Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion
chaossdragon
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Apr 2008
Posts: 167

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2011 10:30 pm   

trigger help with %format
 
Ok trying to set up a couple triggers to capture how much gold I pick up, and get from selling at shops, and track currently carried gold, and stored gold in bank.
however part of my problem is I am having to deal with two formats of numerical values.

1234 and 1,234

this is my control trigger in case of bad captures or just to ensure correct values.
Coins | You are carrying 1,423 coins.
Code:
#TR {Coins | You are carrying &cGold coins.} {}


when picking up money. (this is the problem trigger... need to convert the control to a non-comma digit string, add the picked up amount, then reconvert back to the proper numerical)
You take 20 coins.
Code:
#TR {^You take (%d) coins.} {#VA Gold = %format("&.0n",@cGold);#ADD Gold %format(&.0n,%1);#VA cGold %format("&.0n",@Gold)}


It seems to work fine till I break 4 digits, then it starts at the lowest value IE 20, and adds to that number.

lets say I have 1,256 gold. I pick up 20. my display will change from 1,256 to 20 instead of 1,276 (1256+20)

thanks in advance.[/code]
Reply with quote
Daern
Sorcerer


Joined: 15 Apr 2011
Posts: 809

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2011 10:42 pm   
 
%d won't match numbers with commas in them, it just matches digits 0-9. You need to use %n instead. Also, instead of trying to convert back and forth to add, it would be much simpler to store it as a normal number without commas in your variable, then just format it with commas in your display.
Reply with quote
chaossdragon
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Apr 2008
Posts: 167

PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2011 12:44 pm   
 
Daern wrote:
%d won't match numbers with commas in them, it just matches digits 0-9. You need to use %n instead. Also, instead of trying to convert back and forth to add, it would be much simpler to store it as a normal number without commas in your variable, then just format it with commas in your display.


Nevermind, found a in-mud command that displays the info I need to track. was able to make simple triggers to capture that info to show in my #STW.

however I am curious if there is a means to make a trigger that ignores any number of extra spaces. party status layout for the mud has a large space between player name and HP/CP.
Instead of multiple triggers of the same thing +- a space for my guages, is there a way to make a single trigger ?
Code:
^FL: &FLPlayer         Hp: ~[&flhp/&flmaxhp~]   Conc: ~[&flcp/&flmaxcp~]
(this one captures a 3digit value for HP but a 4digit breaks it, as the HP is 1 space closer to player name.)[/code]
Reply with quote
geniusclown
Magician


Joined: 23 Apr 2003
Posts: 358
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2011 1:00 pm   
 
%s will match any number of spaces. So, you could have:
Code:
^FL: &FLPlayer%sHp: ~[&flhp/&flmaxhp~]   Conc: ~[&flcp/&flmaxcp~]

Look up "pattern matching" and "predefined variables" in the help docs.

Also, using Regular Expressions to match is a bit more complex (and completely different syntax) but much, much more powerful (and more widely used), so you may want to look at that.
_________________
.geniusclown
Reply with quote
chaossdragon
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Apr 2008
Posts: 167

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 2:01 pm   
 
I can't seem to get %format to work with a variable. works fine if I type the number into the code.
Code:

Exp: 123,456,789
#show %format("&.0d",@Exp)

should have converted to 123456789, but all it prints is 0

EDIT: upon further examination I do not believe I am using the correct method, but at the same time I can not seem to find what I need to get it to do what I want.
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 4672
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 4:34 pm   
 
thats because you have told it effectively a length of 0 and 0 decimals.
i would suggest a higher length then the current one as well

#show %format("&12.0d",@Exp)
_________________
Discord: Shalimarwildcat
Reply with quote
chaossdragon
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Apr 2008
Posts: 167

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 4:46 pm   
 
that still shows a result of 0. considering that format uses , as a seperator. the variable in question gets expanded and %format reads up to the first , then ignores the rest.
Reply with quote
charneus
Wizard


Joined: 19 Jun 2005
Posts: 1876
Location: California

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 5:02 pm   
 
Why not do:

Code:
#SHOW %replace(@Exp,",")


instead?
Reply with quote
chaossdragon
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Apr 2008
Posts: 167

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 5:10 pm   
 
charneus wrote:
Why not do:

Code:
#SHOW %replace(@Exp,",")


instead?


*facepalm* knew it would be something simple...
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net