|
mechanicaljack Beginner
Joined: 15 Aug 2018 Posts: 17 Location: Tennessee, USA
|
Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 8:01 am
More map questions |
Hi!
Another mapper question:
Working with a map someone else has made, I have a number of rooms where they did not capture the room description. Is there a way to query the room description to tell if it is blank, so that I can trigger a #look if it is in fact blank?
Thanks! |
|
|
|
shalimar GURU
Joined: 04 Aug 2002 Posts: 4691 Location: Pensacola, FL, USA
|
Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 11:53 am |
If you are in the room at the time, you can test to see if %roomdec has any value at all.
Something like this would do it.
#EVENT onRoomEnter {#IF (%roomdesc) {} {#LOOK}} |
|
_________________ Discord: Shalimarwildcat |
|
|
|
mechanicaljack Beginner
Joined: 15 Aug 2018 Posts: 17 Location: Tennessee, USA
|
Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 4:43 pm |
It's functioning, but the #LOOK isn't triggering the #LOOK command that populates the room properties. When I type #LOOK by itself, it does, but not when it's part of the event.
|
|
|
|
mechanicaljack Beginner
Joined: 15 Aug 2018 Posts: 17 Location: Tennessee, USA
|
Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 5:41 pm |
Also attempted using an echo issued by the #EVENT and triggering off of that echo. Same result. It looks at the room, but it's like a normal in game look command. It doesn't populate the room description in the mapper like it should.
|
|
|
|
shalimar GURU
Joined: 04 Aug 2002 Posts: 4691 Location: Pensacola, FL, USA
|
Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 10:53 pm |
Ahh, to do it by script you likely have to toggle %maplocked before and after.
You can manually change colors without that step as well. |
|
_________________ Discord: Shalimarwildcat |
|
|
|
mechanicaljack Beginner
Joined: 15 Aug 2018 Posts: 17 Location: Tennessee, USA
|
Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 11:59 pm |
So would it be:
#EVENT onRoomEnter {#IF (%roomdesc) {} {%maplocked;#LOOK;%maplocked}}
?
I'm doing this while the map edit mode is active. |
|
|
|
shalimar GURU
Joined: 04 Aug 2002 Posts: 4691 Location: Pensacola, FL, USA
|
Posted: Fri Aug 17, 2018 1:17 pm |
If the map is in edit mode just #LOOK should be fine, toggling %maplocked would be so you don't have to put it in edit mode, the script does it for you.
Which is safer as it prevents unwanted room creation or other mapping errors.
#CALL %maplocked(0)
#LOOK
#CALL %maplocked(1) |
|
_________________ Discord: Shalimarwildcat |
|
|
|
mechanicaljack Beginner
Joined: 15 Aug 2018 Posts: 17 Location: Tennessee, USA
|
Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 6:02 am |
I'm trying to have it trigger as I enter the room if there is no room description. That's the problem.
When part of a #EVENT, or even a trigger, #LOOK only does a normal 'look' command, which does not fill the room description in the room properties. |
|
|
|
shalimar GURU
Joined: 04 Aug 2002 Posts: 4691 Location: Pensacola, FL, USA
|
Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 4:42 pm |
Then you will just have to use the printed message to manually issue the #LOOK command.
|
|
_________________ Discord: Shalimarwildcat |
|
|
|
mechanicaljack Beginner
Joined: 15 Aug 2018 Posts: 17 Location: Tennessee, USA
|
Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 4:58 pm |
So, the client is incapable of automatically issuing #Look for the purpose of filling room descriptions after a room has been created.
|
|
|
|
shalimar GURU
Joined: 04 Aug 2002 Posts: 4691 Location: Pensacola, FL, USA
|
Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 5:51 pm |
So it would seem.
It should be possible to fine tune things so it captures the room description properly to begin with though, removing the necessity to do it in the first place. |
|
_________________ Discord: Shalimarwildcat |
|
|
|
mechanicaljack Beginner
Joined: 15 Aug 2018 Posts: 17 Location: Tennessee, USA
|
Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 3:40 am |
It is. The problem is I'm working as part of a group effort, and the other user has already mapped most of the rooms. I'm going back through to find details and hidden rooms they've missed. Urgh. I'm not sure why it seemingly scrubs the # off, or at least the power of the # seems to be removed.
|
|
|
|
shalimar GURU
Joined: 04 Aug 2002 Posts: 4691 Location: Pensacola, FL, USA
|
Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 11:17 am |
Me either.
It might be quicker to just delete the rooms with no description and just let the mapper recreate them. |
|
_________________ Discord: Shalimarwildcat |
|
|
|
il--ya Newbie
Joined: 22 Aug 2018 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2018 11:44 am |
In CMUD, you can select multiple rooms and in room properties, tick boxes "reload room name", "reload room description", "reload room exits". This will cause them to be updated upon next visit (in map editing mode).
I don't know if these properties are settable via a script and how this works in mapper. |
|
|
|
|
|