Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion
deathkitty
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Apr 2008
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 11:52 am   

random freezes, grr!!
 
I've had this happen 4 times now it just freezes totally, completely randomly it seems, while i am typing

reallly annoying you then have to wait ages for it to close (program not responding) and then open it again :(

this didnt happen before the new patch
Reply with quote
deathkitty
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Apr 2008
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 12:58 pm   
 
ok after I opened it today I cant type at all now it just comes up with popup errors about invalid threads or something each time - Zugg I sent error reports for both of the different errors and i pressed the screenshot option on so you should have the text of what the error says too hopefully - a weird thing is with error reports it always seems to fail on the first time but on the second try it goes through

the program is completely unusable at the moment now :(
Reply with quote
Toxic
Adept


Joined: 27 May 2008
Posts: 299

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 3:22 pm   
 
does it do it with triggers disabled? How about if you play in a blank session? Sounds like its probably something with your settings to me.
Reply with quote
deathkitty
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Apr 2008
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 4:15 pm   
 
yeah, i tried turning triggers and alias mode off

it works in other windows yeah but the mud i play seems to not work at all :(
Reply with quote
Toxic
Adept


Joined: 27 May 2008
Posts: 299

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 5:22 pm   
 
export your xml and import into a new session...
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23379
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 5:37 pm   
 
I saw the crash dumps that you sent. This is a new problem I have never seen before. It is giving an error in the background thread that is checking the command line for spellchecking. This is done in a 3rd party spellchecking component that I haven't touched, so I don't know why it would suddenly stop working like that.

All I can think of is doing a fresh install of CMUD in case some file is corrupted. You might also want to hold down the SHIFT key and use the Open Offline action to create a fresh layout file for the session in case the command line is screwed up somehow.

But unfortunately I cannot reproduce the error, and the error just points into the middle of the 3rd party code and I have no idea how the problem would be caused or fixed.
Reply with quote
asm
Wanderer


Joined: 19 Jul 2004
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2008 1:11 am   
 
I've had the same problem occur several times now.
_________________
My collections of scripts.
Reply with quote
Seb
Wizard


Joined: 14 Aug 2004
Posts: 1244

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 2:12 pm   
 
Probably both of you telling us which version of CMUD you are using, which version of Windows, and what your Windows language and locale is...
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net