Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account

Play RetroMUD
Binnesman

PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2011 2:35 am   

Targeting Alias help

I am new to cmud and I am trying to figure out a basic target alias. I would like to be able to type (x target name ) and then be able to backstab target kick target ect.... what do i need to do? Any help would be great or an old post that O can understand. Thanks
geniusclown
Magician

PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2011 1:30 pm   

That's extremely vague and the answer depends a lot on the MUD and how much you want to continue interacting. At the very basic, you could have something like this, where you type in "x (target)", and keep pressing enter to cycle through the attacks:
Code:
#VAR Attacks=backstab|jab|kick  //creates a variable containing your list of attacks, in order, separated by |
#ALIAS x {  //defines the following block as alias "x"
  #EXEC @Attacks.1 %-1  //execute (send to the MUD) the first item in the list variable @Attacks followed by all parameters passed into the alias
  Attacks=%additem(%pop(Attacks),@Attacks)  //removes the first item from the list and puts it at the end of the list
  }

You'll want to look up each command and function to become familiar with them. You can build it up using triggers so that instead of pressing enter for each command, it knows when to send the next. Here's an adjusted code so that typing "x (target)" just sets the target, but it doesn't do anything until it receives from the MUD "You're ready to attack." (the ^ means it will only match at the beginning of the line and the $ will only match at the end, so by enclosing a line in between ^$, it must be a complete line by itself to match):
Code:
#VAR Attacks=backstab|jab|kick
#ALIAS x {Target=%-1}
#TR  {^You're ready to attack.$} {
  #EXEC @Attacks.1 @Target
  Attacks=%additem(%pop(Attacks),@Attacks)
  }

I hope this gets you pointed in the right direction!

PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2011 10:15 pm