
count
lasttime
skill2
count
lastime
pet2
skill1
count
lasttime
skill2
count
lastime
|
Obviously this is not how it would appear in the var but just a Tree representation of it (and the source of one of my previous questions you answered) -- Actually thinking about that... now that I have that working properly I *could* probably adapt it to this and it be pretty simple...
@skill([who], [skill], [prop]) and @skill([who], [skill], [prop], [value]) to set them...
But having a True database lets me play with the data outside of the Client as well (which I have an idea for aswell.... ) |
|
_________________ -Karl |
|
|
|
|
|