Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion Goto page 1, 2  Next
whoever
Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2023
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2023 3:37 am   

Getting mapper to recognize exits
 
I play a mud which uses this format:


In the prompt, the 'RUSH' keyword is toggleable, so optional.

I can't get the mapper to recognize this correctly, for some reason.



I have tried manually reconfiguring, to no avail.





What am I doing wrong here?
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 4677
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 12:04 pm   
 
First off, when dealing with code issues, actual manipulatable text is much preferred over images of text.

That said, many mapping issues can be solved my making triggers to tag (#HELP #TAG) the various room elements.

In this case it seems to capturing the name and description just fine, but not the exits.

Code:
#TR {<(%d)>xp ({RUSH |})r~[(%d)~] ~[H(%d) M(%d) V(%d)~] ex~[(*)~] >} {
  #TAG PROMPT
  #TAG Exits %7
  } {} {prompt}


Enter this on the command line, then reconfigure your mapper and see if it catches everything.
_________________
Discord: Shalimarwildcat

Last edited by shalimar on Sun Oct 01, 2023 12:19 pm; edited 1 time in total
Reply with quote
whoever
Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2023
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 12:15 pm   
 
The reason I used screenshots is because there are multiple settings.

I was on a similar path, but it does not work.

I have found the help page


I have this trigger:

pattern: ^~<&xp_needed~>xp*r~[&roomnr~] ~[H&hp M&mana V&move~] ex~[&exits~]
trigger: #TAG vnum,exits %2 %7

But as soon as that trigger is active, reconfigure mapper does NOT get the name, description OR the room number etc.

This is the page i found:

https://www.zuggsoft.com/zmud/help6/Overridi.htm

btw, on that page they use the tag 'exit', you use 'exits' .. which one is it?
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 4677
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 12:21 pm   
 
Likely just a typo on my end, I wasn't looking at the help files.

I had to edit my pattern cause i saw an extra space in it.
_________________
Discord: Shalimarwildcat
Reply with quote
whoever
Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2023
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 12:21 pm   
 
I added your trigger, changes nothing.

Which is not that strange as basically it's the same trigger as I had already made myself.

It simply does not work. For instance, the roonnumer. At the very least I would have expected it to get the roomnumber correctly, but it doesn't. It still uses zmud-generated roomnumbers instead of the mud ones.

The #TAG thing does not work. Maybe a trigger setting?

The trigger DOES fire as the variables are filled correctly.
Reply with quote
whoever
Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2023
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 12:26 pm   
 
There are simply too many settings in to many places. Under preferences for instance, there's also a prompt setting.

Also in the mapper when I do 'delete configuration' nothing seems to happen.

Maybe I just don't know how it's supposed to work?

I was under the impression that, once setup correctly, you can walk around on your mud and then the mapper creating a map.
Reply with quote
whoever
Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2023
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 12:27 pm   
 
pleaes do not get me wrong, I really appreciate your help and wold love to get this working

When tested, your patter does not match the prompt.

However, this is not bad, as I already have the working trigger fot that.

Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 4677
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 12:31 pm   
 
Well we might need to test if the trigger is firing at all:

#PRINT I see the Prompt!

And to ensure the numbers use

#TAG vnum %3

You do still need to have the map in edit mode to update room data via script.

Also, you are not using the updated pattern i supplied, without the single space before the r{number}.
It will capture the optional RUSH.
_________________
Discord: Shalimarwildcat
Reply with quote
whoever
Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2023
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 12:36 pm   
 
My trigger fires. This has been tested already.

Your trigger is basically the same one. I switched the RUSH| part by a simple *, as the mud also sometimes inserts different things there.

Lastyly vnum is %2, not %3, and exits is %6, not %7 (the latter one I did wrong myself)
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 4677
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 12:38 pm   
 
Yes, the variables numbers are different because my pattern included an extra variable for the RUSH state.

I am explaining the code I provided, so i used my numbers.
_________________
Discord: Shalimarwildcat
Reply with quote
whoever
Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2023
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 12:41 pm   
 
Agreed.. wel I won't be stubborn for a second, and use your trigger again.

I feel the issue is with the #TAG thing, as my own trigger does fire, but for instance the room number isn't conveyed.
Reply with quote
whoever
Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2023
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 12:45 pm   
 
I don't really see why, but your trigger doesnt match the pattern..

Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 4677
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 12:50 pm   
 
You still haven't showed the actual trigger you are using.
Not fully. Just the pattern.
And definitely not in text form.

If you want help, make it easier for folks to help you.
We cannot copy and paste code out of an image to try it locally.

This is not to say images aren't also useful, just don't rely on them exclusively.

Provide your code as plaintext.
Provide the plaintext your trigger is supposed to firee off of.
_________________
Discord: Shalimarwildcat
Reply with quote
whoever
Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2023
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 12:55 pm   
 
I did, in my second post...

quote:
pattern: ^~<&xp_needed~>xp*r~[&roomnr~] ~[H&hp M&mana V&move~] ex~[&exits~]





The current pattern I'm using is:

^~<(%d)~>xp*r~[(%d)~] ~[H(%d) M(%d) V(%d)~] ex~[(*)~]

This pattern in and on itself works, and fires. See test screenshot.

#print does not work, #show did. It shows it firing.
Reply with quote
whoever
Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2023
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 1:05 pm   
 
To be perfectly clear.. this is my current trigger, in text.

Code:

^~<(%d)~>xp*r~[(%d)~] ~[H(%d) M(%d) V(%d)~] ex~[(*)~]


And the value:
Code:

#SHOW TRIGGER FIRING!!
#TAG prompt
#TAG vnum,exit %2 %6




This trigger works:
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 4677
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 1:22 pm   
 
Quote:
In the prompt, the 'RUSH' keyword is toggleable, so optional.

I can't get the mapper to recognize this correctly, for some reason.


If you ever want to be able to reference those to be able to do something with them, then you will need to use a variant of what I suggested.
If you want to just ignore them, then your code is fine.

But you will not see the effects of your #TAG changes until after you reconfigure the mapper.
And even then only when mapping new rooms.

Updating all of your existing rooms would be an involved process:
1 Put the map in follow mode. (the footsteps button)
2 Navigate to a room in need of updating
3 Put the map in map/edit mode. (the pencil button)
4 Update the room with a #LOOK command. (the magnifying glass button)
Repeat

If the map is small, I would suggest starting over to updating.
_________________
Discord: Shalimarwildcat
Reply with quote
whoever
Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2023
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 1:30 pm   
 
I have no current rooms, so updating is no hassle.

Again, reconfiguring the mapper doesn't produce different results. It just didn't see the room.

So.. suppose I have no map yet and I'm starting from fresh. I goto a room, move, the normal way, shouldn't it then get the new room in the mapper?
Reply with quote
whoever
Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2023
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 1:31 pm   
 


The output of the reconfigure with this tag trigger. Now it doesn't recognize anything :)
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 4677
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 1:39 pm   
 
Well, you can remove the #SHOW message now that you have confirmed the trigger is indeed firing.
That is just a debugging tool to use whenever you are fiddling with the pattern.
I suggested #PRINT specifically because triggers cannot fire off of printed messages. But that may be new with CMUD.

#SHOW and #ECHO will cause triggers to fire (Useful!), or get caught in room data.

I suspect this is why it did not capture the room properly as well.
_________________
Discord: Shalimarwildcat
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 4677
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 1:44 pm   
 
Oh, is your trigger set to be on prompt instead of on newline?
It's the checkboxes on the pattern tab. Er... the Script tab.
_________________
Discord: Shalimarwildcat
Reply with quote
whoever
Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2023
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 1:48 pm   
 
#PRINT does not work in zmud.

But yes, I tested it with and without, no difference.

Same for the 'newline/prompt' setting. Makes no difference.

I just found something.. setup directions (n, s,e,w).. no difference.
Reply with quote
whoever
Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2023
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 1:49 pm   
 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dKK94jqFcKg
Reply with quote
whoever
Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2023
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 2:08 pm   
 
Just noticed.. I got the help finally working (instructions for windows 10: https://discord.com/channels/747961362621268178/747961362621268181/1158046133793329162) and found the possible TAG values.

one of them is room name.

So for testing, I added:
Code:

#TAG room "shithole"


To my trigger, of which we have already established it is firing.

Now when I run the reconfigure again, it does not show 'shithole' as room name.

So the tag thing isn't working..
Reply with quote
whoever
Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2023
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 2:11 pm   
 
ok, it was 'name' instead of 'room'.. and then it does show the room name.
strange it doesn't capture the room number and exits correctly
Reply with quote
whoever
Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2023
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2023 2:18 pm   
 
Ok, suppose i set this in my trigger:

Code:
#TAG prompt
#TAG VNUM 192
#TAG name "shithole"


Then the 'shithole' does make it into the room, but the roomnumber 192 does NOT.




so my conclusion is that the mapper is broken when tagging.
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net