|
droxon Newbie
Joined: 13 Aug 2013 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Mon Jul 20, 2015 6:27 am
Multi-line Help |
Sorry i know there is a lot of info on here about this but i cant seem to make it work for me.
Trying to grab everything up to a period. sometimes its on the same line sometimes is on the next line.
Example
You examine the clues, sniff the air and question your intuition; you see an echo of Barracks
interior.
Example
You examine the clues, sniff the air and question your intuition; you see an echo of Path.
would like "Barracks interior" or "Path" saved to a variable but i cant seem to make it happen. |
|
|
|
shalimar GURU
Joined: 04 Aug 2002 Posts: 4691 Location: Pensacola, FL, USA
|
Posted: Mon Jul 20, 2015 9:21 am |
If you know where the line break is, it is very simple:
#TR {You examine the clues, sniff the air and question your intuition; you see an echo of Barracks $interior. }
Just insert a the $ symbol where the carriage return would be.
Without it, is a bit more difficult, you need a state based trigger:
Code: |
#TR {You examine the clues, sniff the air and question your intuition; (*)} {
clue=%trim(%1)
#IF (%ends(@clue, ".")) {#STATE 0}
}
#COND {(*)} {
clue=%concat(@clue, " ", %trim(%1))
#IF (!%ends(@clue, ".")) {#STATE 1}
}
|
|
|
_________________ Discord: Shalimarwildcat |
|
|
|
droxon Newbie
Joined: 13 Aug 2013 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Mon Jul 20, 2015 9:35 am |
hmmm. much better than what i was trying to do. do the conditions go away? they seem to stay attached to the trigger after it finds the period. once it is ran multiple times it is looking for additional periods and ends up picking up more lines into the variable
|
|
|
|
shalimar GURU
Joined: 04 Aug 2002 Posts: 4691 Location: Pensacola, FL, USA
|
Posted: Mon Jul 20, 2015 7:10 pm |
the condition is permanently attached to the trigger.
If it finds a period in the first state. (0) then it has finished, so i forcibly reset the trigger back to state 0 because otherwise it would automatically advance to the second state (1).
If it does not find a period in the second state (1), it has to stay in the second state (1) until id does find a period, so i force it to stay there, when it would reset back to the first state (0).
If it is picking up extra lines, I want to say that the hint is ending with punctuation other than a period?
Oh, maybe this will help:
Find your trigger via the settings editor.
Select its second state.
Go to the options panel at the bottom of the trigger.
Change the type to "within llines".
And the number beside it to 1 |
|
_________________ Discord: Shalimarwildcat |
|
|
|
|
|