|
nubcake Newbie
Joined: 19 Feb 2010 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 8:35 am
Newbie here, need help linking movements in MUD to show movements in zMAP |
Hi i have some problems trying to understand how to write a script which will link the rooms i move to from the MUD to the MAP. I had obtained a small map of my mud but now i just need to write a script to link the room movements. A basic thing to start me off on my script writing.
As i scoured through the forums i noticed using #COND and #TRIGGERS are the common methods. Could someone help me in this? Maybe post an example of script ?
Thanks in advanced! :) |
|
|
|
MattLofton GURU
Joined: 23 Dec 2000 Posts: 4834 Location: USA
|
Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 5:00 pm |
Triggers are only necessary if the automapper cannot properly detect the info on its own.
|
|
_________________ EDIT: I didn't like my old signature |
|
|
|
nubcake Newbie
Joined: 19 Feb 2010 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Sat Feb 20, 2010 8:12 am |
Yeah the automapper cant seem to detect the info. So what info do i capture from the MUD to link with the map?
|
|
|
|
MattLofton GURU
Joined: 23 Dec 2000 Posts: 4834 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sat Feb 20, 2010 5:13 pm |
I dunno, you tell us. Take a step in any direction, then post everything that happens from the command you just issued until the next prompt. Some games don't provide all the information in one place, so if you want it all then repeat this procedure for every command.
|
|
_________________ EDIT: I didn't like my old signature |
|
|
|
nubcake Newbie
Joined: 19 Feb 2010 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:44 am |
Ok everytime i enter a new room ill see the room name and exits. Here is an example:
On the eastern wallroad.
[Exits: north south]
<804hp 532m 204mv 5063g [On the eastern wallroad.] >
Another problem is that there are some rooms with the same names. How do i overcome this? |
|
|
|
nubcake Newbie
Joined: 19 Feb 2010 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2010 6:20 am |
anyone?
|
|
|
|
Tech GURU
Joined: 18 Oct 2000 Posts: 2733 Location: Atlanta, USA
|
Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2010 7:14 am |
Customizing the mapper for yourself can be very complex, but doesn't have to be. First you'll have to do some reading to become familiar with the way zMUD works.
I'd recommend starting with Automapper Module. It's best to try Configuring the mapper, automatically first, then manually if that fails.
If that doesn't work then you'll have to script it yourself. Improving Room Detection should be a good start, followed by Overriding the Mapper which requires understanding the #TAG command.
There's also an excellent intro to the process by Nexela.
There are several scripts in the forums like this one for example. I'll try to post one of mine, the next time I'm on my other PC. Be warned though, mapper scripts tend to be MUD specific, so it's not always easy to borrow from someone else's without a good understanding of zScript.
As an aside, I would strongly recommend upgrading to CMUD if you can. Not only is it chock full of many new and improved features, it's also what most forum readers are using; so you're likely to get faster responses with a CMUD question. |
|
_________________ Asati di tempari! |
|
|
|
nubcake Newbie
Joined: 19 Feb 2010 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2010 7:36 am |
wow great info! Thanks alot. I'll need awhile to digest all that though. Does zmud map and scripts work the same in CMUD? if it does, ill gladly switch over.
|
|
|
|
Tech GURU
Joined: 18 Oct 2000 Posts: 2733 Location: Atlanta, USA
|
Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2010 7:54 pm |
There are some significant differences, but CMUD was designed with an eye for compatibility with most zMUD scripts. It is more stringent on syntax so there will be some transition challenges.
|
|
_________________ Asati di tempari! |
|
|
|
|
|