|
Shez Newbie
Joined: 06 Jul 2002 Posts: 7
|
Posted: Mon Jan 13, 2003 2:21 am
Vnum and mapping. |
I'm looking to create a triggering system to auto-add the muds actual vnums into the vnums of the mapper. I've looked over the help files and checked through several posts here but havent found anything that really fit exactly what i'm looking for.
Here's an example of the mud output...
The Great Room [Room 2713]
Big giant stuff is here for an example of room text, and not really much more then that. If this had been an actuall room desc and not simply just an example, it would be much longer then this one is, so..umm...yah, thats about all i can think of to fill this space.
[Exits: east south west]
The first part is of course the room title and the [Room 2713] is the rooms vnum. What i want to do is capture that number and auto-add it to the mappers vnum entry for the room it creates.
thanks |
|
|
|
Kjata GURU
Joined: 10 Oct 2000 Posts: 4379 Location: USA
|
Posted: Mon Jan 13, 2003 12:00 pm |
This would be easy if there was a way of determining by code when the mapper is finished creating the room. Unfortunately, there isn't, and the function that adds the vnum to the room fails while the mapper is still creating the room. What I do then is to first capture the vnum into a variable:
#TRIGGER {~[Room (%d)~]} {#VAR vnum %1}
and then I use a macro that I fire when the mapper is finished creating the room to set the current rooms vnum correctly:
#KEY KEY0 {#NOOP %roomnum(, @vnum)}
Kjata |
|
|
|
Shez Newbie
Joined: 06 Jul 2002 Posts: 7
|
Posted: Wed Jan 15, 2003 4:48 pm |
Thanks, that worked perfectly. Is there also a way to alter the room ID number? I was hoping it would show the vnum of the room when you point at a room, but it shows the id number, not the vnum.
|
|
|
|
Kjata GURU
Joined: 10 Oct 2000 Posts: 4379 Location: USA
|
Posted: Wed Jan 15, 2003 5:07 pm |
The ID is the unique room ID number used in the mapper database. That number cannot be chnged.
You may suggest to Zugg, however, that the vnum is shown when hovering over a room. Previous versions did it, I don't know why it was removed.
Kjata |
|
|
|
knuffel Wanderer
Joined: 12 Jul 2002 Posts: 73
|
Posted: Sun Jan 19, 2003 10:49 am |
quote:
You may suggest to Zugg, however, that the vnum is shown when hovering over a room. Previous versions did it, I don't know why it was removed.
Kjata
Hi,
I use the VNUM a lot and within 6.40 I still see the VNUM when hoovering over a room in the mapper.
Maybe a configuration setting that makes the display OFF ?
Greetz
Knuff |
|
|
|
Kjata GURU
Joined: 10 Oct 2000 Posts: 4379 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sun Jan 19, 2003 1:37 pm |
When hovering over a room, 6.40 currently shows the ID of the room in the database. The Vnum is not shown unless you go into Map Properties and select "Show room numbers" in Appearance->General, but then the numbers are shown on the map, all on top of each other and it looks ugly.
Kjata |
|
|
|
|
|