|
Eyeless Wanderer
Joined: 02 Dec 2001 Posts: 80 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2001 12:47 am
Client side trigger. |
Im using the tick timer and when it get to the time out margin (5 seconds) It displays TICK IN 5 SECONDS. I created a trigger that sends a random command to the mud to keep me active. The problem with this trigger is joe bob can shout TICK IN 5 SECONDS.
Id like to create a trigger that only the time out margin can set off.
if you know how to do this, Id appreciate your help.
The only thing I can think of is the mud sends commands in one color and zmuds time out margin is in a different colour.
ThanX
Eyeless. |
|
|
|
Morten Apprentice
Joined: 17 Feb 2001 Posts: 119 Location: Denmark
|
Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2001 3:15 am |
why not just insted of saying "tick in 5 second" then make you random command there.
you can do it by making an alias that create the command.
Yugo Sangori |
|
|
|
MattLofton GURU
Joined: 23 Dec 2000 Posts: 4834 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2001 8:02 am |
quote:
Im using the tick timer and when it get to the time out margin (5 seconds) It displays TICK IN 5 SECONDS. I created a trigger that sends a random command to the mud to keep me active. The problem with this trigger is joe bob can shout TICK IN 5 SECONDS.
Id like to create a trigger that only the time out margin can set off.
if you know how to do this, Id appreciate your help.
The only thing I can think of is the mud sends commands in one color and zmuds time out margin is in a different colour.
ThanX
Eyeless.
#trigger {^TICK IN %d SECONDS$} {}
That's about the only way to create the trigger that matches that tick line.
li'l shmoe of Dragon's Gate MUD |
|
|
|
Eyeless Wanderer
Joined: 02 Dec 2001 Posts: 80 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2001 1:08 pm |
quote:
#trigger {^TICK IN %d SECONDS$} {}
That's about the only way to create the trigger that matches that tick line.
li'l shmoe of Dragon's Gate MUD
I tried the #trigger {^TICK IN %d SECONDS.} before but the problem with that is: on my mud my hps/sps are displayed on every line after I send something to the mud. so when I send a random command to the mud my next line contains a display of my hps:sps
eg
200:130>
so now if in the interm of the next countdown I dont receive any external displays from the mud the ^TICK IN %d SECONDS. wont work because zmud says the trigger can only shoot if its at the very beginning of a line. (its not the hps:sps> are.) |
|
|
|
decantor Apprentice
Joined: 14 Nov 2001 Posts: 100
|
Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2001 6:00 pm |
Why not just send the command with the actual tick timer command?
|
|
|
|
Castaway GURU
Joined: 10 Oct 2000 Posts: 793 Location: Swindon, England
|
Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2001 9:35 am |
Or use the #ALARM command, which can also be set up to do something ever 5 mins/hours whatever.
Lady C. |
|
|
|
MattLofton GURU
Joined: 23 Dec 2000 Posts: 4834 Location: USA
|
Posted: Tue Dec 04, 2001 12:26 am |
quote:
quote:
#trigger {^TICK IN %d SECONDS$} {}
That's about the only way to create the trigger that matches that tick line.
li'l shmoe of Dragon's Gate MUD
I tried the #trigger {^TICK IN %d SECONDS.} before but the problem with that is: on my mud my hps/sps are displayed on every line after I send something to the mud. so when I send a random command to the mud my next line contains a display of my hps:sps
eg
200:130>
so now if in the interm of the next countdown I dont receive any external displays from the mud the ^TICK IN %d SECONDS. wont work because zmud says the trigger can only shoot if its at the very beginning of a line. (its not the hps:sps> are.)
hmm, well, perhaps you can use a ZMud-only command like #SAY or something--something that doesn't get sent to the mud but still fires immediately.
li'l shmoe of Dragon's Gate MUD |
|
|
|
LightBulb MASTER
Joined: 28 Nov 2000 Posts: 4817 Location: USA
|
Posted: Tue Dec 04, 2001 4:27 pm |
If you don't use a trigger, "joe bob" can't set it off no matter what he shouts. So, use the Timeout Command from the Tick Timer dialog reached through the Preferences button instead. This can probably be combined with an alias if you want to get complex.
Timeout command: timeout
#AL timeout {%item("look|inventory|equipment",%random(1,3))}
LightBulb |
|
|
|
Eyeless Wanderer
Joined: 02 Dec 2001 Posts: 80 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Wed Dec 05, 2001 10:03 am |
thanks everyone.
|
|
|
|
|
|