|
Lasivian Wanderer
Joined: 25 Jan 2002 Posts: 76 Location: USA
|
Posted: Fri Oct 02, 2009 6:12 pm
Problems importing Zmud scripts into Cmud test install |
I tried the free version of cmud today (Long time owner of zmud) and yes, i'm a terrible coder. And I suppose this is more of a rant than anything, but if you want me to pay for your product you should probably hear what I have to say.
Zmud was very forgiving, but what made it really hard is cmud does not suggest how simple issues should be fixed, it just says "Does not compile" and you are left to sort out what is wrong yourself.
One maddening thing was I defined variables with:
@variable = false or
@variable = true
This made good logical sense to me but it fails in cmud, no suggestions, no idea what it should be, no help link to explain what I screwed up, just "Does not compile : illegal token: = true at row 0 col 15". So i'm left not knowing really what it should be in cmud
(Do I remove the = sign? Does it think i'm trying to define it as a string? Does it hate the @ character? Your help files are extensive, but for a person like me that is not good with code in the first place it's incredibly unclear.)
Or another example is:
<> immediate expansion syntax no longer used [Help] : <@a1>
Ok, then how about cmud remove it? Why would it leave it there for me to take out by hand?
It also means that several hundred times where I used this type of variable need to be gone through by hand, one, by, one, by one.
This is a good way to keep me using Zmud. Perhaps this is unfair of me but I expect better from a product that is asking for my money in a sea of free alternatives when their previous product that I bought is meeting most of my existing needs.
Thanks |
|
|
|
Tech GURU
Joined: 18 Oct 2000 Posts: 2733 Location: Atlanta, USA
|
Posted: Fri Oct 02, 2009 8:27 pm |
My friend, you need to become familiar with a wonderful tool in CMUd called the Compatibility Report. Open the settings editor (Ctrl-G) then go to File -> Compatibility Report. I would also strongly recommend reading the Changes for zMUD users in the documentation.
|
|
_________________ Asati di tempari! |
|
|
|
Lasivian Wanderer
Joined: 25 Jan 2002 Posts: 76 Location: USA
|
Posted: Fri Oct 02, 2009 9:54 pm |
The compatibility report is what i'm talking about. That is where it listed:
"Does not compile : illegal token: = true at row 0 col 15" with no details, etc. |
|
|
|
Tech GURU
Joined: 18 Oct 2000 Posts: 2733 Location: Atlanta, USA
|
Posted: Fri Oct 02, 2009 10:47 pm |
Read the changes for zMud users. It details a lot of the major changes.
As for variable declaration the proper is
Code: |
variable = false
variable = true |
You only use the @ sign when you're referencing the variable value. |
|
_________________ Asati di tempari! |
|
|
|
Lasivian Wanderer
Joined: 25 Jan 2002 Posts: 76 Location: USA
|
Posted: Fri Oct 02, 2009 10:55 pm |
Tech wrote: |
Read the changes for zMud users. It details a lot of the major changes.
As for variable declaration the proper is
Code: |
variable = false
variable = true |
You only use the @ sign when you're referencing the variable value. |
Yes, you are completely correct.
What i'm saying is that perhaps Cmud should be making these simple changes automatically. Or making details of what is wrong clearer. |
|
|
|
charneus Wizard
Joined: 19 Jun 2005 Posts: 1876 Location: California
|
Posted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 2:17 am |
The reason CMUD doesn't make these changes automatically is because sometimes, it's intended for a reason. If CMUD changed everything automatically, then scripts can be screwed up. What if you really wanted your script to say "%2" and not actually return the parameter? The compatibility report returns that quotes are no longer needed around parameters.
The report also makes it easier to just click on the setting and fix it manually if you want to fix it.
Charneus |
|
|
|
Lasivian Wanderer
Joined: 25 Jan 2002 Posts: 76 Location: USA
|
Posted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 5:48 pm |
charneus wrote: |
The reason CMUD doesn't make these changes automatically is because sometimes, it's intended for a reason. If CMUD changed everything automatically, then scripts can be screwed up. What if you really wanted your script to say "%2" and not actually return the parameter? The compatibility report returns that quotes are no longer needed around parameters.
The report also makes it easier to just click on the setting and fix it manually if you want to fix it.
Charneus |
Yes, rather I want a checkbox, or an option for cmud to convert scripts as needed, and if they fail, they fail. This wouldn't be bad since they are failing now.
I figured it was worth mentioning this because i'm ready to buy cmud but this is a dealbreaker because i'm not a very good coder. I hoped I was missing some setting or option to accomplish this.
That's all. |
|
|
|
Rahab Wizard
Joined: 22 Mar 2007 Posts: 2320
|
Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 8:26 pm |
It's not really feasible. There are too many possible things to be corrected, in too many ways. It really is not possible to have the software automatically fix the errors--even a checkbox requires an automated fix, and that simply does not give enough flexibility. Zmud unfortunately allowed some really really bad coding practices that cannot be easily converted to Cmud in an automated fashion.
|
|
|
|
|
|