Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion
Ggoss
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Nov 2006
Posts: 114

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 8:33 pm   

Status bar
 
Ok, doesn't seem to be working.

I have this from zmud.

Target: @target Group:@group XP: @xp

and it prints out on my status bar.

Target: Group:a|Znar XP: -31182226

but in cmud it's not putting anything there
Reply with quote
Tech
GURU


Joined: 18 Oct 2000
Posts: 2733
Location: Atlanta, USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 8:52 pm   
 
Make sure that when you set up the status bar that you have checked the option to show in Status Line.

Also CMUD is optimized to only update when a variable value has changed. So try change one of the variable values to make sure that it's working.

Finally make sure you don't have any other conflicting status bars. I think the last one that loaded and specified to show in status line, is the one that's actually displayed.
_________________
Asati di tempari!
Reply with quote
Ggoss
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Nov 2006
Posts: 114

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 9:45 pm   
 
Yeah had show in status line checked, but still not working.

Basically what i have for my status bar is

Target: @target Group: @group xp: @xp
Reply with quote
Ggoss
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Nov 2006
Posts: 114

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 9:46 pm   
 
< 1438h/1438H 262v/262V Pos: standing >
<> Variable exp not defined
Variable: + xp (Auto) -30569944

Zastits tells your guild '*(zast)* nice for bein ghit by goods'

< 1438h/1438H 262v/262V Pos: standing >
<> Variable tar not defined
Variable: + target (Auto) cerif
---------- Your target is now ----------
---------- Your heal target is now ----------


Showing that my variables are defining correctly, jus tnothing is being displayed
Reply with quote
chris-74269
Magician


Joined: 23 Nov 2004
Posts: 364

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 1:24 am   
 
mine isn't working well either, my status line is slow to update and i have to refresh it manually to get the new values in it. also the status window isn't going well for me, i have this in it:
%if( @bstatus="O", Boosts: %ansi( high, red)@boosts%ansi(green), Boosts: @boosts)%ansi( green) | Brushes: %if( @bloodrushon=1, %ansi( high, red)@bloodrushes%ansi( green), @bloodrushes) | Per: @perceives Roots: @roots ~(@broodcount~) %if( @fester != 0, ~[@fester~]) | @psishield~/@psicloak~/@psighost Special: @fspecial
Kills: @kills ~(%eval( @rounds/@kills)~)
Rounds: @rounds
%if( @receptive=1, %ansi( high, cyan)@dgxp%ansi( green), %ansi( high, red)@dgxp%ansi( green))

and i see exactly that, on compile window it says syntax error, however when i put the same into a trigger value it compiles fine.
Reply with quote
Arminas
Wizard


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 1265
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 2:30 am   
 
The status bar and the status window use different syntax than a trigger, or each other for that matter.

If you want to display something in the status BAR then you do NOT want to place ANY type of new line in the value.
If you want to display something in the status WINDOW then you ONLY want to use %{cr} if you want to put in a new line.
_________________
Arminas, The Invisible horseman
Windows 7 Pro 32 bit
AMD 64 X2 2.51 Dual Core, 2 GB of Ram
Reply with quote
Arminas
Wizard


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 1265
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 2:48 am   
 
chris-74269 Another issue I found with your code was that you hadn't taken into account that spaces inside of %ansi() are currently bugged so that %ansi( red ) does not work while %ansi(red) does.
Here is your code formated to be viewd inside of a status WINDOW.
Code:
%if( @bstatus="O", Boosts: %ansi(high,red)@boosts%ansi(green), Boosts: @boosts)%{cr}Brushes: %if( @bloodrushon=1, %ansi(high,red)@bloodrushes%ansi(green), @bloodrushes)%{cr}Per: @perceives%{cr}Roots: @roots%{cr}@broodcount%{cr}%if( @fester != 0, ~[@fester~])%{cr}@psishield~/@psicloak~/@psighost%{cr}Special: @fspecial%{cr}Kills: @kills ~(%eval( @rounds/@kills)~)%{cr}Rounds: @rounds%{cr}%if( @receptive=1, %ansi(high,cyan)@dgxp%ansi(green), %ansi(high,red)@dgxp%ansi(green))
_________________
Arminas, The Invisible horseman
Windows 7 Pro 32 bit
AMD 64 X2 2.51 Dual Core, 2 GB of Ram
Reply with quote
Arminas
Wizard


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 1265
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 2:59 am   
 
A note for getting a status window OR a status bar to update. If you place a variable inside them to be traced that changes often then the entire bar or window will update so.

Let's say that you want your status bar/window to tell you what time it is. If you place a function like %time or %alarm into the value your status bar will likely not change very often at all.

Note that the value of a variable must CHANGE before your status bar/window will update. Setting a variable to the same value that it already has will have no effect.

One way around this is to place a variable inside your status bar and call it time. To hide it, in case you don't want to see the time, you can do this.
%if(@time=%null,)
Then place time=%time into your prompt trigger. Now every time you receive your prompt the status bar will update.
Because the time is always changing you can rest assured that your status bar will be getting updated with your prompt.

If you want your status bar/window to update more often then you can create an alarm.

#alarm "statusUD" *.501 {time=%time}
_________________
Arminas, The Invisible horseman
Windows 7 Pro 32 bit
AMD 64 X2 2.51 Dual Core, 2 GB of Ram
Reply with quote
Ggoss
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Nov 2006
Posts: 114

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 4:01 am   
 
Ok, that still doesn't help in that nothing is showing up there in the first place. I right clock on the status bar to edit it, place in Target: @target Group: @group XP: @xp and it just stays blank. show in status bar is clicked. This works fine in zmud, what is wrong with it for cmud?
Reply with quote
Arminas
Wizard


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 1265
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 4:11 am   
 
Ggoss I created what you said you basically had working in Zmud and imported it in Cmud It worked a dandy.
Code:
#STAT {Target: @target Group: @group xp: @xp} "" "mystatus"

Paste that in and LOOK at it. If you still cannot fix your problem after reading through this thread please past your Actual value here so we can see it.
_________________
Arminas, The Invisible horseman
Windows 7 Pro 32 bit
AMD 64 X2 2.51 Dual Core, 2 GB of Ram
Reply with quote
MattLofton
GURU


Joined: 23 Dec 2000
Posts: 4834
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 4:20 am   
 
Have you tried restarting the character? Sometimes settings don't properly apply in the exact play-session you create them in, but this is easily (and usually) fixed by a simple restart.

A far more embarassing reason for why status bars don't show up is that you put the code in the wrong text box. The one-liner text box is no longer where status bar information goes in CMud, instead it goes into the multi-line textbox (in ZMud, the one-liner box was where the status bar stuff went and the multi-line box was where the status window stuff went). We never had the option to name our status bars in ZMud, but in CMud we do.
_________________
EDIT: I didn't like my old signature
Reply with quote
Ggoss
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Nov 2006
Posts: 114

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 4:38 am   
 
hah arminas you are a savior and a genius, thank you very much that works great, wonder why it wasn't doing it before. the only thing i didn't have was the " " "mystatus" at the end
Reply with quote
Ggoss
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Nov 2006
Posts: 114

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 4:40 am   
 
Ohh i see the difference, in zmud you don't put that in value, you just put that in the name line, as it auto assumes its a value for zmud (as the guy just above me posted), you rock thanks mano
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net