Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion
mechanicaljack
Beginner


Joined: 15 Aug 2018
Posts: 17
Location: Tennessee, USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 8:01 am   

More map questions
 
Hi!

Another mapper question:

Working with a map someone else has made, I have a number of rooms where they did not capture the room description. Is there a way to query the room description to tell if it is blank, so that I can trigger a #look if it is in fact blank?

Thanks!
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 3931
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 11:53 am   
 
If you are in the room at the time, you can test to see if %roomdec has any value at all.
Something like this would do it.

#EVENT onRoomEnter {#IF (%roomdesc) {} {#LOOK}}
_________________
Discord: Shalimar#3679
Reply with quote
mechanicaljack
Beginner


Joined: 15 Aug 2018
Posts: 17
Location: Tennessee, USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 4:43 pm   
 
It's functioning, but the #LOOK isn't triggering the #LOOK command that populates the room properties. When I type #LOOK by itself, it does, but not when it's part of the event.
Reply with quote
mechanicaljack
Beginner


Joined: 15 Aug 2018
Posts: 17
Location: Tennessee, USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 5:41 pm   
 
Also attempted using an echo issued by the #EVENT and triggering off of that echo. Same result. It looks at the room, but it's like a normal in game look command. It doesn't populate the room description in the mapper like it should.
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 3931
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 10:53 pm   
 
Ahh, to do it by script you likely have to toggle %maplocked before and after.
You can manually change colors without that step as well.
_________________
Discord: Shalimar#3679
Reply with quote
mechanicaljack
Beginner


Joined: 15 Aug 2018
Posts: 17
Location: Tennessee, USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 11:59 pm   
 
So would it be:

#EVENT onRoomEnter {#IF (%roomdesc) {} {%maplocked;#LOOK;%maplocked}}

?

I'm doing this while the map edit mode is active.
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 3931
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2018 1:17 pm   
 
If the map is in edit mode just #LOOK should be fine, toggling %maplocked would be so you don't have to put it in edit mode, the script does it for you.
Which is safer as it prevents unwanted room creation or other mapping errors.

#CALL %maplocked(0)
#LOOK
#CALL %maplocked(1)
_________________
Discord: Shalimar#3679
Reply with quote
mechanicaljack
Beginner


Joined: 15 Aug 2018
Posts: 17
Location: Tennessee, USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 6:02 am   
 
I'm trying to have it trigger as I enter the room if there is no room description. That's the problem.

When part of a #EVENT, or even a trigger, #LOOK only does a normal 'look' command, which does not fill the room description in the room properties.
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 3931
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 4:42 pm   
 
Then you will just have to use the printed message to manually issue the #LOOK command.
_________________
Discord: Shalimar#3679
Reply with quote
mechanicaljack
Beginner


Joined: 15 Aug 2018
Posts: 17
Location: Tennessee, USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 4:58 pm   
 
So, the client is incapable of automatically issuing #Look for the purpose of filling room descriptions after a room has been created.
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 3931
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 5:51 pm   
 
So it would seem.
It should be possible to fine tune things so it captures the room description properly to begin with though, removing the necessity to do it in the first place.
_________________
Discord: Shalimar#3679
Reply with quote
mechanicaljack
Beginner


Joined: 15 Aug 2018
Posts: 17
Location: Tennessee, USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 3:40 am   
 
It is. The problem is I'm working as part of a group effort, and the other user has already mapped most of the rooms. I'm going back through to find details and hidden rooms they've missed. Urgh. I'm not sure why it seemingly scrubs the # off, or at least the power of the # seems to be removed.
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 3931
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 11:17 am   
 
Me either.
It might be quicker to just delete the rooms with no description and just let the mapper recreate them.
_________________
Discord: Shalimar#3679
Reply with quote
il--ya
Newbie


Joined: 22 Aug 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2018 11:44 am   
 
In CMUD, you can select multiple rooms and in room properties, tick boxes "reload room name", "reload room description", "reload room exits". This will cause them to be updated upon next visit (in map editing mode).
I don't know if these properties are settable via a script and how this works in mapper.
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net