Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion
porsche
Beginner


Joined: 23 Jul 2002
Posts: 19
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 11:45 am   

Vista Connection Problem
 
Hi

Could someone running Vista try connecting to: nuclearwar.astrakan.hig.se 4080

I cannot connect to this MUD using telnet/zmud/cmud. Well, I can connect and commands go through, but I get no output back.

I've tried a couple of Vista PCs and they all do the same, XP is fine.

Also any other MUD I've tried is fine. Even the USA version of the same MUD (ichaos.com 4080). I can also access other services on the MUD server.

Incase of it being a firewall issue, I've made many rules, even turned the firewall off, logging also shows no blocked connections.

I appreciate that this isn't a zmud/cmud problem, but I'm just wondering if anyone else running Vista can access the MUD?

thanks

Porsche
Reply with quote
Guinn
Wizard


Joined: 03 Mar 2001
Posts: 1127
Location: London

PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 1:00 pm   
 
Using Vista I can't access it using CMUD, Telnet or Putty. It connects but no output.
I don't have an XP machine to hand to test if I can get to it normally though.
_________________
CMUD Pro, Windows Vista x64
Core2 Q6600, 4GB RAM, GeForce 8800GT
Because you need it for text... ;)
Reply with quote
porsche
Beginner


Joined: 23 Jul 2002
Posts: 19
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 1:06 pm   
 
Thanks for checking.

-Porsche-
Reply with quote
Tech
GURU


Joined: 18 Oct 2000
Posts: 2733
Location: Atlanta, USA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 6:41 pm   
 
I was able to connect and get output via telnet on Windows XP.
_________________
Asati di tempari!
Reply with quote
porsche
Beginner


Joined: 23 Jul 2002
Posts: 19
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 6:36 pm   
 
The solution is to run CMD as an Administrator and do the following:

Code:
netsh int tcp set global autotuninglevel=disable


This disables the AutoTuning which Vista has on by default (and XP had off by default).

-Porsche-
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23377
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 7:35 pm   
 
Anyone know what "AutoTuning" does? Seems odd that this would only effect certain MUD connections.
Reply with quote
porsche
Beginner


Joined: 23 Jul 2002
Posts: 19
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 8:28 pm   
 
Taken from this technet page:

Quote:
Maximizing network utilization requires complex tuning of TCP/IP configuration settings. Windows Vista eliminates the need to manually tune TCP/IP settings by detecting network conditions and automatically optimizing performance. On high-loss networks, such as wireless networks, Windows Vista can better recover from single and multiple packet losses. Windows Vista can dynamically increase or decrease the TCP Receive Window to fully utilize the capacity of a connection; users transferring files across a high-speed/high-latency WAN or downloading files from the Internet should notice faster transfer times. With Windows Vista, all users can have the best possible network performance, without needing to understand advanced TCP/IP settings.


-Porsche-
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23377
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 8:47 pm   
 
Yeah, that all sounds good. Wonder why it causes some connections to fail though. Seems like it is one of those "all good" kind of changes, but the fact it was disabled by default in XP makes me wonder if there is some sort of problem they aren't telling us about.
Reply with quote
MattLofton
GURU


Joined: 23 Dec 2000
Posts: 4834
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:27 pm   
 
That's usually the case. There was a discussion about graphicals on the Simutronics play.net forums for Heroes' Journey not too long ago about an upcoming game about to be released. This game seemingly did away with the save-game feature, but in actuality the designers carefully and deliberately hid it deep in the game interface (cheat mode of some type?). A beta tester discovered it, decided to mess with it, and it turned out to be so bugged out it slashed the game to pieces.

He was rather pissed about the whole thing.
_________________
EDIT: I didn't like my old signature
Reply with quote
rekrugler
Newbie


Joined: 22 Feb 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 5:21 am   
 
ok i am kinda dumb... not totally but this sounds like the problem i am having so please help. I am trying to acces www.mautofied.com with a new computer with vista basic. when i go to it with vista it basically doesn't do anything, but works fine with xp. if this is the same problem i am reading above could some one give me directions to fix the problem. thanks.
Reply with quote
Caels
Beginner


Joined: 22 Feb 2007
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 6:00 am   
 
read Porsche's post above. He tells you how to get around it
Reply with quote
kilpher
Newbie


Joined: 26 Dec 2005
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 1:17 am   Run as admin
 
You tried running zMud/cMud as admin? That seemed to fix all my problems - been up and running for about two weeks now. You can edit the permissions of the application so you don't have to select run as administrator every time.
Reply with quote
argilent
Newbie


Joined: 02 Mar 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 12:48 pm   no good
 
I tried running CMUD as an administrator and doing "netsh int tcp set global autotuninglevel=disable" in the command prompt but it gives me
Set global command failed on IPv4. The requested operation required elevation.

Any ideas?
Reply with quote
porsche
Beginner


Joined: 23 Jul 2002
Posts: 19
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 12:53 pm   
 
You need to run CMD as an Administrator (logged in as an admin isn't enough):

    Click the Start button
    Goto All Programs->Accessories and right click on Command Prompt
    Select Run as Administrator

Now the NETSH command should work.

HTH

-Porsche-


Last edited by porsche on Tue Mar 20, 2007 1:00 pm; edited 1 time in total
Reply with quote
argilent
Newbie


Joined: 02 Mar 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 12:59 pm   
 
thanks! .. that works ... but I still can't connect to the MUD - I get a positive ping (and its running on zmud on another XP laptop) but it just keeps timing out on trying to connect on CMUD/Vista ..
Reply with quote
calarus84
Newbie


Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2007 11:36 am   
 
im having a problem with zmud not saving triggers, paths, ect. while running it on vista...is that normal or is there something i can do so i don't have to redo all of them every time i log onto a mud?
Reply with quote
porsche
Beginner


Joined: 23 Jul 2002
Posts: 19
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2007 12:20 pm   
 
I've recently had this a few times, but on my XP machine not my Vista one.
A manual #SAVE works though.

-Porsche-
Reply with quote
Guinn
Wizard


Joined: 03 Mar 2001
Posts: 1127
Location: London

PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2007 12:34 pm   
 
Calarus, this should be brought up in a separate topic as it's unrelated to the Vista connection problems mentioned in this thread. You shouldn't have to redo settings each time you log into a mud. First thing to try would be a reinstall of zMUD ensuring your account has administrative permissions. If the reinstall doesn't cure it please post a new topic.
_________________
CMUD Pro, Windows Vista x64
Core2 Q6600, 4GB RAM, GeForce 8800GT
Because you need it for text... ;)
Reply with quote
jtown84
Novice


Joined: 09 Oct 2007
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2007 10:13 pm   
 
I've fixed the problem
AFter reinstalling etc
I just had to create a new connection til one worked.
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net