|
Shompol Beginner
Joined: 24 Aug 2008 Posts: 16 Location: NYC
|
Posted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 4:03 pm
Mapper fails to identify room name, need a workaround |
Hello, I am trying to use CMUD on MUME. The mapper feature is paramount for me. This is what happens:
Config -> Reconfigure -> Go South and captute mud response in 1 seconds -> Next
Quote: |
*[>s
At the Sign of the Prancing Pony
A large fountain, made from grey stone, pours water from its centre.
There is an old street-lamp on the border of the street.
A guard of Bree stands here.
Exits: north, east, south, west.
|
-> V Room Name
V Room Exits
Room name in blue: "At the Sign of the Prancing Pony"
Room exits in Red: "north, east, south, west"
Correct!!!!! ----> FINISH. But this is what happens when I step in the next room:
Quote: |
*#>e
Stables of the Prancing Pony Inn
A large torch lies here among the dust.
Bob the hobbit stable-lad is standing here, smiling happily.
A guard of Bree stands here.
Exits: west.
|
right click on map -> Room Properties
ID 95: A guard of Bree stands here.
Now I tried to toggle Settings:
Name pararaph 0
Name start line 0 - looks correct, changing it does not help
This is either a bug or it simply does not work the way I need.
Now, I need a workaround.
1. make it read first line of paragraph, as it is set in the Config Settings
- or -
2. room color is translated in color using an escape secuence. If i can teach it to pick up that escape sequence would be great
- or -
3. the really complex alternative: MUME supports some home-made XML tags, but not MXP. I found a post about it "http://forums.zuggsoft.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=136338" but the link it refers to is dead.
Thank you in advance
- Shompol |
|
|
|
Vijilante SubAdmin
Joined: 18 Nov 2001 Posts: 5182
|
Posted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 2:45 am |
I would suggest start by adjusting the exit information so that it knows "Exits:" is the start of the exit line. Then reconfigure. My experience is that it will detect the exits as paragraph 1 line 0 and the name as paragraph 0 line 0 during that reconfiguration, and it will work that way.
|
|
_________________ The only good questions are the ones we have never answered before.
Search the Forums |
|
|
|
Shompol Beginner
Joined: 24 Aug 2008 Posts: 16 Location: NYC
|
Posted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 4:05 am more about the problem |
Yes, I tried to reconfigure both prompt and exits, and both work wonderfully, but the room name is almost always wrong.
- when there is only 2 lines: name and exits mapper works correctly.
- when there is many lines it takes some arbitrary line as #0. Such as in this paragraph:
Quote: |
*#>n
Northern Bree Hill
A map has been dropped here.
A map of Bree lies here.
A map of Fornost lies here.
A guard of Bree stands here.
Exits: north, [east], south, [west]. |
I tried to map this with different Name Start Line setting:
A map of Bree lies here. is line #0
A map of Fornost lies here. is line #1
A guard of Bree stands here. is line #3
Unfortunately it is impossible to set "Northern Bree Hill" as room name because that would be a line # -2, an illegal value
Also, it appears that lines are counted from the beginning of paragraph rather than end, because when "guard of Bree" entered room it did not change the fact that
A map of Bree lies here. is line #0
|
|
|
|
Rainchild Wizard
Joined: 10 Oct 2000 Posts: 1551 Location: Australia
|
Posted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 5:02 am |
Have you made #TAG triggers?
|
|
|
|
Shompol Beginner
Joined: 24 Aug 2008 Posts: 16 Location: NYC
|
Posted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 5:39 am workaround found |
I checked "room description", while there is no room description, but all the items/characters listed in the room can pose as one. THe mapper seems to perform
basic operations correctly now.
Yes, I have one #TAG for promt, i think it was auto-generated by cmud. |
|
|
|
Rainchild Wizard
Joined: 10 Oct 2000 Posts: 1551 Location: Australia
|
Posted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 5:42 am |
You should be able to #TAG the exits and #TAG the room name as well, if you build the triggers yourself.
|
|
|
|
Shompol Beginner
Joined: 24 Aug 2008 Posts: 16 Location: NYC
|
Posted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 9:45 pm |
Yes, just checked the #TAG manual, bit I am a little weak on how to pattern match the room name, which could be anything.
Unless I could set it to trigger for YELLOW text. I tried to match the TERM escape sequence "[33m" but trigger does not see it.
Maybe it is possible to set a trigger for the first (2nd, etc) line in paragraph?
Thanx |
|
|
|
Arminas Wizard
Joined: 11 Jul 2002 Posts: 1265 Location: USA
|
Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 1:01 am |
You need to make an ANSI trigger with %e[33m for the Term escape sequence... Or color code as most of us like to call it.
|
|
_________________ Arminas, The Invisible horseman
Windows 7 Pro 32 bit
AMD 64 X2 2.51 Dual Core, 2 GB of Ram |
|
|
|
Shompol Beginner
Joined: 24 Aug 2008 Posts: 16 Location: NYC
|
Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 6:13 am |
I created the following triggers:
Code: |
<pattern>%e[33m*</pattern> <value>#tag name</value>
<pattern>^*></pattern> <value>#tag prompt</value>
<pattern>^The (%w) seems to be closed.</pattern> <value>#DOOR %lastdir() %1;#NODIR</value>
<pattern>^Exits:*</pattern><value>#tag exit;#ok</value> |
This way I managed to avoid saving random things walking around as room description. However, it seems that despite me raising trigger #tag name, cmud also looks for names on it's own:
Quote: |
!#>w
Ranger Guild
Exits: east, [south].
!#>s
The silkcurtains seem to be closed. |
Guess what, it created a room with no exits called "The silkcurtains seem to be closed", even though my trigger did not match it as name but matched it as #nodir.
Also it takes it as long as a minute to add new room, something is woefully wrong. |
|
|
|
Progonoi Magician
Joined: 28 Jan 2007 Posts: 430
|
Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 1:08 pm |
I'm taking a shot in the dark here but considering your quote from your MUD, you may have the prompt tag wrong.
Shouldn't it be
Code: |
#trigger {^~!~#~>} {#tag prompt}
|
instead?
I have never used tag triggers myself so I'm unsure if you should also tick the option of trigger being a prompt one. |
|
_________________ The Proud new owner of CMud.
--------------------------------
Intel Core i5-650 3,2GHz
4 DD3 RAM
GTX 460 768MB
Win 7 Home Premium 64x
-------------------------------- |
|
|
|
Shompol Beginner
Joined: 24 Aug 2008 Posts: 16 Location: NYC
|
Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 2:48 pm |
No, it shouldn't. It's a dynamic prompt and everything except '>' changes. {^*>} is perfect
|
|
|
|
Progonoi Magician
Joined: 28 Jan 2007 Posts: 430
|
Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 3:39 pm |
Nods, my bad. I didn't notice ">" in your last post.
EDIT: Scratch that. I'm totally out of it today... |
|
_________________ The Proud new owner of CMud.
--------------------------------
Intel Core i5-650 3,2GHz
4 DD3 RAM
GTX 460 768MB
Win 7 Home Premium 64x
-------------------------------- |
|
|
|
|
|