|
wrym Magician
Joined: 06 Jul 2007 Posts: 349 Location: The big palace, My own lil world
|
Posted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 8:49 am
multi-state button menu alignment |
1) From blank session paste the following code into the xml view
Code: |
<button type="Multistate" autopos="false" left="-2" toolbar="0" priority="10" id="1">
<caption>test</caption>
<button id="2">
<caption>really long button substate</caption>
</button>
<button id="3">
<caption>other state</caption>
</button>
</button> |
2) save
3) click the button down arrow, notice how the menu appears to left not below the button
4) from command line "#makew test"
5) dock test window to right of Cmud
6) click the button down arrow,notice how the menu appears to float over into the test window
nothing serious, but... odd |
|
_________________ "To the engineer, all matter in the universe can be placed into one of two categories: (1) things that need to be fixed, and (2) things that will need to be fixed after you've had a few minutes to play with them" - Scott Adams, The Dilbert Principle |
|
|
|
Tech GURU
Joined: 18 Oct 2000 Posts: 2733 Location: Atlanta, USA
|
Posted: Thu Jun 04, 2009 1:09 pm |
I don't find it odd at all, that's teh behavior I would expect and I'm fairly certain that was done by design.
In the first scenario, step 3, you are flush against the right edge of the screen and not enough room to display the menu so it's displayed to the left. I'm pretty sure this is a standard.
In the second scenario, step 6, you are no longer flush against the right edge of the screen, so there's room to display and you wouldn't want the child window to obscure the menu display. |
|
_________________ Asati di tempari! |
|
|
|
Zugg MASTER
Joined: 25 Sep 2000 Posts: 23379 Location: Colorado, USA
|
Posted: Thu Jun 04, 2009 5:23 pm |
Yep, that's just the standard way in which Windows displays menus. It's not even something I have control over myself without getting into the low-level guts of the menu system. So it's not going to change.
|
|
|
|
wrym Magician
Joined: 06 Jul 2007 Posts: 349 Location: The big palace, My own lil world
|
Posted: Thu Jun 04, 2009 11:37 pm |
I wondered if that was part of the default windows behavior... I still find it...odd.
I guess I was expecting the right side of the button and menu to line up in both cases, instead of the two different behaviors you see. |
|
_________________ "To the engineer, all matter in the universe can be placed into one of two categories: (1) things that need to be fixed, and (2) things that will need to be fixed after you've had a few minutes to play with them" - Scott Adams, The Dilbert Principle |
|
|
|
|
|