Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion
chamenas
Wizard


Joined: 26 Mar 2008
Posts: 1547

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 2:20 pm   

Variable Name Showing in Status Bar
 
All of a sudden, for no explicable reason, the variable name Next_Quest began to show up in my status bar as opposed to the value. It had been working before, and now it doesn't. I would try and debug, but I'm not sure which of my more recent changes could have affected it.

Here it is:
Code:

<stat name="Next Quest" priority="2490" id="249">
  <value>  Next Quest: ~[ @NextQuest ~]</value>
</stat>


Here is the variable:
Code:
<var name="NextQuest" type="Integer" id="17">Test</var>


And here is a new alias that might have some relationship, though for reasons unknown to me if it does:
Code:

<alias name="next" id="241">
  <value>$Next_Page=@curr_page+1
read @curr_book page $Next_Page
#show You flip forward to page $Next_Page</value>
</alias>
_________________
Listen to my Guitar - If you like it, listen to more
Reply with quote
Qaiia
Wanderer


Joined: 06 Apr 2007
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 3:03 pm   
 
How are you setting the @NextQuest variable?

Edit: Waaaiiiit... it's a variable of type integer but you're assigning a string value ("Test") to it? That doesn't seem like it will work.
_________________
Citrus: The Juicy Alternative
Reply with quote
chamenas
Wizard


Joined: 26 Mar 2008
Posts: 1547

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 7:26 pm   
 
It shouldn't be set to "test", that was me dicking around with it. Normally it has an integer and it had the integer of 0 before I put test in.

Code:

<trigger name="Set Timer" priority="750" regex="true" id="75">
  <pattern>^Timer now at 41 secs.$</pattern>
  <value>#IF (@Quest="off")
{
 #IF (@NextQuest<10)
 {
  NextQuest=@NextQuest+1
 }
}</value>
</trigger>


That is how it is set and changed.

Edit:
Took test back out:
Code:

<var name="NextQuest" type="Integer" id="17">0</var>


Problem remains.
_________________
Listen to my Guitar - If you like it, listen to more
Reply with quote
gamma_ray
Magician


Joined: 17 Apr 2005
Posts: 496

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 9:07 pm   
 
Check the scope (make sure the variable is in the same package or in one that can be seen by your status bar)?

Is the variable showing up with blue underline in the script editor for your status bar?
Reply with quote
chamenas
Wizard


Joined: 26 Mar 2008
Posts: 1547

PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2009 3:16 am   
 
The variable is in the session package. The status indicator is in the general package. It's worked before, however, so I'm not sure why it wouldn't now.
_________________
Listen to my Guitar - If you like it, listen to more
Reply with quote
chamenas
Wizard


Joined: 26 Mar 2008
Posts: 1547

PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2009 12:27 pm   
 
Should that be a problem?
_________________
Listen to my Guitar - If you like it, listen to more
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net