|
dogotemn Beginner
Joined: 05 Jul 2007 Posts: 21
|
Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:02 am
#GAG flicker |
i have a script that throws an automap into its own window then gags it from the main. also with this i have a script doing the same to the prompt. i notice any sort of movement or update on the main screen results in the correct output but with a momentary flicker of the screen at the same time. is there anything in particular that causes this or otherwise removes it? thx.
|
|
|
|
Fang Xianfu GURU
Joined: 26 Jan 2004 Posts: 5155 Location: United Kingdom
|
Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:11 am |
Which version of CMUD are you using? I believe this was a bug in a previous version of CMUD and is supposed to be fixed.
|
|
|
|
dogotemn Beginner
Joined: 05 Jul 2007 Posts: 21
|
Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:23 am |
2.18
|
|
|
|
Zugg MASTER
Joined: 25 Sep 2000 Posts: 23379 Location: Colorado, USA
|
Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:42 pm |
You'll need to show us the exact scripts that you are using. CMUD 2.18 shouldn't be causing any flicker with #GAG and I use #GAG extensively on Aardwolf to capture and gag their ASCII map and put it into another window. I don't see any flicker at all on my system with this.
|
|
|
|
ralgith Sorcerer
Joined: 13 Jan 2006 Posts: 715
|
Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 3:27 am |
Zugg, I've seen this before in both CMUD and zMUD on machines that are slow and/or RAM limited. For instance using zMUD 6.16 on a PII 233 MHz with only 32 MB RAM ;)
Just a possibility, but I've not seen it in CMUDs 2.xx versions at all, ONLY in the 1.x tree. |
|
_________________ CrossOver: Windows Compatibility on Mac and Linux CMUD Advocate |
|
|
|
Zugg MASTER
Joined: 25 Sep 2000 Posts: 23379 Location: Colorado, USA
|
Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 5:44 pm |
Yes, this definitely happened in both zMUD and in the 1.x versions of CMUD. But it was fixed in one of the 2.x beta versions, which is why I mentioned that it shouldn't be happening anymore in v2.18.
|
|
|
|
ralgith Sorcerer
Joined: 13 Jan 2006 Posts: 715
|
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 3:12 am |
Would be useful to get a debug dump on this?
For dogotem that means do #DEBUG then whatever mud command you use to bring up the gagged text.
Also JIC (Just In Case), please post your system stats. (CPU Speed, Amount of RAM, OS, and Video Card with driver version) |
|
_________________ CrossOver: Windows Compatibility on Mac and Linux CMUD Advocate |
|
|
|
Zugg MASTER
Joined: 25 Sep 2000 Posts: 23379 Location: Colorado, USA
|
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 8:40 pm |
Keep in mind that the debug capture command in v2.18 is #DEBUGFILE and not just #DEBUG.
|
|
|
|
dogotemn Beginner
Joined: 05 Jul 2007 Posts: 21
|
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 11:14 pm |
i tracked this down. it seemed that in my prompt gagging i had an extra #gag -1 to catch the line prior to it. removing this eliminated the flicker altogether.. but now I wonder this: having a 2 second interval #sendraw %cr creates an extra space. the actual prompt is gagged. how do i gag this type of space w/o gagging all blank lines?
|
|
|
|
Guinn Wizard
Joined: 03 Mar 2001 Posts: 1127 Location: London
|
Posted: Sun Jan 13, 2008 2:35 pm |
The following makes the text flicker, using #GAG -1
Code: |
#TR {^(*)$something.$} {#GAG
#GAG -1
#SHOW {blah}}
#ALIAS test {#LOOP 50 {
#say "test123 test123 test123 test123 test123 test123 test123 test123"%cr"something."
}} |
|
|
_________________ CMUD Pro, Windows Vista x64
Core2 Q6600, 4GB RAM, GeForce 8800GT
Because you need it for text... ;) |
|
|
|
|
|