Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion
rko
Newbie


Joined: 27 Dec 2001
Posts: 1
Location: Russia

PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2001 10:36 am   

Secure Shell
 
Is it possible to connect ZMUD to server by SSH (V1 or V2). Maybe there some plugins or external connectors?

rko
Reply with quote
Darker
GURU


Joined: 24 Sep 2000
Posts: 1237
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2001 2:43 pm   
 
Sorry, SSH isn't supported in zMUD, and isn't planned, as it's not very often requested.

I'm not aware of any plug-ins that work with it either.



zMUD 6 Online Help: All the power you'll ever need.
Reply with quote
kicken
Newbie


Joined: 27 Jul 2003
Posts: 6
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 10:12 am   
 
is it that hard to implement ssh? I there was some I would use it for sure
Reply with quote
Vodoc
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Apr 2003
Posts: 119
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 11:17 am   
 
No, it's not that hard to do it but there have been legal problems blocking the implementation in the past. It seems though as it may be implemented in zMUDXP.
Reply with quote
Daffyd
Beginner


Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 11:36 am   
 
As a workaround you can use zMUD to telnet into a computer with SSH (e.g. a linux or Mac box) and SSH from there to your final destination.
Reply with quote
kicken
Newbie


Joined: 27 Jul 2003
Posts: 6
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 11:41 am   
 
as I have an ustabel windows wireless connection on my laptop I want to connect to my linux machine useing ssh. The linux machine is connected to the mud. I still wannt to run zmud on my laptop I thought this was a way around it. hopefully this will work later then.
Reply with quote
jolopez
Novice


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 11:57 am   
 
... i am not sure about the putty tunnel .. i think that you can telnet to things through putty .. i will search





i have searched xD
if you want to use zmud as putty you cannot is only for telnet
but if you have an accoutn to access to somewhere through ssh
you can do things through putty (the problem is i can not because i dont know how to do it but search in google with "putty tunnel")

i will put a log from my linux ....

X-Evian:/home/jolopez# ssh -C -f ip -L 800:ip:80 sleep 1000
The authenticity of host 'ip:ip' can't be established.
RSA key fingerprint is ee:96:5e:01:c7:6e:c5:dc:e9:5a:a9:a4:59:92:f2:65.
Are you sure you want to continue connecting (yes/no)? yes
Warning: Permanently added 'ip' (RSA) to the list of known hosts.
Password:
X-Evian:/home/jolopez# telnet 127.0.0.1 800
Trying 127.0.0.1...
Connected to 127.0.0.1.
Escape character is '^]'.


so i think you can use port 800 to access ip throug ssh
is these what you want?

http://cyberknights.com.au/doc/PuTTY-tunnelling-HOWTO.html
for doing with putty


Last edited by jolopez on Fri Sep 02, 2005 2:19 pm; edited 2 times in total
Reply with quote
Tarn
GURU


Joined: 10 Oct 2000
Posts: 853
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 1:11 pm   
 
Plugins don't have low enough level access to the data stream to build ssh in.

Putty can let you tunnel just fine. It might be easiest to run a SOCKS proxy on your linux box, and run a tunnel on a local port on the Windows machine there (using putty).

I don't think your ssh connection to the linux box will be any more stable than your other connections.

Darker: check your sig. Most people need a little more power than that, because the link to the V6 help is dead ;)

-Tarn
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net