Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion
Ron Marks
Beginner


Joined: 17 Mar 2007
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 11:14 pm   

Health Bar Activation and sticking
 
I did a search but could only find ZMUD links. I thought I had seen similar behaviour already mentioned.

I find that the built in HP/GP/XP line that is shown at the lower part of the active window frame has a couple of problems.

1. When I load a character the line shows as Hp 0 GP 0 XP 0. In some cases hitting enter or doing an inventory check will load the numbers. In other cases that doesn't work and I have to go to the package editor and lightly click on each of the associated triggers.

2. I also find that the whole line of information (HP/GP/XP) dissappears occasionally. Sometimes I can trigger that happening by hitting the escape key when clearing the command line. On other occasions I am not sure what triggers it.

3. I have also had the screen show a second instance of those 3 sets of data beside the original numbers. Going into the package editor I then find that the triggers have been duplicated in either the character's module or in an associated module. This one occurs randomly.

This has occurred in vers 1.26 and 1.27
My machine is running XP Home
Reply with quote
Tech
GURU


Joined: 18 Oct 2000
Posts: 2733
Location: Atlanta, USA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 9:48 am   
 
I'm not sure what you are talking about here, but I'm going assume you mean the status window.

1. This is probably because the variables you have set to represent you HP/GP/XP are set to use default which is 0 (unless you defined it explicitly). As a result when ever you start CMUD these variable are 0. It gets refreshed when you check inventory because CMUD updates variables only when their values have changed and only the updates the components that use those values.

2. I'm not sure how this is possible. Your status window should never disappear. Check to see if you have any scripts that are changing the visibility of the Status Windows, if it's getting disabled, or in a class/module that is getting disable programmatically.

3. This makes me think that you are not talking about status windows, it's still not clear. At any rate if you are seeing multiple you may have an errant script that's creating it.

I know some MXP muds can provide you with certain variables and features (I'm not sure to which extent) but this may be a factor as well. Perhaps someone more versed in MXP can lend some insight.

Barring that I'd say you may have a corrupt package.

Why don't you post the MUD that you use, and the status window code or trigger you use for this display.
_________________
Asati di tempari!
Reply with quote
Ron Marks
Beginner


Joined: 17 Mar 2007
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 3:19 am   
 
Tech wrote:
I'm not sure what you are talking about here, but I'm going assume you mean the status window.

1. This is probably because the variables you have set to represent you HP/GP/XP are set to use default which is 0 (unless you defined it explicitly). As a result when ever you start CMUD these variable are 0. It gets refreshed when you check inventory because CMUD updates variables only when their values have changed and only the updates the components that use those values.

2. I'm not sure how this is possible. Your status window should never disappear. Check to see if you have any scripts that are changing the visibility of the Status Windows, if it's getting disabled, or in a class/module that is getting disable programmatically.

3. This makes me think that you are not talking about status windows, it's still not clear. At any rate if you are seeing multiple you may have an errant script that's creating it.

I know some MXP muds can provide you with certain variables and features (I'm not sure to which extent) but this may be a factor as well. Perhaps someone more versed in MXP can lend some insight.

Barring that I'd say you may have a corrupt package.

Why don't you post the MUD that you use, and the status window code or trigger you use for this display.

Quote:

2. I'm not sure how this is possible. Your status window should never disappear. Check to see if you have any scripts that are changing the visibility of the Status Windows, if it's getting disabled, or in a class/module that is getting disable programmatically



Sorry window doesn't dissappear. The status line does. This is the code that CMUD automatically generates for the HP/GP/XP status line. It is included in the MXP folder. I am on Discworld. THis behaviour still occurs in CMUD version 1.29

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" ?>
<cmud>
<module>
<class name="MXP">
<record id="6291458">
<id>6291458</id>
<kind>1</kind>
<parent>6291457</parent>
<pkgid>6291456</pkgid>
<enabled>-1</enabled>
<idname>MXP</idname>
<options/>
<userval/>
<val/>
<comment/>
<name>{*}</name>
<subkind>0</subkind>
<valkind>0</valkind>
<opt>0</opt>
<owner>6291457</owner>
<userint>0</userint>
<priority>0</priority>
<flag>0</flag>
<state>0</state>
</record>
<record id="6291459">
<id>6291459</id>
<kind>11</kind>
<parent>6291458</parent>
<pkgid>6291456</pkgid>
<enabled>-1</enabled>
<idname>hp</idname>
<options/>
<userval/>
<val>hp %mud.hp</val>
<comment/>
<name>{*}</name>
<subkind>0</subkind>
<valkind>0</valkind>
<opt>1</opt>
<owner>6291458</owner>
<userint>0</userint>
<priority>30</priority>
<flag>0</flag>
<state>0</state>
</record>
<record id="6291460">
<id>6291460</id>
<kind>11</kind>
<parent>6291458</parent>
<pkgid>6291456</pkgid>
<enabled>-1</enabled>
<idname>gp</idname>
<options/>
<userval/>
<val>gp %mud.gp</val>
<comment/>
<name>{*}</name>
<subkind>0</subkind>
<valkind>0</valkind>
<opt>1</opt>
<owner>6291458</owner>
<userint>0</userint>
<priority>40</priority>
<flag>0</flag>
<state>0</state>
</record>
<record id="6291461">
<id>6291461</id>
<kind>11</kind>
<parent>6291458</parent>
<pkgid>6291456</pkgid>
<enabled>-1</enabled>
<idname>xp</idname>
<options/>
<userval/>
<val>xp %mud.xp</val>
<comment/>
<name>{*}</name>
<subkind>0</subkind>
<valkind>0</valkind>
<opt>1</opt>
<owner>6291458</owner>
<userint>0</userint>
<priority>50</priority>
<flag>0</flag>
<state>0</state>
</record>
</class>
</module>
</cmud>
Reply with quote
Ron Marks
Beginner


Joined: 17 Mar 2007
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2007 7:04 pm   
 
Did I miss the answer to this? Was it answered elsewhere?

The status line of HP/GP/XP is still not refreshing unless I hit a an enter or command. It still dissappears on occasion if I hit escape. These are the MXP triggers included in the package editor.

Mud: Discworld
CMUD: 1.30
Machine running: XP Home
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net