Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account

Play RetroMUD
Ereptor
Beginner

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 2:37 pm   

zMud problems on XP

Greetings, I've been using zMud for about 8 years now, I love it. I recently was playing at work but after I installed something (I've no recollection what) I can't use zMud anymore. When I try and open zMud I get the following error: "Error initalizing database engine" this happens when zMud attempts to load the very first module. I have uninstalled and reinstalled zMud, eLicense, even parsed my registry for all applicable entries, nothing seems to help. It's telling me I need to install MDAC and Jet but both are installed and up to date, always have been. It's run before, but for some reason it's not now, please help, I NEED my zMud!
Zugg
MASTER

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 6:37 pm   

That's an error from your MDAC software, so it's likely that some other software you installed messed up your MDAC installation. Go to the page http://www.zuggsoft.com/data and follow the instructions there to update your MDAC/Jet, or run the Windows Updater and apply all of the required Microsoft patches and updates.
Ereptor
Beginner

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 6:54 pm   

I appreciate your quick response, but I've already gone through the install process 6 ways from sunday. I've already been on the phone with Microsoft, they claim that MDAC/Jet is running fine since any other applications I run that use it are fine. I'm not sure what else to try. I'm sorry if this isn't a zMud problem it's just nice that I can atleast vent here and people can relate to my addiction to zMud :)
There is a fine line between insanity and genious, where do you stand?
Ereptor
Beginner

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 9:07 pm