Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion
Anaristos
Sorcerer


Joined: 17 Jul 2007
Posts: 821
Location: California

PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2011 8:41 am   

Error clicking on TaskBar
 
If I go to an empty spot on the taskbar and click on it I get this:
Code:


date/time         : 2011-08-23, 01:32:35, 347ms
computer name     : XXXXXXXXXXXX
user name         : XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
registered owner  : Microsoft / Microsoft
operating system  : Windows 7 x64 Service Pack 1 build 7601
system language   : English
system up time    : 7 hours 31 minutes
program up time   : 5 hours 4 minutes
processors        : 8x Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2630QM CPU @ 2.00GHz
physical memory   : 5777/8169 MB (free/total)
free disk space   : (C:) 596.96 GB
display mode      : 1600x900, 32 bit
process id        : $291c
allocated memory  : 258.40 MB
executable        : cMUDPro.exe
exec. date/time   : 2011-04-20 12:29
version           : 3.34.0.0
compiled with     : BCB 2006/07
madExcept version : 3.0k
data dir          : XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX         
contact name      : Anaristos
contact email     : XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
callstack crc     : $6ce0f3a4, $af730242, $af730242
exception number  : 4
exception class   : EAccessViolation
exception message : Access violation at address 00E85451 in module 'cMUDPro.exe'. Read of address 00000047.

Main ($2408):
00e85451 +075 cMUDPro.exe  MAIN     12317 +11 TMUDForm.GetButton
00e86113 +01b cMUDPro.exe  MAIN     12588  +1 TMUDForm.Speed1MouseDown
004c0c43 +02b cMUDPro.exe  Controls           TControl.MouseDown
004c0cc6 +076 cMUDPro.exe  Controls           TControl.DoMouseDown
004c0d14 +040 cMUDPro.exe  Controls           TControl.WMLButtonDown
004c06eb +2bb cMUDPro.exe  Controls           TControl.WndProc
004c46ef +4fb cMUDPro.exe  Controls           TWinControl.WndProc
004c3e18 +02c cMUDPro.exe  Controls           TWinControl.MainWndProc
0047d888 +014 cMUDPro.exe  Classes            StdWndProc
76647bc5 +00a USER32.dll                      DispatchMessageA
004aedc4 +0fc cMUDPro.exe  Forms              TApplication.ProcessMessage
004aedfe +00a cMUDPro.exe  Forms              TApplication.HandleMessage
004af0f3 +0b3 cMUDPro.exe  Forms              TApplication.Run
00ffaccc +088 cMUDPro.exe  cMUDPro    393 +20 initialization
76c83398 +010 kernel32.dll                    BaseThreadInitThunk

error details:
Clicking on the task bar


Solid 100% of the time.

EDIT: This is true for any window with a taskbar.
_________________
Sic itur ad astra.
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23377
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Sun Sep 04, 2011 9:50 pm   
 
I'm not sure what you mean by a "taskbar". The only "taskbar" I'm aware of is the Windows one at the bottom of the screen. Are you talking about a button toolbar? If so it sounds like you might have a corrupted button in your settings. I'm not seeing this.
Reply with quote
Anaristos
Sorcerer


Joined: 17 Jul 2007
Posts: 821
Location: California

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 2:09 am   
 
Yes, I mean a button toolbar. This error occurs no matter what window holds a button. If I click on an empty space in that particular window CMUD bombs with the above error. As to a corrupted button... How does that happen?
Since it happens on any window that holds a button, how would I manage to corrupt one or more buttons in each window? Or perhaps whatever is causing the main window button array to bomb propagates to all windows...
From looking at the dump it seems that CMUD expects a button at that location and bombs because there isn't one.
_________________
Sic itur ad astra.
Reply with quote
MattLofton
GURU


Joined: 23 Dec 2000
Posts: 4834
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 4:03 am   
 
Quote:

As to a corrupted button... How does that happen?


Same way any sort of corruption happens...you get an AV error and then press any of the buttons in the bug-reporting module thingie (close application, continue application, send bug report, show bug report, etc). EVERY time such an event happens, damage is done to your datafiles in some way. You might not be able to detect it, though.

Quote:

Since it happens on any window that holds a button, how would I manage to corrupt one or more buttons in each window?


Ever hit the CTRL-B macro by mistake? I do it all the time, and sometimes the blank button will remove itself from the Package Editor but not from the screen. Can interact with the button on the screen just as if it were a real button, except that it doesn't point anywhere in the Package Editor. If an AV didn't do the corrupting for you, you perhaps ended up with a blank button somewhere, couldn't figure out where it disappeared to, and figured all was well once it "went away".
_________________
EDIT: I didn't like my old signature
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net