|
haiku Wanderer
Joined: 19 Nov 2004 Posts: 70
|
Posted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 1:03 am
tick timer not looping |
couldn't find anything about it in this through a cursory search, but here's something I do frequently for all my cure triggers:
The trigger goes off and calls the alias.
Code: |
#IF (@InCombat = 0) {gr
#TI 1 {gr}
#TS 1
#VAR InCombat 1} {} |
the group command goes off. But the tick timer does not. I get the message tick timer enabled, but it stops at 0 and doesn't execute the commands, much less restart.
The same thing happens with or without braces, so
has the same effect |
|
|
|
haiku Wanderer
Joined: 19 Nov 2004 Posts: 70
|
Posted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 1:23 am |
soryr, that's 2.11 beta again.
|
|
|
|
Vijilante SubAdmin
Joined: 18 Nov 2001 Posts: 5182
|
Posted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 1:53 am |
First off, Haiku, why are you using the tick timer for this? It was never meant for such a use and its usage is also completely outdated. You should be using an alarm for your particulars.
Second I am seeing a variation in #TIMER from the documentation that might indicate a compatibility issue. The specifics of which are from the untitled session enter at the command line
The countdown will proceed to the 'margin' mentioned in the help(doesn't show in the flyout reference), then the 'tick in' message will display followed by the "gr" command. The documentation indicates that the command occurs at 0 instead of the 'margin' point.
Using Haiku's tests it would appear that when the timer is enabled with a remaining time of 0 or when when the timer is set with #TSET 1 or #TSET 0 the timer will never complete and restart. I think the last 2 there are fair indications that an alarm is required. The first, enabling the timer in the last second, while difficult is a problem. |
|
_________________ The only good questions are the ones we have never answered before.
Search the Forums |
|
|
|
haiku Wanderer
Joined: 19 Nov 2004 Posts: 70
|
Posted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 3:45 am |
Ok, well, when I'm in combat, I need to monitor my group's hit points since I'm the cleric. the group command gives output like this:
Code: |
Leader: Vlad
Hits Energy Moves Exp
---- ------ ----- ---
[ 72 Cle Ogr ] Vlad 912/912 1176/1176 199/199 84965175
|
I then use that to calculate who needs cures. I'll take a look into the alarm function, or whatever it is.
The cure for the problem was to turn off the timeout margin in the tick timer dialog box (which, incidently, I think would be nice to be able to do from the command line).
Apparently that setting didn't import when I imported from xml.
Know of any good examples of ALARM? |
|
|
|
Tech GURU
Joined: 18 Oct 2000 Posts: 2733 Location: Atlanta, USA
|
Posted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 4:01 am |
All you need can be found here. #ALARM
You probably want something like
Code: |
#ALARM grpChk {+1} {gr} |
It creates an alarm that will fire every second. You'll want to disable after you create.
Code: |
#IF (@InCombat = 0) {gr
#T+ grpChk;
#VAR InCombat 1} {} |
This will enable the alarm when you begin combat. And whenever you know your done with combat you do this.
|
|
_________________ Asati di tempari! |
|
|
|
Arminas Wizard
Joined: 11 Jul 2002 Posts: 1265 Location: USA
|
Posted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 4:13 am |
#Alarm "example" *5 {#say I will fire every Five seconds} //This creates an Alarm that does not delete itself after it fires.
#Alarm "example" +5 {#say I will fire once in Five seconds} //This creates an Alarm that deletes itself after it fires.
#T- example //This turns off the Alarm without showing you anything on the screen.
#T+ example //This turns on the Alarm without showing you anything on the screen. When the Alarm is turned back on the time has been reset.
#suspend example //This pauses the Alarm. Time left on the Alarm is saved.
#resume example //This resumes the Alarm. Time starts off from the pause point.
Note that I NAMED these alarms you don't have to do this but it helps with management.
Heh, Ninja'd by Tech. |
|
_________________ Arminas, The Invisible horseman
Windows 7 Pro 32 bit
AMD 64 X2 2.51 Dual Core, 2 GB of Ram |
|
|
|
Arminas Wizard
Joined: 11 Jul 2002 Posts: 1265 Location: USA
|
Posted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 4:15 am |
Note at some point that I missed suspend and resume were changed.
They USED to tell you that they were suspending or resuming the Alarm. I like the change. |
|
_________________ Arminas, The Invisible horseman
Windows 7 Pro 32 bit
AMD 64 X2 2.51 Dual Core, 2 GB of Ram |
|
|
|
Fang Xianfu GURU
Joined: 26 Jan 2004 Posts: 5155 Location: United Kingdom
|
Posted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 10:36 am |
Tech wrote: |
Code: |
#ALARM grpChk {+1} {gr} |
It creates an alarm that will fire every second. |
Tech means
Code: |
#ALARM grpChk {1} {gr} |
|
|
|
|
Tech GURU
Joined: 18 Oct 2000 Posts: 2733 Location: Atlanta, USA
|
Posted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 1:17 pm |
Yep, that's what I get for copy and pasting my examples.
|
|
_________________ Asati di tempari! |
|
|
|
Zugg MASTER
Joined: 25 Sep 2000 Posts: 23379 Location: Colorado, USA
|
Posted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 6:17 pm |
Quote: |
The countdown will proceed to the 'margin' mentioned in the help(doesn't show in the flyout reference), then the 'tick in' message will display followed by the "gr" command. The documentation indicates that the command occurs at 0 instead of the 'margin' point. |
If the documentation says that, then I'll update it. The Tick Timer command occurs at the "margin" and *not* at zero. This is how it worked in zMUD and is maintained for compatibility.
While I completely agree that haiku should be using an #alarm instead of the tick timer, I do not find any problem with the tick timer in v2.11. |
|
|
|
|
|