Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD Beta Forum
complex
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 134
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 12:02 am   

[3.29b]Double Clicked map walking errors
 
Intermittently, and for no reason that I can track I have been getting errors when I double click on a room in my map that I want to walk to.

The most recent kicked out this path
s w w s s s s s s s s w w n n n n w w w w w n n n n n n n n n h h h h h h h n n e n n n w w w n n ...

At the part in the path where the h's are my mud client spams attack who? Before you ask I have made sure that I do not have a macro or alias that has h in it, and there is nothing associated with a kill command on the mud that uses h. Also I can recall and run the path a second time and it will work fine. Even when the path does mess up my location icon stops in the room where the attack who spam started, and stays there, though the remainder of the path is in red.

I can not seem to make the bug happen, but I have noticed that it only happens when I double click a room, the rooms are in different zones, and the distance is great. The bug is not isolated to this specific path, and sometimes happens even when I am not at a point where I would be going diagonally. Is there something I can turn on to better track this bug?
_________________
<Clever text here>

Last edited by complex on Sat Sep 25, 2010 5:18 am; edited 1 time in total
Reply with quote
complex
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 134
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 12:31 am   
 
Update: I noticed now when the path is not messed up it is not sending h to the mud, but rather ne.

I have not been able to determine what causes the change in characters, that is certainly what is going on. If I double click on the map to a room in another zone, most of the time the path will come out perfect, however some of the times the path will spit out with l's and j's, rather then se, and ne. I can recall and the problem is gone the next time, or it can happen a few times in a row. Either way restarting cmud always fixes the problem. I have noticed that after the first time the path messes up, it will mess up more often on subsequent double clicks.
_________________
<Clever text here>
Reply with quote
Rahab
Wizard


Joined: 22 Mar 2007
Posts: 2307

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 12:35 pm   
 
Please report what version you are using.
Reply with quote
complex
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 134
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 2:39 pm   
 
I was using 3.28 : Currently I am downloading v3.29 I will re-post if the error continues.
_________________
<Clever text here>
Reply with quote
complex
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 134
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 7:59 pm   
 
Using Version 3.29: The problem is the same as listed above, however now it is constant, for a reason still unknown the auto walk feature triggered by double clicking on the map starts to send l,j,h,k instead of ne,nw,se,sw: I have my map set to fast mode. If I close out of cmud, it will run paths fine for a while, but eventually it will stop. Please let me know if there is anything else I can include to help pinpoint the problem.
_________________
<Clever text here>
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23377
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 8:08 pm   
 
I cannot reproduce this on my MUDs. Check and make sure your English Directions package is enabled and that the DiectionsDiag folder is enabled and has the correct definitions for those directions in it. That is where CMUD gets the conversion from the l,j,h,k speedwalk characters and the corresponding MUD direction commands.

If it still doesn't work, try turning off any scripts or triggers that might be interfering with this. Not sure what else to suggest since it's not happening to me here.
Reply with quote
complex
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 134
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 8:47 pm   
 
I think I have figured it out. when I am in the process of running the path from zone to zone I sometimes will zoom in on the zone I am going to by using the middle mouse wheel (by scrolling up). This time after lkjh started getting sent, I tested scrolling down, and it toggle back from lkjh to ne,nw,se,sw. This only happens during a speed walk, and seems to be a toggle of some type. I have gotten the switch to trigger reliably every time I try to zoom in and zoom out on the map screen during a walk using the middle mouse wheel. I am currently using 3.29a. Hope this helps.
_________________
<Clever text here>
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23377
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 9:01 pm   
 
OK, that is the weirdest thing I have heard. Can anybody else reproduce this? Zooming the map should have no effect at all on the speedwalking...all the zoom scrolling does is redraw the map at a different scale factor.
Reply with quote
complex
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 134
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 9:38 pm   
 
It only happens while the client is spitting out the directions.
_________________
<Clever text here>
Reply with quote
complex
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 134
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 5:30 am   
 
I was wrong, that was not the cause, I am at a loss again. However now this error happens all the time, and it seems to some how be tied to recalling? Anyway Here is a dump from the debugger its a long path so I edited out the middle stuff (its just path running untill the error. The second dump is after the bug as taken affect and I try to run a path. Ever since the last update scrolling up does not toggle "it" off anymore. I did check my Directions package, but I could not find the DiectionsDiag folder. Currently the only way to fix the problem once it states is to restart cmud.

Code:

0.0008 | c  Kingdoms |  [1] KingdomsoftheLost Comline : start :
0.0010 | l  Kingdoms |    Alias "recall" compiled (Normal) : ~recall; #recall;
0.0006 | n  Kingdoms |    Exec Alias "recall"
0.0009 | a  Kingdoms |<3504/3497:Hp 896/896:Move 1727:Tnl !:QT Accurate:Stance> recall
0.0025 | j  Kingdoms >recall
0.0015 | k  Kingdoms |    Loc "siegeon" changed from "6147" to "682"
0.1190 | m  Kingdoms |    Event "onZoneEnter" raised : (%1="68", %2="98", %3="", %4="")
0.0005 | m  Kingdoms |    Event "onRoomWalk" raised : (%1="682", %2="", %3="", %4="")
0.0004 | m  Kingdoms |    Event "onRoomEnter" raised : (%1="682", %2="", %3="", %4="")
0.0130 | d  Kingdoms |  [1] KingdomsoftheLost Comline : stopped
0.1566 | a  Kingdoms |The Intersection of Castle Way and Windar Road
0.0011 | a  Kingdoms |
0.0010 | a  Kingdoms |
0.0009 | a  Kingdoms |[city(very bright): north east south west]
0.0017 | a  Kingdoms |
0.0012 | a  Kingdoms |     A marble fountain is here spouting crystal clear water.
0.0034 | a  Kingdoms |     Some tall roadside torches are here.
0.0013 | a  Kingdoms |
0.0010 | a  Kingdoms ]<3504/3497:Hp 448/896:Move 1727:Tnl !:QT Accurate:Stance>
3.7802 | a  Kingdoms |<3504/3497:Hp 448/896:Move 1727:Tnl !:QT Accurate:Stance> s
0.0026 | j  Kingdoms >s
0.0009 | k  Kingdoms |  Loc "siegeon" changed from "682" to "680"
0.1082 | m  Kingdoms |  Event "onRoomWalk" raised : (%1="680", %2="", %3="", %4="")
0.0005 | m  Kingdoms |  Event "onRoomEnter" raised : (%1="680", %2="", %3="", %4="")
0.0008 | a  Kingdoms |s
0.0011 | j  Kingdoms >s
0.0005 | k  Kingdoms |  Loc "siegeon" changed from "680" to "678"
0.0382 | m  Kingdoms |  Event "onRoomWalk" raised : (%1="678", %2="", %3="", %4="")
0.0005 | m  Kingdoms |  Event "onRoomEnter" raised : (%1="678", %2="", %3="", %4="")
.
.
.
0.0007 | a  Kingdoms |s
0.0007 | j  Kingdoms >s
0.0004 | k  Kingdoms |  Loc "siegeon" changed from "6841" to "6842"
0.0244 | m  Kingdoms |  Event "onRoomWalk" raised : (%1="6842", %2="", %3="", %4="")
0.0004 | m  Kingdoms |  Event "onRoomEnter" raised : (%1="6842", %2="", %3="", %4="")
0.0007 | a  Kingdoms |l
0.0007 | j  Kingdoms >l
0.0007 | a  Kingdoms |l
0.0006 | j  Kingdoms >l
0.0007 | a  Kingdoms |j
0.0006 | j  Kingdoms >j
0.0006 | a  Kingdoms |n
0.0007 | j  Kingdoms >n
0.0004 | k  Kingdoms |  Loc "siegeon" changed from "6842" to "6841"
0.0246 | m  Kingdoms |  Event "onRoomWalk" raised : (%1="6841", %2="", %3="", %4="")
0.0004 | m  Kingdoms |  Event "onRoomEnter" raised : (%1="6841", %2="", %3="", %4="")


After the bug is triggered

Code:

0.0005 | l  Kingdoms |  Trigger "*'That location is in the general area of War.'" compiled (Normal) : #WALK 7289
0.0000 | c  Kingdoms |  exec : Pattern "*'That location is in the general area of War
0.0000 | n  Kingdoms |  Exec Trigger "*'That location is in the general area of War '"
0.0040 | a  Kingdoms |e
0.0000 | j  Kingdoms >e
0.0001 | k  Kingdoms |  Loc "siegeon" changed from "2476" to "2471"
0.0474 | m  Kingdoms |  Event "onRoomWalk" raised : (%1="2471", %2="", %3="", %4="")
0.0000 | m  Kingdoms |  Event "onRoomEnter" raised : (%1="2471", %2="", %3="", %4="")
0.0003 | a  Kingdoms |e
0.0000 | j  Kingdoms >e
0.0000 | k  Kingdoms |  Loc "siegeon" changed from "2471" to "2470"
0.0148 | m  Kingdoms |  Event "onRoomWalk" raised : (%1="2470", %2="", %3="", %4="")
0.0000 | m  Kingdoms |  Event "onRoomEnter" raised : (%1="2470", %2="", %3="", %4="")
0.0003 | a  Kingdoms |e2s
0.0000 | j  Kingdoms >e2s
0.0001 | n  Kingdoms |  Exec Alias "open"
0.0002 | a  Kingdoms |open south
0.0000 | j  Kingdoms >open south
0.0002 | a  Kingdoms |s
0.0000 | j  Kingdoms >s
0.0000 | k  Kingdoms |  Loc "siegeon" changed from "2470" to "2478"
0.0385 | m  Kingdoms |  Event "onRoomWalk" raised : (%1="2478", %2="", %3="", %4="")
0.0000 | m  Kingdoms |  Event "onRoomEnter" raised : (%1="2478", %2="", %3="", %4="")
0.0001 | n  Kingdoms |  Exec Alias "open"
0.0002 | a  Kingdoms |open south
0.0000 | j  Kingdoms >open south
0.0002 | a  Kingdoms |s
0.0000 | j  Kingdoms >s
0.0002 | a  Kingdoms |sw
0.0000 | j  Kingdoms >sw
0.0003 | a  Kingdoms |w2njh2ne2n3en3e4l4e2s2w2s4e
0.0000 | j  Kingdoms >w2njh2ne2n3en3e4l4e2s2w2s4e
0.0000 | g  Kingdoms |-> Line 989 gagged

0.4794 | a  Kingdoms |<3497/3497:Hp 896/896:Move 1727:Tnl 27:QT Accurate:Stance> Why try to escape?  You're not snared.
0.0171 | a  Kingdoms |
0.0004 | a  Kingdoms ]<3497/3497:Hp 896/896:Move 1727:Tnl 27:QT Accurate:Stance>
0.2302 | a  Kingdoms |<3497/3497:Hp 896/896:Move 1727:Tnl 27:QT Accurate:Stance> You can't do that.
0.0032 | a  Kingdoms |
0.0004 | a  Kingdoms ]<3497/3497:Hp 896/896:Move 1727:Tnl 27:QT Accurate:Stance>
0.2625 | a  Kingdoms |<3497/3497:Hp 896/896:Move 1727:Tnl 27:QT Accurate:Stance> The Healer's Home
0.0147 | a  Kingdoms |
_________________
<Clever text here>
Reply with quote
Fizgar
Magician


Joined: 07 Feb 2002
Posts: 333
Location: Central Virginia

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 11:45 am   
 
I got this same error a couple versions ago. Somehow my English Directions package had become corrupted. Deleting your English Directions package then reinstalling from the Library may clear it up it seems to have worked for me. Hope that helps.
_________________
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32-bit
AMD Athlon Dual Core 4400+ 2.31 GHz
3 GB RAM
CMUD 3.34
Reply with quote
complex
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 134
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Sep 26, 2010 10:57 pm   
 
That had no effect :/
_________________
<Clever text here>
Reply with quote
complex
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 134
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 4:22 am   
 
So I am at a complete loss now. Today I spent a good deal of time uninstalling cmud beta, and reinstalling, then creating a completely new map. The problem is exactly the same. There should be no reason for this since no one else seems to have this problem. All I am doing is double clicking a room in another zone to walk to.

I have fast walk on.
I changed speedwalk when double-click on room to 0.
Highlight speedwalk path is enabled.

I have played with all of these settings, but the problem persists.
_________________
<Clever text here>
Reply with quote
Fizgar
Magician


Joined: 07 Feb 2002
Posts: 333
Location: Central Virginia

PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 6:28 am   
 
Sorry my suggestion didn't work. It didn't work for me either really. Earlier, my directions started getting screwed up again too. In my case restarting CMUD will fix the problem till it happens again. I went through the enable/disable scripts deal a week or so ago but had no luck finding any thing in particular that was causing the problem. I'm now on a 100% fresh install of cmud with my package imported from XML seeing if I can figure something out, but it's slow going since I usually have to be connected for a large chunk of time for this to happen in my case.
_________________
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32-bit
AMD Athlon Dual Core 4400+ 2.31 GHz
3 GB RAM
CMUD 3.34
Reply with quote
complex
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 134
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 1:45 pm   
 
No worries, sorry your afflicted by this strange bug as well. I also have cmud installed on a laptop where this problem exists as well, so it must be something else. Do you have sql, (aside from the the cmud release) installed on your system?

Since I only seem to have the problem show up after recalling today I am going to play around with using the maps portal commands rather then #recall.

Yeah that did not do anything.
_________________
<Clever text here>
Reply with quote
complex
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 134
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 4:52 am   
 
I had a four hour session today with out the error popping up once I was using #walk to get around. The first time I recalled it started again. When I recall i type

recall;#recall in the prompt, I have no other alias or triggers that are set for either of those commands.
_________________
<Clever text here>
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD Beta Forum All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net