Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.  This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.     Home » Forums » TeSSH Discussion
Nezic
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Oct 2000
Posts: 119
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 11:12 pm   

[3.13] Non-alphanumeric characters get stripped out of connection window titles
 
I've noticed that after you create a new Session and then connect with it, any character that isn't a letter/number (parentheses, brackets, dashes, spaces, etc..) get stripped out of the connection window's title bar.


For example, if I have a list of sessions named like:

(SSH) Solaris03-AP1
(SSH) Solaris03-AP1, 7002
(SSH) Solaris03-AP1-APA, 7001
(SSH) Solaris03-AP1-APB, 7001
(SSH) Solaris13-AP2, 7002
(SSH) Solaris13-AP2-APA, 7001
(SSH) Solaris13-AP2-APB, 7001
(Telnet) Solaris03-AP1, 6000
(Telnet) Solaris-boot1
Terminal-Server-1
Terminal-Server-2

(These are hypothetical names, but the connections I really use are similar.)


The connection windows for them end up titled:

SSHSolaris03AP1
SSHSolaris03AP17002
SSHSolaris03AP1APA7001
SSHSolaris03AP1APB7001
SSHSolaris13AP27002
SSHSolaris13AP2APA7001
SSHSolaris13AP2APB7001
TelnetSolaris03AP16000
TelnetSolarisboot1
TerminalServer1
TerminalServer2

Which is a lot trickier to distinguish at a glance;) -- most of the visual cues that separate the meaningfully different parts of the title are gone.

I did find that if I manually right-click on the connection window title and select 'Rename...', it will remember whatever special characters I used the next time I open that connection.
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23377
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 5:26 pm   
 
This is actually the same bug that was causing your IP address to get converted to a window title of just "192". Should be fixed for the next version already. And, as you mentioned, you can always rename a window. In fact, window names can be dynamic and can contain variables.
Reply with quote
Nezic
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Oct 2000
Posts: 119
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 7:05 pm   
 
Quote:
In fact, window names can be dynamic and can contain variables.

Neat!
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23377
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 06, 2010 3:48 am   
 
I just released v3.14, so give it a try. I ran out of time to actually test the kind of window names you mentioned here, so please post if it's still a problem in case the "192" bug didn't fix it.
Reply with quote
Nezic
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Oct 2000
Posts: 119
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Sat Feb 06, 2010 7:05 am   
 
Looks like the same thing happens in 3.14 -- anything except numbers/letters are stripped out.

(Tested on XP instead of Vista this time)
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.     Home » Forums » TeSSH Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted on Wolfpaw.net