Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion
cobaltblu
Newbie


Joined: 18 Mar 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 4:56 pm   

CMUD Pro v2.37 Gauges Occasionally Stop Updating when Variable Updates
 
I have four gauge buttons displayed and each tracks a different integer variable and displays a text name next to the integer to show how the integers count down.

To make the variables count down I have either a CMUD alias to use the ability or a trigger on text from the mud...which include a loop which waits one second and then reduces the value of the variable by 1 every second. So when I have all 4 gauges counting down I have 4 loops running on CMUD, each counting down the variables every second in the background.

The problem I have is the gauges occasionally stop updating when the integer variables update. I can click on the gauge buttons and they will then update to show the current value of the integer variable. When I click on the gauge buttons they will update once but do not resume the process of automatically updating when the integer variables are updated. Since I can click on the buttons and they update once I know that the variables are still being counted down.

Any clue what could cause this. Each button has essentially the same code with the exception being the variable they each track. The code is pasted below. Please give me some input.

<button name="CobaltGroveTimer" type="Gauge" variable="@CobaltGroveTimer" autosize="false" width="170" height="23" transparent="false" color="#00FF40" gaugelowcol="red" gaugebackcol="white" priority="1768" id="178">
<caption>"Cobalt Grove Timer" @CobaltGroveTimer</caption>
<expr>@CobaltGroveTimer</expr>
<gaugemax>3600</gaugemax>
<gaugelow>60</gaugelow>
</button>

I thought about trying to add something to automatically click the button every second but I would like a correctly coded gauge which updates on its own and does not occasionally stop.

Since the gauges initially work and then stop working I am thinking I made the button correctly but something with CMUD is getting interrupted.

FYI an example of the aliases to cast an ability and start the countdown is below:

<alias name="VisitCobalt" id="172">
<value>visit cobalt
#ECHO Cobalt Grove Timer Started
#VAR CobaltGroveTimer 3600
#UNTIL (@CobaltGroveTimer = 0) {#WAIT 1000;#MATH CobaltGroveTimer @CobaltGroveTimer-1}
#ECHO You Can Visit Your Grove Again</value>
</alias>

Regards,

Cobaltblu
Reply with quote
MattLofton
GURU


Joined: 23 Dec 2000
Posts: 4834
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 5:25 pm   
 
I believe this was fixed in the beta. For all intents and purposes (ie, the number of bugs fixed), 2.37 is REALLY old and if it weren't for the lack of a new public version you would be encouraged to upgrade.
_________________
EDIT: I didn't like my old signature
Reply with quote
kjaerhus
Magician


Joined: 18 Dec 2006
Posts: 317
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2010 10:55 am   
 
I just downloaded the public version after a long period not playing. I used to use the beta but right now I just want a stable version. What's the point of a stable version if it's not updated?
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23379
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2010 4:29 pm   
 
If I were a big company like Microsoft then maybe I'd have the resources to keep multiple versions updated. But I'm just one person and can only focus on a single version at a time. Critical bug fixes are added to Public versions, but once they are stable, new features and additional bug fixes are only added to the Beta version. The 2.37 version has been frozen for some time and is the last of the v2.x version line.
Reply with quote
kjaerhus
Magician


Joined: 18 Dec 2006
Posts: 317
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2010 9:40 am   
 
Not even as big as Microsoft? Smile

I realize that you need to prioritize so I'm not gonna give you a hard time about it. I think you could come a long way with clever use of a vcs though, but of course there will allways be some overhead.

Keep up the good work - especially on the Simutronics features... Wink
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net