Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD Beta Forum
Anaristos
Sorcerer


Joined: 17 Jul 2007
Posts: 821
Location: California

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 3:01 am   

[303aB] %roomcost and %roomkind doing nothing
 
I am trying to set the room to DO NOT ENTER. According to the documentation one uses
Code:
#CALL %roomkind(vNUM,128)

This does nothing, as far as I can tell. The flag does not appear set in the Properties box. Also, if I set the flag manually
Code:
#CALL %roomcost(vNUM,0)

does not reset it. It does not set the cost of the room to 0 either.
So I am either misreading the documentation or there is a bug.
_________________
Sic itur ad astra.
Reply with quote
Tech
GURU


Joined: 18 Oct 2000
Posts: 2733
Location: Atlanta, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 8:16 am   
 
I was not able to recreate this. The both work as expected. Remember that vNUM is not a literal string but really a reference to whatever your room ID is, for example
Code:
 #CALL %roomkind(20,128)

or omitting the vNUM altogether to work on the currently selected room of the mapper.
Code:
 #CALL %roomkind(,128)


Also make sure you mapper is not locked. You can do so programmatically by
Code:
#CALL %maplocked(0)


One bug(?) is that if you've programmatically set a room to do not enter by setting it's room kinds to 128
Code:
#CALL %roomkind(,128)

setting it back to 0 does not remove the property.
Code:
#CALL %roomkind(,0)

To remove the property you have to set the room cost back to a non-negative value.
Code:
#CALL %roomcost(,0)

I believe this is partly because setting the roomkind to 128 (the CMUD default for Do Not Enter) it also sets the roomcost to (-1).
_________________
Asati di tempari!
Reply with quote
Anaristos
Sorcerer


Joined: 17 Jul 2007
Posts: 821
Location: California

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 9:04 am   
 
Yes, that seems to be the problem. I did find that the room cost was set to -1, but expected that the call to %roomcost would fix that. Apparently it doesn't. So I will do as you suggest and set the value to 0 or 1, manually. My problem was not in setting the room value. It was in allowing the room to be entered again that I found the problem. This should fix it.
Maybe the documentation should be updated or this item added to the bug list.
_________________
Sic itur ad astra.
Reply with quote
Tech
GURU


Joined: 18 Oct 2000
Posts: 2733
Location: Atlanta, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 9:15 am   
 
I submitted a bug report on this. I'll wait for Zugg to weigh in (on whether it's a bug) before I update the documentation.
_________________
Asati di tempari!
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23379
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 5:41 pm   
 
Added to bug list.
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD Beta Forum All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net