Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion
zzyzzyzzx
Beginner


Joined: 24 Oct 2006
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 12:40 pm   

quick alias help
 
im trying to use a %yesno function to update an alias i have as i know i could not use #edit i tryed making another alias to edit the speedwalk alias but it was not working, any suggestions?
Reply with quote
Fang Xianfu
GURU


Joined: 26 Jan 2004
Posts: 5155
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 1:33 pm   
 
Show us the code you're using, explain what it is you want it to do and what part of that it's not doing properly. At the moment, we don't really have enough information to help you.
_________________
Rorso's syntax colouriser.

- Happy bunny is happy! (1/25)
Reply with quote
Vijilante
SubAdmin


Joined: 18 Nov 2001
Posts: 5182

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 1:35 pm   
 
I can't really follow your description of how you are trying to do something. Also that how doesn't sound like the best method.

Perhaps if you give a detailed explanation of what you want to do we can provide a method of doing it.
_________________
The only good questions are the ones we have never answered before.
Search the Forums
Reply with quote
zzyzzyzzx
Beginner


Joined: 24 Oct 2006
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 1:50 pm   
 
this is the code im using

%if( ( @mypotionlevel)>=143, %yesno( "runto seekers/study aid", runtotest1)) ... im just using it to try to test.
the var myporionlevel is just my level

runtotest1 is an alias i have that im trying to use to set up another alias that has a speedwalk to where i buy my potions
home;run nwsews, im doing it this way because im going to set up if functions for each of the diffrent level potions
Reply with quote
Vijilante
SubAdmin


Joined: 18 Nov 2001
Posts: 5182

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 2:05 pm   
 
Ah. It looks like the problem you are having is the command and function divide. Functions return values, commands preform actions. Since you want to preform an alias you should be using commands.
Code:
#IF (@mypotionlevel>=143) {
 #YESNO "runto seekers/study aid" {runtotest1}
}
_________________
The only good questions are the ones we have never answered before.
Search the Forums
Reply with quote
zzyzzyzzx
Beginner


Joined: 24 Oct 2006
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 2:11 pm   
 
it works fine but my alias even if i type it
runtotest1 wont change the other alias that is my final goal, i tryed to set runtotest1 to #edit aliastest1 say test
but it will not change the value
Reply with quote
Vijilante
SubAdmin


Joined: 18 Nov 2001
Posts: 5182

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 2:53 pm   
 
#EDIT isn't a valid command. If you want to create or change the definition of an alias the correct command would be #ALIAS.

Why do you think you need to have one alias redefine another? I still don't quite understand what it is your trying to do.
_________________
The only good questions are the ones we have never answered before.
Search the Forums
Reply with quote
ralgith
Sorcerer


Joined: 13 Jan 2006
Posts: 715

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 3:06 pm   
 
Instead you should assign your path to a variable and then change the value of the variable. Or simply have to different aliases one that fires on a Yes and one that fire on a No.

Always remember KISS
Keep
It
Simple
Stupid

Not trying to be offensive, I tell myself to KISS all the time, usually after banging my head against the wall for an hour on a problem I've overcomplicated, which is what you've done here.
_________________
CrossOver: Windows Compatibility on Mac and Linux CMUD Advocate
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net