|
Azerack Beginner
Joined: 05 Nov 2007 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 9:24 pm
How do I make the layout of the status window? |
Hi.
I just bought Cmud (yay!) and I'm wondering how I can make a decent layout on the status window.
Is there any way to do that? I found the help info on #STWIN rather lacking.. as well as #STATUS.
Basically I'd like something like this:
Code: |
Player: @playername
Time played: X days X minutes
--------------Spells-------------------
You are affected by these spells:
(different spell names here, can I trigger show on/off or something?)
------------Improvements-----------
Spells: @spellimproves (just the amount)
Skills: @skillimproves (same here)
---------------Kill Log----------------
Giants: @giants | Kobolds: @kobolds
Trolls: @trolls | Orcs: @orcs
---------------------------------------
|
The kill log just has number variables for each type of foe.
When I trigger a kill, its typical that the foe has 2 adjectives, plus gender and race. So a typical kill would be:
"You killed the knob-faced ugly male orc."
I pray to thee gurus to help me. :) |
|
|
|
Vijilante SubAdmin
Joined: 18 Nov 2001 Posts: 5182
|
Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 10:16 pm |
I actually wouldn't suggest the status window for that entire list of things. The reason being is that anytime 1 variable used in the drawing of the window is changed the whole window has to be refigured. I would suggest using buttons. You can put the text and variable you want to display in the caption of the button, then using size and position factors you can make a layout that suits you. By using multiple buttons for different parts of the display only small portions of the total display has to be recalculated and redrawn when a value changes.
|
|
_________________ The only good questions are the ones we have never answered before.
Search the Forums |
|
|
|
Azerack Beginner
Joined: 05 Nov 2007 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 10:32 pm |
Ok, some questions pop into my head about this though.
- What is the point of the status window?
- Will the variables hold their values between uses of Cmud?
- How do I trigger on the kill? Simply "You killed the %w orc." or "You killed the %1 %2 %3 orc." ?
- Can I place the buttons anywhere I like on-screen or will they simply be on top, bottom, left, right?
Thanks for the help. |
|
_________________ "I'd be more enthusiastic about encouraging thinking outside the box when there's evidence of any thinking going on inside it."
- Terry Pratchett |
|
|
|
Fang Xianfu GURU
Joined: 26 Jan 2004 Posts: 5155 Location: United Kingdom
|
Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 11:58 pm |
1) Not a lot, in my personal experience. I always use buttons.
2) Yes, unless you set the Use Default option.
3) The easiest way is with "You killed the * orc" - %w will only match ONE word. You could also use [%w ] to match words and spaces. You should never use %1-%99 in the pattern. I have no idea where people get that habit from.
4) You can put them anywhere you like on any of the toolbars. The toolbars can be top, bottom, left and right. |
|
|
|
MattLofton GURU
Joined: 23 Dec 2000 Posts: 4834 Location: USA
|
Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 4:49 am |
Quote: |
3) The easiest way is with "You killed the * orc" - %w will only match ONE word. You could also use [%w ] to match words and spaces. You should never use %1-%99 in the pattern. I have no idea where people get that habit from.
|
TinTin, WinTin, and other early derivatives. Back then, that was how you did wildcards. ZMud took that idea and ran like hell with it. |
|
_________________ EDIT: I didn't like my old signature |
|
|
|
|
|