Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion
milty111
Beginner


Joined: 16 Jan 2017
Posts: 19
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2017 5:56 am   

multiplay
 
Is it possible to have different sets of aliases and triggers functioning simultaneously depending upon the character window I'm in?
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 3513
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2017 10:59 pm   
 
It is if you create a separate session/package for each character.
if you go into the help system and search for multiplaying, there is an entry that may help you get started.
_________________
Windows 10 Home Premium 64-bit
AMD Phenom II x6 1055T 2.8GHz 16GB
CMUD Pro v3.34
Reply with quote
milty111
Beginner


Joined: 16 Jan 2017
Posts: 19
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2017 11:49 pm   
 
Thanks, but where do I find the "help system"?
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 3513
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2017 12:45 am   
 
either from the help menu of CMUD, or typing #HELP
_________________
Windows 10 Home Premium 64-bit
AMD Phenom II x6 1055T 2.8GHz 16GB
CMUD Pro v3.34
Reply with quote
milty111
Beginner


Joined: 16 Jan 2017
Posts: 19
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2017 1:03 am   
 
I'm in Zmud, not Cmud and if I do #HELP I get a message "Why can't I get help from this program?"
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 3513
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2017 12:02 pm   
 
In that case, your best bet is to open two separate sessions.
Ideally in separate instances, so there is no confusion about what triggers what.
_________________
Windows 10 Home Premium 64-bit
AMD Phenom II x6 1055T 2.8GHz 16GB
CMUD Pro v3.34
Reply with quote
milty111
Beginner


Joined: 16 Jan 2017
Posts: 19
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2017 7:06 pm   
 
Thanks for taking the time to answer. I do not understand your meaning of sessions and instances. I am a novice. I do open 2 separate "characters" as in the tab under the word "file" on the screen I get after logging in. I log in twice and have each character in a separate window. The thing is, for me at least, is that the "settings" window where triggers and aliases are listed, seems to function for both characters. Thus my original question.
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 3513
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2017 7:36 pm   
 
When you first open up zMUD, you get a mud selection window, each of those items is a session.

An instance would be like window item on the taskbar.
You know how sometimes when you have multiple web pages up you have multiple items for your browser on the taskbar?
Each of those is an instance.
You would need to open zMUD again from the start menu, so you have two copies, or instances, running at the same time.
_________________
Windows 10 Home Premium 64-bit
AMD Phenom II x6 1055T 2.8GHz 16GB
CMUD Pro v3.34
Reply with quote
milty111
Beginner


Joined: 16 Jan 2017
Posts: 19
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 4:40 am   
 
I think I have it working now...thanks.
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net